Dot the I - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dot the I Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 1, 2007
You watch the screen in disbelief and amazement that any aspiring auteur could so willfully undermine his own project this way.
November 29, 2006
...benefits greatly from the inclusion of a thoroughly unpredictable third-act twist...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 28, 2006
Dot the I is okay-ish until it drops one of those Sixth Sense-style plot twists which negates everything that has gone before it into audiences' laps . . .
August 18, 2005
As much as it tries to be a smart, postmodern indie film, dot the i is pure Hollywood fluff.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 23, 2005
The term 'terrible' not only describes what happens to the characters, it also describes the brain-numbing sensation of having to sit through this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 22, 2005
The movie stops being about [its characters] - and starts being about the ways writer-director Matthew Parkhill can screw with your head.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2005
So in love with its own inventions and convolutions that it ignores all plausibility and audience acceptance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2005
But despite its trickery, dot the i lacks emotional resonance that would elevate it above the banal.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 10, 2005
Parkhill tries to keep new blood pulsing through the film, but the movie stalls by its third act, where he plays a trick that seems more desperate than fresh.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 9, 2005
"Dot the I" wants to join the ranks of "Memento" and "The Usual Suspects," films that reward multiple viewings, but it's so ridiculous that it doesn't sustain a first.
Full Review| Original Score: 1.5/4
May 31, 2005
Once the effect of the second act's gimmick wears off, you find yourself growing more and more annoyed at the improbability of the entire setup.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 20, 2005
A curious mélange that works more often than not.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
May 20, 2005
A weird, pretty film with a dumb script, a skilled cast and a good twist, plus one hot sex scene and one brilliant scene-chew by D'Arcy.
Read More | Original Score: B-
May 20, 2005
Take a long, hard look at Parkhill's film, and you'll find too many i's undotted.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 28, 2005
While stylishly done, Parkhill's script isn't nearly as clever as he thinks it is, and the sucker punch near the end lacks, well, punch.
Read More | Original Score: D+
April 23, 2005
If you find dense, self-conscious mystification decorated with all kinds of fashionable postmodern gimmicks more than a bit annoying, best to look elsewhere.
April 21, 2005
Even when you don't believe what Bernal and the effervescent Verbeke are doing, it's fun to watch them do it.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 21, 2005
Inflicts great pain on the audience by wringing its plot into a bruised and pulpy mass.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 16, 2005
the film becomes entirely meta-fictional and I simply gave up caring
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 16, 2005
Cross 'Dot The I' off your viewing list...crosses the boundary of implausibility so often and so blatantly that it winds up being absolutely laughable.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Page 1 of 3