The Hills Have Eyes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hills Have Eyes Reviews

Page 1 of 1003
½ October 21, 2016
Decent remake, though it doesn't break any new ground. Its pretty transparent that they were trying to replicate the success of Dawn of the Dead by simply making a faster, bloodier, more stylized version. They even copy the beginning with the montage/music video...
October 18, 2016
I remember the 1970s version being one of my first X-rated films when I was still too young to see adult material. This 2006 update is far more gruesome than I recall the original. Shocking.
August 28, 2016
I love scary movies!!! This movie looks really good!!!!
½ August 27, 2016
Very entertaining with some truly unsettling environments. Never adds up to any truly scary moments unfortunately.
½ August 9, 2016
Just shows how much farther horror films have come recently. This film was considered decent at the time of its release, and though it has an interesting setup, it's badly flawed.
½ August 2, 2016
Decent revenge horror film that shows the lengths a father will go to save his baby. Best thing about this movie is the song Leave the Broken Hearts by The Finalist.
Super Reviewer
½ July 16, 2016
I can't see any good reason to remake a bad movie changing the nature of the depraved villains but keeping all of those lame faults found in the original movie - especially characters who are irritatingly stupid and the only smart one being the dog.
July 6, 2016
It started off like it was going to surprise us but a few poor jumps later it turns into a gory action film that was just weird and never offers anything new or memorable.
½ June 27, 2016
So messed up! I absolutely loved it!
½ June 13, 2016
Better than the original but not by much
June 13, 2016
This grim 2006 reboot of the 1977 Wes Craven horror classic often gets lumped in with contemporaneous remakes of similar genre touchstones. What separates The Hills Have Eyes is director Alexandre Aja's fresh brand of unrelenting brutality. Punctuated by a truly unsettling score, Aja's film grabs the viewer by the throat and shakes until the blood-smeared climax. Eschewing the irony and clever referencing employed by his peers, Aja doubles down on the savagery and delivers his horror straight up.
½ April 4, 2016
"The Hills Have Eyes" is unevenly acted but way more graphic than its predecessor. But due to a story both shot and told in a rushed pace, this 2006 remake doesn't come of as haunting as the original did.
March 17, 2016
April 21st 2013
March 17th 2016
March 15, 2016
It's an okay movie but it didn't feel like a horror though
March 13, 2016
Spoilt by unnecessary rape scene
½ March 3, 2016
Almost as good as the original.
February 9, 2016
Still an effective premise, so why fix it if it ain't broke? The Hills Have Eyes doesn't necessarily break the mold when it comes to horror movies, but that doesn't diminish from it's appeal. It knows what it can do, and it does it right. Even with a blueprint plot, there are still enough surprises and jump scares to make it a fun viewing. Yes there's a lot of gore, but this isn't torture porn by any stretch of the imagination. Imho, the gore factor is overstated; there's a lot of red, but it's not gushing out and spraying all over the place. Hence its not disgusting as much as it's a bit shocking (= enhances the scene). I found the movie to be quite enjoyable and would definitely recommend it, especially when compared to the deluge of cookie cutter PG horror movies that make me embarrassed to even call them horrors.
½ December 26, 2015
if you like horror movies you will love this
½ December 8, 2015
There was that 5 year span or so, actually that is still lingering today in the horror genre after SAW came out where movie companies were literally pumping out slasher movies year round. Not only did it water the genre down to the point of drowning it but it made the movies that are actually pretty solid also seem ridiculous and silly. The slasher genre is pretty much dead and buried after movies like this. There was a high demand for them for about a year after SAW came out and then people got tired of it, and the same old thing. It is basically the same movie over and over again with different setting and different actors. Poor.
October 30, 2015
My favorite horror movie of the 2000s.
Page 1 of 1003