Freddy vs. Jason - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Freddy vs. Jason Reviews

Page 1 of 634
July 18, 2016
The match up that many people had been waiting for! It's not really that great of a movie if you don't treat it like a genre entry, but it is admittedly a fun little guilty pleasure. Plus, it's great seeing two major horror titans go at it, just like in the monster mash movies of old. Freddy Kruger is no longer the menace he once was, so he goes through a hair-brained scheme to regain control on Elm Street. He uses Jason Vorhees, tricking poeple into thinking it's really Freddy. Problem is, Jason won't stop, so Freddy has to go in and handle things himself. The film delivers with the gore, but a lot of the humor is very hit and miss, with plenty of obnoxious groaners and annoying moments. The effects are at least well done, and I liked how they did deliver a good showdown, and, as far as the ending goes, well, that's probably the best possible way they could have done it since it would have been impossible to please everyone. Bottom line, if you like Freddy or Jason, then give it a watch.
July 15, 2016
I think the problem I have with "Freddy VS Jason" is that I had very high hopes for it. I'm an enormous fan of both franchises and I was hoping for an all-out brawl between the two villians. Re-viewing it, it's not nearly as bad as I remember but not nearly as great as it should've been either.
July 15, 2016
This movie definitely is big in Slasher movie history! First movie were two of the icons meet. I definitely liked this movie except for one thing. It was more of a nightmare on elm street movie then a Friday the 13th. In the end this was a great film even though the director hasn't seen any of their previous films.
July 11, 2016
Horror fans had been waiting years for this. It did not disappoint!
½ July 11, 2016
This film is terrible and so predictible but it's still fun to see my two favorite slasher icons go at it. The film tries to make you care about characters that you just can't care for but it makes up for it with the epic conclusion with the two icons battling to the death!
½ July 10, 2016
And now, we are at something probably every single kid from the 90's was waiting for: Freddy Vs Jason. Honestly, I can't tell you how long I have been waiting for this, and I'm just glad it's finally here. This film is not difficult at the slightest, it's actually, really basic. Basically, Freddy Krueger from the A Nightmare On Elm Street franchise and Jason Voorhees from the Friday The 13th franchise face off in a brutal fight. I'm not talking about a normal fistfight, they literally put their weapons through each other's face. That's basically what to expect from this film. Throughout the entire thing, I had a really fun time watching Freddy and Jason beat the living crap out of each other. If you can watch a film without criticizing its bad quality and have a fun time overall, you will really enjoy this movie like I did. Nothing great, but extremely enjoyable.
½ July 9, 2016
Freddy vs Jason is a fun, entertaining, albeit a poorly acted film. Freddy needs to make kids fear him again so he decides to get Jason's help to make them fear again. The opening scene of Freddy is outstanding and the ending is very entertaining. This is definitely not a great movie, but it is still entertaining.
½ July 6, 2016
A slasher crossover between two heavyweights in horror and it works well, It's a typical story with horny teenagers but for once they're not the main focus and it's set up for a gory and action packed fight, Ok none of them can die so they're just fighting for the hell of it, Great film if you like their films, Plus it's not as corny or silly as you think it would be.
May 26, 2016
I think they did a pretty good job with mixing the 2 franchises together.the acting isn't good at all and the characters aren't anything special but,good plot.I didn't like all of the CGI and I think that it was unnessesary.They definitely could've developed the characters a lot more. It is my least favorite ( besides remake ) in the nightmare franchise.

5/10
½ May 8, 2016
I've been dreading this moment since my very first review in the series and, now that we're almost at the end of the journey, I find myself reflecting on how far we've come. Friday the 13th, an unlikely success which began with exaggerated, low-budget gore somehow led to the creation of Freddy vs. Jason, a bloated, contrived, money-making powerhouse which assaults the intellect of anyone who watches it. To say that this film is idiotic doesn't even scratch the surface of insults I wish to hurl at it.

Freddy vs. Jason fulfills the asinine promise of Jason Goes to Hell's closing shot and does indeed pit the two slasher icons against one other in an overlong, Mortal Kombat-esque fight sequence. Leading up to this climax we are treated to over an hour of trite, exposition-laden dialogue, flat characters, sorry acting performances, easy explanations, gratuitous thunderstorms, poor continuity, rock & roll editing, and maybe the worst screenplay I've ever seen brought to life in a major studio production.

This film abandons all the camp and tongue-in-cheek fun which highlighted the best films of each series and instead delivers us a humorless, self-important mess which should disappoint fans of both franchises. It's obvious that director Ronny Yu had little familiarity with these characters or the films which made them famous. He does a good job reimagining origin stories for each but neither character behaves as fans have come to expect. Kane Hodder's subtle but specific catalog of movements is abandoned (as was Hodder himself) for a bland, overly-aggressive Jason facsimile. Robert England returns as Freddy but the script does't give him much to work with and his twisted enthusiasm is massively underutilized.

The only reason this movie exists is to satisfy fans who, for some reason, were dying to see these two characters on screen together. Since both franchises were now owned by New Line Cinema why not give it a try right? Well, there's a reason this project was in studio limbo for almost a decade: it's a BAD idea. The whole production is set up to show Jason and Freddy fighting so the movie is merely a vehicle to get the audience to that point. This means that all other characters and plot points are irrelevant, they exist only to move the picture along. This resulted in horrible writing in all aspects of the film and characters so poorly conceived that I could hardly watch their sad masquerade without a drink in hand.

There are many more criticisms to level at Freddy vs. Jason but, much as I felt while watching it, I'm eager to put this experience behind me. The film is an utter disgrace and truly disrespectful to both franchises and their fans. When I saw it in theatres in 2003 I actually apologized to the person who accompanied me, that's how ashamed I was to be associated with it. It's the rare instance when a non-pornographic film inspires humiliation rather than amusement. Nice work.
½ May 6, 2016
Celebrity Deathmatch with a big budget, a joke of a film on the whole, that could be cut down to just the final battle.
April 25, 2016
Would have been much better if there were no human characters in it.
½ April 15, 2016
A clash of the titans, and unlike Alien vs. Predator, this one actually delivers what it promises - a satisfying showdown between horror's favorite serial killers.
April 4, 2016
this film has great action
there should be more versus movies
April 3, 2016
It's an okay movie. It's much better than other Friday the 13th movies
March 27, 2016
Non- horror fans hate this but, us fans love to see them slice each other apart instead of teenagers.
½ March 17, 2016
surprisingly one of the better sequels to the friday/nightmare movies. freddy was closer to how he was in the beginning. and jason was dealt with respect after his last few embarrassing films. just one big fun ride really.
March 5, 2016
Only problem is the teenager cast there are the most annoying people ever
February 25, 2016
Horror fans everywhere rejoiced at the news of the much awaited crossover. This, however, failed to deliver. So many irrelevant and easily unavoidable plot holes, sloppy dialogue and confusing repetition make this a slow burner, if ever lit.
February 18, 2016
This had a phenomenal build up and yet- flaccid. Good slasher films, particularly those resurrected from the 80s should not rely on their history alone. When producing films in the early 00s- there has to be a fuel that encourages a new audience. This film relied far too much on assumed knowledge meaning, for some of my friends, it was lost on them. For Freddy Krueger fans- this tantalised with cutting dialogue & signature pecan wit. For Jason fans- looming 7ft2 hockey puck is present & suitably slashes. But that's it. The plot is weak, the holes are plentiful & the 'is he dead/isn't he dead?' question at the end simply doesn't serve to excite or inspire and is a lazy attempt at cutting a film with the hint of a possible sequel. Close but no cigar.
Page 1 of 634