Dredd - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dredd Reviews

Page 1 of 360
April 19, 2017
A fun, violent adaptation of the 2000 AD comic.
April 10, 2017
Karl Urban convincingly copies the "down mouth" comic book look of Dredd which whilst accurate looks amusingly forced at times. However this is a great movie with a decent plot that is much darker, gruesome and interesting than the campy 1995 Stallone movie Judge Dredd. With a tight, clean running time and no pretentions above its station I had a great time watching this. Works well in 3D.
April 9, 2017
Dredd was a fast paced action packed retelling of Judge Dredd. It did so in a modern and visually sensual way that felt brutally real and pulled you into its story of an overpopulated dystopian future life.
April 7, 2017
Love this movie its the best.
April 6, 2017
Awesome film, a bloody action sequence after a bloody action sequence. Violent and simple. Fast paced but satisfying. 87% easy.
April 4, 2017
Dredd is an exciting and fast-paced remake which finally gave the audience the faithful adaptation they deserved. It's not perfect, but it is a huge step up from Judge Dredd (1995).

The future America is a wasteland and a large group of people live in Mega City 1. The police force consists of "Judges" who have the power of a judge, jury, and executioner. Judge Dredd, the ultimate judge, works to take down a drug cartel only to find himself and a rookie he's with trapped inside one of the mega-blocks where they are forced to fight all f the other members of the Ma-Ma clan.

Judge Dredd (1995) was a horrible movie. It was very unfaithful and it made a very poor attempt to parody Dredd. However, Pete Travis decided to make a more faithful adaptation and he succeeded in doing so. Dredd does an amazing job capturing the violence and brutality of its source material.

Usually when a movie has extreme violence, you expect that it will be distractingly violent. However, I didn't feel that way about this movie at all. I never felt that the action sequences in the movie looked ridiculous or overly-fanciful and the movie did not overstay its welcome. With that being said, it's great that the movie was still able to remain very faithful without being distractingly violent at all.

However, this movie is style over substance. It doesn't have too much depth to the characters. However, it did have a little bit of depth to Cassandra Anderson. It showed that this was her last attempt to become a judge as she failed previously. Also, it shows Judge Dredd and her growing to like each other as the movie goes on. However, this still isn't too much character development and the movie is definitely more about its visual effects.

Also, I really enjoyed the slow motion effects. They are really well-done. I'm not going to spoil anything but the slow motion scene at the end is clearly the best one in the film. Because of the effects and music, it is both beautiful and unnerving at the same time. It is definitely one of the more memorable slow motion scenes out there. However, there are also a few other great slow motion scenes in the film which are great too.

In conclusion, this is a phenomenal movie. It proved to be the faithful adaptation that fans were hoping for. It is light on character development but it is definitely a must-see film for its great visuals. It is also not distractingly violent at all and it doesn't get carried away with itself. This is a must-see film for all the people who waited to see a faithful adaptation.
March 31, 2017
Far from the mess of 1995. A Solid and crispy action.
March 31, 2017
A great movie, I especially enjoyed the portrayal of the future with the Mega Structures. Also like the fact that it get's straight to the point and we're chucked into the deep end along with Dredd and Anderson. No wishy washy story telling.
March 31, 2017
would have like it better if Karl Urban wouldn't have scowled ala Stallone
½ March 26, 2017
Way better than i expected. Karl Urban is the embodiment of Judge Dredd, and the story is compeling enough to keep you interested.
½ March 24, 2017
Those who slammed Stallone for looking ridiculous in the Judge outfit now owes him an apology. In comparison to Urban's smaller head being stuffed into an oversized helmet, coupled with straining to hold the ever-present Dredd snarl, makes Sly seem perfect for the role after all. The best part of this movie is the female partner's ultra-cool mental ability to bring baddies into her turf - the mind. I also never seem to tire of guns that shoot an unlimited number of bullets.
March 24, 2017
Fun, intense, and beautifully shot, Dredd is an action film that definitely isn't for kids. Its violence is brutal and over-the-top, which is definitely a good thing. I've never read the comic books, but it definitely does them justice. To top it all off, it features what is probably Karl Urban's best performance to date-without even showing the top half of his face.
March 12, 2017
Love this movie! This is the correct Dredd and how a movie should be done. They need to do another and this time promote it properly This is now a cult classic!
½ March 11, 2017
This hyper stylized, bombastic, grotesquely violent thrill ride is just an absolute blast from start to finish.
March 9, 2017
Surprising that someone remade a movie that was so awful in the first place. It slightly beats the horrid Stallone version.
February 25, 2017
This is what I prefer over the 1995 movie. They got right what the Sylvester Stallone movie failed to do. They kept the helmet on throughout the entire movie, just like they did in the comics. Also, they didn't feature the annoying Rob Schneider. Granted that the 1995 movie was a guilty pleasure, but the 2012 version is much, much better. Karl Urban is a better Dredd than Stallone. That's my honest opinion and I'm sticking to it.
February 25, 2017
Violent and straight to the point.
February 24, 2017
It's good movie to watch
February 18, 2017
Highly brutal but very engaging. Has a lot going for it even without the inevitable comparison to the 1995 version - sticks closer to the feel of the original comics, our title character doesn't take off his helmet (which gives a better ideal of him being an almost inhumanly unflagging and unrelenting pillar of justice), and there's a sense of desperation in the Mega City One inhabitants that gives a fantastic dystopian edge to the tale which sets it well apart from Stallone's almost day-glo effort. Best of all, this version seems to be almost an origin story for Judge Anderson - a very welcome addition of the beloved character, who very gratefully isn't relegated to being the love interest or even unnecessarily oversexualised, and is also only briefly turned into a McGuffin in need of rescuing. Only sticking point really is the almost shocking levels of gore and a leaning toward glorification of violence, and at times this also gives a streak of black humour which is only funny perhaps half of the time. The three principals are excellent in their roles - Urban once again showing his versatility in a role where he had to bring an Eastwood-high level of grim persistence and some nuance of humanity, Thirlby's Anderson isn't the seasoned veteran but her rookie vulnerability lets the audience into the world, and Headey once again expertly portrays the evilly charismatic villain.
½ February 4, 2017
Maybe it is more for fans of the comic, but I hated it. I even prefer Stallone's version to this, it's dreadful (no pun intended).
Page 1 of 360