Gigli - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gigli Reviews

Page 1 of 98
September 25, 2016
It was a disaster! Poor dialogue,extremely poor direction! It was a mafia movie taking place entirely in a house. How much worse can it get? Much! It was politically wrong about many issues. It was a macho,extremely stereotypical movie about men and their fantasies. It was utterly offensive. The ending felt ridiculous though it could have been predicted by the very first frame. A real disaster of a film.
August 27, 2016
To be frank this movie is a shitride. However, the name made me laugh for hours on end because it reminds me of my friends mother whom I boned. I highly recommend to anybody who has fucked my friends mother.
July 11, 2016
HA! How was this made???
Super Reviewer
June 14, 2016
It is not one of the worst movies ever made like many people say, but it is interminable, structurally messy and the dialogue can be hideous sometimes, with the biggest problem being Lopez's complete lack of charisma and nonexistent chemistry with Affleck.
½ June 11, 2016
Terrible, terrible movie.
May 4, 2016
Gigli is directed and written by Martin Brest who directed films like Beverly Hills Cop, Midnight Run, and Scent of a Woman, and it stars Ben Affleck and Jennifer Lopez in a romantic comedy about Ben Affleck's character who's a low time mobster, and his boss orders him to kidnapped federal prosecutor's brother. The problem however, the boss thinks that Gigli would screw up, so be brings in another mobster to either support him for the task, or do it for him. I have heard so much about this film being one of the worst films of all time, and when I saw it on DirecTV, I was very curious about it and even though it's not one of the worst films that I've seen, Gigli is still a very awful film that I honestly can't believe that I was watching it. This movie was around the time that Jennifer Lopez and Ben Affleck were dating, and since the movie has both of them in one film, the studio wanted the film to be a romantic comedy as Martin Brest's intention was to make a dark comedy mob film. Let's get to the positive because there are a few that I can think of. The acting is not bad, Christopher Walken is one of the funniest parts in the film, which he's only in it for a few minutes, and Al Pacino is having a lot of fun in this which I feel like he's in a completely different movie. I like the idea of one of the main characters being a lesbian as you don't see that often in films, especially the mainstream ones, but that's all I can think of sadly. The chemistry between the main characters feel a bit forced that you already know what's going to happen to them two. The writing isn't really good as there are some laughable lines that are not to be taken seriously, and there's a lot of plot lines that don't add up at all. It's not really that funny, nor interesting to watch as there's nothing much going on. The characters are bland, and it's not inspiring to watch. Gigli is a dull film that I'm glad that I got to see it just to see how bad it is, and while isn't there as my worst films, I still didn't like what I was watching.
½ March 17, 2016
An orgy of miscalculations. Part rom-com, part quirky crime drama, part Rain Man, part soft-core porn. Tonally all over the map with a messy plot and goofy, inconsistent performances. I'll give it props for trying but that's also exactly why this is as terrible as it has been deemed.
January 30, 2016
Reminded me of this chick I used, "TOO" know; makes me smile!?
January 29, 2016
I only enjoy hearing people trash this film. I saw the poster for it in the movie theater when I was a kid and it looked degrading. Generally, I am not a Ben Affleck person, but he has done films that I hear are pretty good. I watched a bunch of YouTube reviews and many people said that it was bad due to the bad acting, the fact that nothing much happens in this turkey of a film. No other words to say, except that this film doesn't deserve words of praise. It deserved stern words and all I can say is I will not rent or buy this film!
½ January 4, 2016
Bizarre and clumsily plotted, Gigli is a mess. As for its stars, Affleck and Lopez lack chemistry.
October 23, 2015
Not even near one of the worst movies ever made. Both Entertaining, funny and charming. Was it not supposed to be a comedy? so why is everyone taking it oh so seriously. Would rather watch this than the hunger games any day.
½ September 27, 2015
This may be the worst movie ever made. It was so bad, it felt like there wasn't even a script. Ben Affleck is a very talented actor but his performance is awful. The plot is contrived and the characters are not interesting. Gene Siskel would have loathed this mess! Spare yourself this movie, those two hours aren't worth it.
September 25, 2015
This is a film that you might watch right now and immediately come to hate it. The conformist instinct of humanity will make this film repulsive to your senses. You'll join the legions of people who believe this to be an affront on film making but, if you choose to trust your baser instincts, your last thoughts as a live human being will be "that one... that one we got wrong."
The director/writer, Martin Brest, casts the conventions of film making into a lake of fire. The lynch-pins of the Hollywood troglodytes are obliterated. The trusted lexicons of all trusted purveyors of film, in their many forms, are stricken from this dimension altogether. This film personifies creativity more than anyone before or since.
Gigli is not your garden variety hit man. He's a sensitive guy who;s more-or-less forced into his profession. Ben Affleck, who preforms astonishingly well in this timeless classic, plays a bad actor. That is who Gigli is. He needs the intimidation factor to do hid dirty deeds, and it takes the wise eyes of Jennifer Lopez to see through this facade.
The plot casually progresses as if it were a breezy Sunday afternoon. The chemistry between Affleck and Lopez simmers and cools until its utterly enjoyable crescendo at the end. Even if you can't stand this movie, the end is guaranteed to bring the warm tears of joy to your eyes.
Obviously this a film that should be handled with caution. You should avoid seeing it with cynics and desperate intellectuals in need of something to criticize. It is a film that is best watched by yourself.
September 3, 2015
For those who give the film any less than a 2 star rating, one or more of a few things are at work: they didn't watch the entire movie, they allowed the Bennifer backlash to influence their experience, they allowed the critical backlash to influence their experience, they don't like Jennifer or Ben as actors, they wanted to jump on the bandwagon of the film's bashing or some combination of these reasons (none of which are real reasons to dislike the film). I saw it in theaters, I bought it and have watched it a number of times since. Is it the best movie ever made? Certainly not, but it is so far from the worst ever made and if you actually look at the box office debut and numbers, far worse bombs invaded the box office before and have since. Jennifer Lopez gives an incredibly believable and nuanced performance as Ricki. She's directed very well and her character is crafted. Nice job! Al Pacino and Christopher Walken are crazily wonderful in their cameos. And while the story isn't ground breaking, I give it credit for originality. It's not another superhero movie or franchise which Hollywood has been obsessed with churning out for years now. It's entertaining and funny. Haters are going to find hate because they're too lazy to form their own opinions. Bottom line: the film is overly criticized because of their very public relationship but so far away from the bottom of the barrel that people are so keen to place it in. Look at the numbers people. As obsessed as the industry is with money, many more films fall well below Gigli.
½ August 16, 2015
Holy ****. Why I watched this? Half point for Batman,
August 12, 2015
It's more interesting than bad...
July 22, 2015
No comment necessary.
Super Reviewer
June 27, 2015
I'm amazed that those involved were ever allowed to work in Hollywood again.
Page 1 of 98