Fast Five Reviews

Page 1 of 650
Super Reviewer
½ May 15, 2011
This series is not one of the best in the world. This movie isnt going to be the biggest blockbuster of summer 2011. No one is going to win an oscar from this. That said this movie was fun. In fact one of the more fun movies in the franchise. I am not sure if it was The Rock looking like he was just having too much fun or the extremely cute Jordana Brewster or even a very out of shape but still charming in his way Vin Diesel, the movie was a nice fun ride with the right humor, the right action. Not original in the least but a good popcorn flick to start off the summer.
Super Reviewer
½ June 13, 2011
A new film, a new venture and a whole new never ending stream of super modded cars for Toretto and his crew. No need for explanations on how they get these cars, they just get them, deal with it people.

Fairly disappointing, overly long and actually slightly dull new chapter in this chav/hip hop racer franchise. Amazing it has lasted this long really but the films have been a roller coaster of quality for me. First film was a boy racer flick complete with dumb neon underside lighting but fairly original and fun. Second film was a bit of a rehash with colourful new street racer characters and dripping in bling...was pretty awful.

Third film was a straight to the shops deal which many didn't like BUT is actually by far the most superior of the franchise due to the excellent and very realistic drift racing making it a proper street racing film. The fourth film regroups the original cast and has a drug running plot. This means the street racing has been pushed to one side in favour of generic action man hokum.

Now we have number five which seems to have ditched a lot of the street racing element and is more of an out n out heist flick. Along the lines of 'The Italian Job' remake with flashy over the top car/people stunts, the usual regular cliched team of criminals and the usual regular cliched breaking in techniques that we've seen so often now we could all break into banks ourselves.

Still impressed with the cast continuity though I gotta admit. Everyone is back again including Bridges from number 2 and Schulze all the way from the very first film. It is also of course the first introduction of Dwayne Johnson into the franchise and he fits in perfectly in all honesty. He stands around barking orders with his chest puffed out, arms glistening and holding large weapons.

There is a hint of street racing but that's all we get...a hint, we don't see the guys winning their fast cars. I think the stupidest scene in the film is where they race police cars together, they just waltz in and steal four cruisers, apparently, then try to make us believe that these regular police cruisers are fast souped up motors!! and manual!...they do realise the US mainly uses auto? (of course they used fast cars in reality as stand in's).

Highlight is the fight between Diesel and Johnson, two big slapheads grunting n sweating over each other which is pretty decent but after that it gets silly again as both Johnson and his female partner decide to join Toretto and his criminals in the heist! The final big chase/escape sequence is impressive with tonnes of carnage and wreckage, your basic common destruction porn fix. It does admittedly command your attention, yet I wonder how many innocent people Toretto manages to kill right at the end.

If you want street racing you won't find it here, this is a bank heist flick which isn't too original. Reasonable mindless fun but nothing new, seen this kind of thing so many times and this offers nothing new. This film marks the end for the street racing aspect in this franchise and enters the saturated action heist genre.

On a final note I might add...there's no way Toretto's Dodge Charger could ever compete against Brian's Skyline GTR at the end. How many times are they gonna try and show this to us??
Super Reviewer
½ December 22, 2013
An energetic, high-octane entry in the much celebrated 'Fast and Furious' franchise concerning Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) breaking Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) out of prison, and how they get their gang back together to do a job in Rio de Janerio in hopes of buying their freedom back, all while being tailed by a tough as nails government agent (Dwayne Johnson). The first 'Furious' film does hold a nostalgic piece of my heart, given it was a movie I really enjoyed growing up, and even though I told myself I would not go back after the horrible second film, I decided to give this one a try after the sudden, heartbreaking death of Paul Walker, coupled with this film in particular receiving positive buzz. The result is a brainless action movie that fully embraces its own ridiculousness while adopting the plot line of "The Italian Job" and pushing the pace ten times past the normal limit. The acting is appropriately over the top to compliment its insane plot line, especially Johnson who really gives this franchise the energy it needed, and the chase scenes and plot twists are largely enjoyable despite being completely predictable for the most part. Basically it is almost impossible not to have a great time watching this movie, and for that it accomplishes its job more than well.
Super Reviewer
½ April 25, 2010
I have no idea what turned Justin Lin into such an amazing director, and this is extremely hard to say, but the first film has always been the best in the franchise, and I knew that absolutely nothing could top it. I was wrong, Fast Five is that film that, honestly, I have not been waiting for. This film topped the original, which I did not want to happen, because the original is so amazing; However, this film stands alone, as a completely different film from the first four. It is no longer a racing series, but it is now a heist series that will give our cast a free life. Every single character that remains alive from all of the previous films, come together here to perform one last job after breaking Dominic Toretto out of prison. They assemble a team to rob the city of 10 million dollars. They wish to do this, because they are all tired of running, and they are all going to get caught sooner or later, so they are in pursuit of this money, to gain freedom. This explosive action flick, has more backstory and character development than any of the franchise films put together. The characters are extremely well acted, and I felt myself becoming compassionate to every character in every scene who was put in any type of danger. They have brought back in subplots from the first film that had me in tears, and placed a smile on my face when the table were turned. This may be too soon to say, and I may just be in shock of how brilliant this over-the-top, awesome action film truly is, but ever since the original, it has been one of my favourite films of all time, and now this film surpasses that, which leaves me with the gratitude of calling this one of the best action films I have ever seen! Finally, a "fast and furious" film that actually takes itself seriously while still having a load of fun. Sure it still has the cheese, it still has the puns, and it still has the laughs, but Fast Five is far more than just a fun ride, it is a true experience that is not to be missed. I will see this film many, many more times. I can't begin to describe the words I would use for this EPIC feature. Magnificent!
Super Reviewer
May 3, 2011
Whoa whoa whoa! What...where...how...no waay!
Never did I think I would not only be wholly recommending a Fast and the Furious movie, but that I'd be praising it as by far the funnest movie I have seen and no doubt will see all year, and quite possibly one of the slickest, coolest action films of all time! I know, I know. What am I thinking? Truth be told, I don't know. But I just came back from having the time of my life in a film that is nothing short of polished style, as polished as the wax job on the beautiful import cars that grace the screen.
Fast Five knows exactly where the previous four went wrong and not only doesn't make those narrative mistakes, it knows exactly what makes a great action film. The plot does away with most of the street racing points and centres around a crime caper. The tension gets so high that by the end, you're anxiously awaiting the big climax.
Anyone who doesn't like this movie is going to argue that it's implausible. No action movie is plausible in the sense of the world. John McLean could not single-handedly destroy an organized terrorist group in a plausible world. Keanu Reeves could not stop a bus from exploding by jumping a gaping hole in the highway. Likewise, this movie does not create a plausible universe. The over the top action is forgivable because it doesn't take itself seriously at all. The amazingly talented Justin Lin directs a fast-paced flick that fires on all cylinders while establishing likable characters who all have an identifiable personality. Michael Bay couldn't make a movie like this on his best day. This is the summer's best film, one of the best films of this year, and one of the best action films of all time!
Super Reviewer
½ August 23, 2012
The film finally takes a direction towards the right path. Fast Five goes from the street-racing aspect to the heist aspect and is well-put in regards to direction and plot/script. With the addition of a fierce Dwayne Johnson, plus the reunion of past characters, Fast Five finally takes hold of its audience and gives a story that surpasses any movie from its franchise. 4.5/5
3niR
Super Reviewer
½ August 25, 2011
Nice.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ April 29, 2012
With these films you do expect Shakespeare but still this is loud, empty and terribly acted.
Super Reviewer
September 19, 2011
"Fast Five" is the best Fast & Furious out of the entire franchise... but that really isn't saying much. Honestly, you're gonna hafta sit through one of the cheesiest screenplays, mediocre acting (I'm looking at you Paul Walker), and terrible pacing to get to the meat of the movie: action. And I've gotta say, the last action scene is pretty crazy. The editing, the cinematography, and the adrenaline of the final action scene is incredibly well done. Ironically, the movie needs to shut its mouth and needs to throw more action scenes like the finale and it'll be less cheesier and more entertaining.
Nate Z.
Super Reviewer
½ February 12, 2012
The fifth movie in the gearhead Fast and the Furious series unapologetically eschews logic and physics to deliver an energetic, over-the-top, stupidly entertaining action movie. This thing's got swagger to spare. Credit Justin Lin, director of the last three films in the series, who has a tremendous knack for orchestrating mass chaos into eye-catching sequences. The plot is practically inconsequential but involves Vin Diesel and his team planning an Ocean's 11 style heist against an evil Rio de Janeiro crime lord. Diesel, that black hole of charisma, sticks to what he's good at: grunts and glares. It was a smart move to introduce The Rock as a dogged DEA agent. His added brashness and command of cool gives the series a boost in star power. The final act of this film is an exceptional chase sequence where diesel's crew drags a large bank vault through the streets of Rio, destroying just about every car in sight. The stunt work is phenomenal and the special effects feel seamless, never ripping the viewer out of this hyperactive, preposterous reality. Sure, it can get bogged down in its teenage horndog worship of hot cars and hot gals (Rio is in no short supply of physically ample women), but Fast Five delivers in spades when it comes to junky popcorn thrills. I can't believe I'd ever write these words, but I'm actually looking forward to more Fast and the Furious hijinks. Just as long as Ling and The Rock return.

Nate's Grade: B
blkbomb
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2012
Hobbs: We find 'em we take 'em as a team and we bring 'em back. And above all else we don't ever, ever let them get into cars. 

"Feel the speed. Feel the rush."

I'll admit to not being the biggest fan of this series, but I really loved Fast Five. It's just better than all the previous movies. It's big, explosive, fast, entertaining, and fun as hell. From the first sequence where O'Connor takes out the bus that is escorting Dom to prison all the way through to the final action packed scene, it is thrilling to say the least. This is one of the few times I have watched an action film that is this ridiculous, and just said, "Fuck it, who care?" Justin Lin is able to make a great film despite all the stupid and impossible shit that is going on throughout the film. Halfway through, I don't care who you are; you should be enjoying yourself. If not, you're taking life a little too seriously. 

Unlike some of the previous installments, Fast Five is able to make a movie of  all action that goes a little deeper than one-liners and explosions. The story is great. After eluding the authorities, Dom, Brian, and Mia go to Rio where they assemble a team for one last huge job before disappearing for good. They have an agent on their tales trying to bring them back into custody. I know this has been done before. I'm not saying it is original, but the way everything plays out is extremely enjoyable to watch unfold. Plus there are some truly original action sequences in the film that will even have the action hater sitting in awe. Oh, and don't worry, there are lots of cars too.

There isn't a whole lot of downtime in the movie. The movie is a bunch of chases and a bunch of fights. But in the little downtime the movie does have, is where it sets itself apart from all of the other movies in this franchise. It is able to not sound completely retarded when the characters are talking to each other. The acting isn't bad, the dialogue isn't bad, and the stuff the characters do, relationship wise, makes sense. 

If you are a huge action film fan, this is going to be like an orgasm for your eyes. But even for just the average action fan, it is going to be enjoyable. It's undeniably well made. I really wish they would leave the series at this, as it would end on a strong note; but I here a Fast and Furious 6 is on the table. With how much these movies make, they may go on forever, but I don't see any of them ever touching this one.
thmtsang
Super Reviewer
½ September 3, 2011
Familar faces of the Fast and Furious franchise, team up again to break Dom out of jail and complete one last job. They target a corrupt businessman in Rio. Good cast. Fast action. Can't wait for the next installment.
cosmo313
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2011
Ridiculous, over the top, nutty, and a continuation of a series that keeps getting more drawn out and overblown with each entry. These are all approrpiate labels for this film. But you know what, so are these: well made, endearing, entertaining, and a ridiculous amount of fun. This just might be the best of this not always great, but undeniably enjoyable series. It's definitely in my top 3.

Picking up right where Fast & Furious left off, former cop Brian O'Conner and Mia Toretto break Dom out of a prison transfer bus and disappear. They end up in Rio some time later where a reunion with a pasdt associare leads to a job, that leads to trouble when a double cross leaves them all even more wanted than they were before, with not only a pissed off crime kingin out for blood, but a ruthless special agent from the U.S. as well.

This all leads to a big all star reunion with cast members from all the previous films getting together to pull the mother of jobs in order to finally settle scores and attain the freedom they've all been wanting but have never quite gotten, at least for long.

There's a lot to like here. Justin Lin has proven himself a master at this kind of stuff by now, and he really knows the series. I still want him to return to artsy, more thoughtful stuff like his breakout film Better Luck Tomorrow, but I'm not gonna complain if he decides to keep making awesome junk like this. The film is quite long, but never really feels that way, with things moving along at a good pace and the time just flying by. Well, the epilogue kinda slows down a tad and reminded me of Return of the King, but aside from that, this film packs a hell of a lot of stuff into it and makes it all work pretty well. The idea of getting cast members from all the films together is inspired and doen in a way that makes sense and works. It's fun revisiting friends we haven't seen in a while, and they all have a good sense of chemistry. Tha,t and the casting in general is great.

The addition of Dwayne Johnson makes this film really sing, and it's awesome finally getting to see him go toe to toe with Vin Diesel in a showdown that doesn't disappoint one bit .Diesel of course delivers a good of a performance as always, and Walker it seems finally is growing on me and not seeming *quite* as wooden. Brewster is a little underwhelming, but still works well as the glue that holds the group together. Seeing Schulze return is awesome, and his attitude really amps stuff up, and what's not to like about the fun comic relief provided by Tyrese and Ludacris?

The plot gets all kinds of nutty and ridiculous, but the film at least tries to cram in a sense of values and themes (namely family). It's good that they try to have some sort of substance here, but it gets a little overbearing at times. Not enough to derail things, but still. The film is packed with tons of fist fightd, shootouts, chases of all types, races, and one of the most outstanding action set pieces I've seen in quite some time. It's big, it's loud, it's ridiculous, goes on for a while, but it's absolutely outstanding at provinding thrills and entertainiment. I'm of course refering to the film's centerpiece: an epic robbery and chase scene.

The film knows it's not brilliant, and is just trying to deliver eye candy (with a bit of emotion and heart), and it succeeds quite nicely. There are some nice surprise cameos if you sit through the credits as well, which is cool, but it means there's another follow up likely to happen. I'm not against it, but this film set such a high bar that if a sequel happens, it better find some way (if even possible) to live up to the epicness of this one.

All in all, this is dopey ridiculous action spectacle at its finest. If you didn't like hte others, you probably won;t lke this, but if you're a fan, you'll find quite a bit to love.
DreamExtractor
Super Reviewer
March 13, 2011
Fast Five is one of the coolest and most well done action films in years, and is by far the best in the Fast and Furious series. The story follows former cop Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) partners with ex-con Dom Toretto (Vin Diesel) on the opposite side of the law. Dwayne Johnson joins returning favorites Jordana Brewster, Tyrese Gibson, Chris "Ludacris" Bridges, Matt Schulze, Sung Kang, Gal Gadot, Tego Calderon and Don Omar for this ultimate high-stakes race. Since Brian and Mia Toretto (Brewster) broke Dom out of custody, they've blown across many borders to elude authorities. Now backed into a corner in Rio de Janeiro, they must pull one last job in order to gain their freedom. As they assemble their elite team of top racers, the unlikely allies know their only shot of getting out for good means confronting the corrupt businessman who wants them dead. But he's not the only one on their tail. Hard-nosed federal agent Luke Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson) never misses his target. The storyline is actually the first one in the series that I loved almost completely, because mostly they tried to make a action movie with a well done plot, it had interesting characters, interesting storys for each character, and it was like they have completely redone the film series, and I loved it. The cast is incredible, they are hilarious, cool, and have done their characters to the fullest, and if it were not for Vin Diesel these movies would not even be close to as awesome without him, he was born to play Dominic Toretto. The action and race scenes are the best yet and instead of focusing fully on racing, this one focuses on the great action that it has always destined to always have. Fast Five was the best in the series yet, but one problem they had was bad camerawork, and I take that very seriously in action films, but other than that I loved the film and it was completely worth my money, I highly recommend it.
Chiefilms
Super Reviewer
December 6, 2011
Best movie ever by a longshot.
Super Reviewer
April 17, 2011
Fast Five has enough machismo and testosterone to make The Expendables look subdued. It's much more of a straight up action/heist film than the previous movies, with the occasional car chase scene to remind you it's still a Fast & Furious movie (if all the returning faces aren't enough to let you know).

And it works. This is a really fun flick to watch in an "Ocean's Eleven meets the gleeful carnage of a Michael Bay movie" kind of way that's entertaining and ridiculously over-the-top. Fast Five is easily the best movie of the series, and probably one of the most exciting movies of the year. Dwayne Johnson is a perfect addition to the cast and his confrontations with Diesel's character is among the many highlights of the film, plus it's good to see the old cast members back in action. If you want an action romp that breezes by without getting to serious, looks slick, and just doesn't know what it means to slow down, this will give you all you need and more.
Super Reviewer
½ July 8, 2011
Fun. Energetic. But, some more of the same ole, same ole. Maybe I'm just getting tired of this "series".
Super Reviewer
½ November 14, 2011
I really don't like action movies, and this movie is a typical action movie. The story is decent with some funny parts, but the poor acting and cliche action scenes really bring this movie down.
Super Reviewer
September 24, 2011
Best of the series since the first movie. Well done and such a great return to form. Should they leave it alone now and go out on a hype? Yeah they should, but I doubt they will.
Super Reviewer
April 12, 2011
Fast and over the top, Fast Five is the standard for action films. It's got all the speed, explosions, and fights you expect and love to see in it's genre. It's hard not to like a film made just for the thrills and entertainment.
Page 1 of 650