Fitzcarraldo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fitzcarraldo Reviews

Page 1 of 43
½ September 21, 2016
A great adventure in before CGI film making.
½ August 18, 2016
After "Aguirre, the Wrath of God", Werner Herzog takes Klaus Kinski on another gruelling journey through the Amazon. I wonder whether it's their films' protagonists or the director and actor who are the more obsessed and unhinged individuals. Magical movie-making!
July 25, 2016
Werner Herzog is a genius and an incredible filmmaker. The trials and tribulations to complete this picture is unprecedented. Klaus Kinski's performance is indelible and maddening the best way possible. 5 stars!
July 19, 2016
The thing i love about this film are the scenes involving pulling the massive boat over a mountain. In an age where there is no CGI, what do you do?... there is only one thing to do... pull the boat over the mountain...literally!
March 17, 2016
A masterpiece from the duo of Herzog-Kinski. This film is the subservient to Aguirre, The Wrath Of God, but a great film all the same. Rare and hard to find. The authenticity of the acting, cinematography and production is as real as you will find in any film. As one may expect from Herzog, how the natives were organized or how the ship was hoisted for this production is fascinating in itself. One does not realize they are watching a film, but rather experiencing a documentary unfolding live in the late 20th century. I had wanted to see this film for a long time and am glad I finally had the pleasure to view it. What is most coincidental is that I finally accessed a copy and prepared to watch it one day, when I happened by it on the television at the same time! That is as unworldly as the film. The only criticism is its length, which may have been edited down by 30 minutes. However, I enjoyed every minute as is.
½ February 16, 2016
Escala impressionante e gigante atuação de Kinski. Mas moralmente condenável o suficiente pra diminuir a experiência.
December 12, 2015
Our Daily Free Stream: Werner Herzog - Fitzcarraldo (german only). Werner Herzog hat schon wieder einen neuen Film fertig gestellt: Salt and Fire mit Michael Shannon, Gael García Bernal und ihm selbst! Grund genug, sich an seinen besten Film zu erinnern. Werner Herzogs Fitzcarraldo ist eine der ganz grossen Visionen in der Geschichte des Kinos - und auch eine der ganz grossen Verrücktheiten. Beides ergänzt sich prächtig und das Eine wäre wohl ohne das Andere gar nicht möglich. Fitzcarraldo ist die Geschichte eines Wahnsinnigen, der im Dschungel eine Oper bauen will und deshalb ein Schiff über einen Berg zieht. Für den Film musste Werner Herzog genau dasselbe tun und tritt damit die Nachfolge an von Brian Sweeney Fitzgerald, dessen Geschichte Herzog inspirierte. Fitzcarraldo ist ein wagemutiges Epos (schliesslich hätte Herzog das auch alles mit Special Effects arrangieren können). Aber - "This is not a plastic boat" (Herzog). Fitzcarraldo (Klaus Kinski) treibt eine Gruppe von Regenwald Indianern an, das Schiff über den Hügel zu ziehen und wir fühlen uns mittendrin! Wer noch mehr darüber erfahren möchte, der schaut "Burden of Dreams" (1982) von Les Blank und Maureen Gosling an, eine Doku über die Herstellung von Fitzcarraldo. Nach dem Betrachten der Doku fühlt man, dass dieser Dreh an keinem der Beteiligten spurlos vorüber ging. Alle verbindet die Ehrfurcht vor dem Dschungel, den Gott (sofern es ihn gibt) wohl im Zorn erschaffen haben muss... (Herzog). Wir erleben Fitzcarraldo und seine Geliebte (Claudia Cardinale) wie sie sich aus der Leere des Urwalds in einem Boot nähern. Beide kommen zu spät, sie wollen doch in die Oper! Er hat Geld verdient mit einer Eismaschine und kennt seine Zukunft: Er wird in Reichtum schwelgen, eine Oper im Urwald errichten und dort soll Caruso auftreten. Fitzcarraldo kauft ein Stück Land, welches nicht angebunden ist an den Fluss. Erreichen kann es nur der, der ein Schiff übersetzen kann, ohne Wasser! Es ist dieses Bild, des Schiffes, das über den Berg gezogen wird, dass Herzog für Fitzcarraldo inspirierte. Der Rest des Drehbuchs musste nur noch angepasst werden. Die Produktionsgeschichte liest sich wie eine Kette von Unfällen. Der erste Drehort lag an der Grenze Perus zu Ecuador und konnte 1982 deshalb nicht genutzt werden. Zunächst sollten Jason Robards und Mick Jagger besetzt werden, beide aber sprangen ab (zum Glück, denn wer könnte sich Jagger in Fitzcarraldo vorstellen?). Klaus Kinski ist aus demelben Grund die bessere Wahl, die auch für ein echtes Schiff gilt: Kinski ist tatsächlich verrückt und muss nicht spielen. Seine Wut wirkt fast dämonisch - wie könnte jemand das nachmachen? Anders als geplant, musste Herzog mit seinem Team im Regenwald filmen - etliche Kilometer von der nächsten Stadt entfernt. Ein Mitglied der Crew überlebte einen Schlangenbiss nur, indem er sich den Fuss selbst amputierte. Währenddessen grölt Kinski Herzog an so wie die meiste Zeit (wir sehen das in Herzogs Doku My best fiend. Zum Glück ist Fitzcarraldo kein perfekter Film geworden, dafür ein überwältigender! Herzog versucht gar nicht, seine Geschichte voranzutreiben; er sucht nach Bildern! Die Szene, da das Schiff sich losreisst, wäre bei einem anderen Regisseur zur krachigen Action-Sequenz verkommen. Bei Herzog rutscht es langsam, gewaltig und umso fuchteinflössender. Gibt es überhaupt einen leidenschaftlicheren und abenteuerlustigen Regisseur als ihn? In jedem grossen Herzog Film fordert ein passionierter Mann die Wildnis heraus. Immer wieder und wieder! Produzenten fragten Herzog, ob es nicht klüger sei, das schwierige Projekt fallen zu lassen. Herzog echauffierte sich über die Frage: Ein Mann, der ein Projekt wie dieses fallen liesse, er müsste weiterleben als Mann ohne Träume. Lieber würde er sterben, als so zu existieren! Nicht nur das Schiff und Kinski sind echt, sondern Herzog ist eben auch ein wahrer Fitzcarraldo! Immer und immer wieder!
December 12, 2015
Our Daily Free Stream: Werner Herzog - Fitzcarraldo (german only). Werner Herzog hat schon wieder einen neuen Film fertig gestellt: Salt and Fire mit Michael Shannon, Gael García Bernal und ihm selbst! Grund genug, sich an seinen besten Film zu erinnern. Werner Herzogs Fitzcarraldo ist eine der ganz grossen Visionen in der Geschichte des Kinos - und auch eine der ganz grossen Verrücktheiten. Beides ergänzt sich prächtig und das Eine wäre wohl ohne das Andere gar nicht möglich. Fitzcarraldo ist die Geschichte eines Wahnsinnigen, der im Dschungel eine Oper bauen will und deshalb ein Schiff über einen Berg zieht. Für den Film musste Werner Herzog genau dasselbe tun und tritt damit die Nachfolge an von Brian Sweeney Fitzgerald, dessen Geschichte Herzog inspirierte. Fitzcarraldo ist ein wagemutiges Epos (schliesslich hätte Herzog das auch alles mit Special Effects arrangieren können). Aber - "This is not a plastic boat" (Herzog). Fitzcarraldo (Klaus Kinski) treibt eine Gruppe von Regenwald Indianern an, das Schiff über den Hügel zu ziehen und wir fühlen uns mittendrin! Wer noch mehr darüber erfahren möchte, der schaut "Burden of Dreams" (1982) von Les Blank und Maureen Gosling an, eine Doku über die Herstellung von Fitzcarraldo. Nach dem Betrachten der Doku fühlt man, dass dieser Dreh an keinem der Beteiligten spurlos vorüber ging. Alle verbindet die Ehrfurcht vor dem Dschungel, den Gott (sofern es ihn gibt) wohl im Zorn erschaffen haben muss... (Herzog). Wir erleben Fitzcarraldo und seine Geliebte (Claudia Cardinale) wie sie sich aus der Leere des Urwalds in einem Boot nähern. Beide kommen zu spät, sie wollen doch in die Oper! Er hat Geld verdient mit einer Eismaschine und kennt seine Zukunft: Er wird in Reichtum schwelgen, eine Oper im Urwald errichten und dort soll Caruso auftreten. Fitzcarraldo kauft ein Stück Land, welches nicht angebunden ist an den Fluss. Erreichen kann es nur der, der ein Schiff übersetzen kann, ohne Wasser! Es ist dieses Bild, des Schiffes, das über den Berg gezogen wird, dass Herzog für Fitzcarraldo inspirierte. Der Rest des Drehbuchs musste nur noch angepasst werden. Die Produktionsgeschichte liest sich wie eine Kette von Unfällen. Der erste Drehort lag an der Grenze Perus zu Ecuador und konnte 1982 deshalb nicht genutzt werden. Zunächst sollten Jason Robards und Mick Jagger besetzt werden, beide aber sprangen ab (zum Glück, denn wer könnte sich Jagger in Fitzcarraldo vorstellen?). Klaus Kinski ist aus demelben Grund die bessere Wahl, die auch für ein echtes Schiff gilt: Kinski ist tatsächlich verrückt und muss nicht spielen. Seine Wut wirkt fast dämonisch - wie könnte jemand das nachmachen? Anders als geplant, musste Herzog mit seinem Team im Regenwald filmen - etliche Kilometer von der nächsten Stadt entfernt. Ein Mitglied der Crew überlebte einen Schlangenbiss nur, indem er sich den Fuss selbst amputierte. Währenddessen grölt Kinski Herzog an so wie die meiste Zeit (wir sehen das in Herzogs Doku My best fiend. Zum Glück ist Fitzcarraldo kein perfekter Film geworden, dafür ein überwältigender! Herzog versucht gar nicht, seine Geschichte voranzutreiben; er sucht nach Bildern! Die Szene, da das Schiff sich losreisst, wäre bei einem anderen Regisseur zur krachigen Action-Sequenz verkommen. Bei Herzog rutscht es langsam, gewaltig und umso fuchteinflössender. Gibt es überhaupt einen leidenschaftlicheren und abenteuerlustigen Regisseur als ihn? In jedem grossen Herzog Film fordert ein passionierter Mann die Wildnis heraus. Immer wieder und wieder! Produzenten fragten Herzog, ob es nicht klüger sei, das schwierige Projekt fallen zu lassen. Herzog echauffierte sich über die Frage: Ein Mann, der ein Projekt wie dieses fallen liesse, er müsste weiterleben als Mann ohne Träume. Lieber würde er sterben, als so zu existieren! Nicht nur das Schiff und Kinski sind echt, sondern Herzog ist eben auch ein wahrer Fitzcarraldo! Immer und immer wieder!
September 25, 2015
"Fitzcarraldo went into a region of supernatural wonder, far from the world of common day. He encountersfabulous forces - his own passion, the otherwordly spirituality of the indigenous people who help him inhis mad undertaking for inscrutable reasons of their own. He wins a decisive battle: he moves a ship over a mountain. He returns to the world with the knowledge that the undoable was done. On the quest for theHoly Grail, the journey sometimes leads to other gifts. Fitzcarraldo's journey started out as a quest for thegrail of an opera house, but the gift that he brought back was the knowledge that seeminglyinsurmountable obstacles were overcome. That is why he can smile and smoke his cigar."
August 23, 2015
I love Werner Herzog's more recent documentaries, but this 1982 film is astonishing. Based on a true story, it involves the actual moving of a 320-ton steamship over a hill in The Amazon. It deserves five stars just for that. It might not make your 'favourites' list but if you admire movie-making, single-mindedness and determination, watch it just for that!
August 19, 2015
There's madness in his method... Werner Herzog and Klaus Kinski seem made for each other - they're both clearly more than slightly unhinged, and this epic tale of exploration in the Amazonian rainforest is often spectacular, not least in the gargantuan effort of dragging a massive steamer over a mountain.

But for all their commitment and purpose, I also found it hugely problematic...
Fitzcarraldo is pretty unlikeable. For all his lofty artistic ambitions to bring opera to the rainforest, it's basically a tale about money and stripping the natural resources out of the land, whether it's rubber plantations or hacking swathes of forest down simply to haul the ship over the mountain. The exploitation of the local tribes seems pretty blatant too.

I'm glad I've seen it, but God it does go on...
August 5, 2015
How was I even allowed to study film without watching this one first? Danke schön, Herr Herzog!
½ July 20, 2015
Comparing this to another Herzog film, Aguirre; The Wrath of God, I was much more into this film, and prefer it to Aguirre. This film, while an hour longer than Aguirre, was much more involving and had characters that you could sympathize with, where in Aguirre nobody was really that you could relate to. From this film's beautiful cinematography, to it's stellar leading performance from Klaus Kinski, this is definitely worth watching.
½ July 9, 2015
- Watched for the 2nd time in s couple years, this is a major film in International cinema. This time I watched with Werner Herzog's commentary which was very enlightening and entertaining. There is also a great documentary on the making of this film called "Burden of Dreams". Both film are must watch movies for serious film fans!

- I had wanted to see this film for the last 15years, and glad i have finally done so. It is the true story of a man with the single goal/mission of bringing Opera(specifically his favourite - Caruso) to the Jungle. He risks all his finanaces in a trip down the amazon with the goal of moving a several hundred ton Steamship over a mountain.

The film productions also underwent many of the same challenges as they tried to accurately recreate the events( as documented in the film"Burden of Dreams"). Klaus Kinski is perfect in the role as he totally captures the insanity and determination of this mission. This film would be a great companion piece to "Apocalypse Now". Check this film out, it's a must for serious film lovers!
½ May 14, 2015
Herzog's troubled production mirrored this tale of epic folly, but the end result is worthwhile. Kinski is as ever an interesting lead.
½ May 10, 2015
The documentary chronicling the making of this film is almost better than the film itself. While I do find this movie runs longer than it should, I always go back to it. The sheer beauty and idea of a man and his pursuit of a dream against all obstacles is not a new plot to cinema. However it has never been approached in this way. Klaus Kinski is unforgettable as is the cinematography. An amazing film.
Super Reviewer
½ April 12, 2015
An intriguing though at times very plodding film concerning a very ambitious man (Klaus Kinski) who is inspired to try to build an opera house in the jungles of South Africa. Director Werner Herzog does a fabulous job capturing the lower-class and primitive working status of these areas, but wisely avoids this being an exercise of "fish out of water" with Kinski's character. The film does go on too long, but it does remain interesting even when it starts to lose steam in the middle portions. Kinski's bug-eyed bewilderment and passion are perfect for this character, and he is the biggest reason of all this film is a success and viewed by many people to be a masterpiece.
½ March 29, 2015
I was beginning to think that this was a remake (or follow up) of Aguire for a while and I thought that film was overrated so my enthusiasm to get through the full 2.5 hours plus was waining. Then I began to realise that this is a very low key monumental epic and it was quite clear that what you see is what you get which is pretty mind-blowing. By this I mean that when Fitzgerald took a huge steamboat over a mountain, this was actually done for real. Perhaps this was based on a true story, I don't know, but if not, then you have to wonder at the mind of Werner Herzog, which anyone who has seen Even Dwarves Started Small would already be doing, of course.
March 20, 2015
Kinski once again dominates the screen with an enigmatic performance of a man wanting to build an opera house deep in the Peruvian Amazon Jungle
Page 1 of 43