The Hills Have Eyes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hills Have Eyes Reviews

Page 1 of 1004
September 11, 2017
Scary, but too gruesome. It was taken too far. Not as good as the original either. (First and only viewing - 9/11/2017)
½ July 11, 2017
Much better than the original, with more gore, interesting characters, and a thrill ride from start til the end. Recommended
July 9, 2017
Couldn't even finish this one. Was it supposed to be a horror movie, or a comedy? Because it really felt like the latter.
½ June 6, 2017
A great remake that actually manages to be better than the original unlike so many others.
June 6, 2017
Alright. It was slow getting going but did get good
½ April 15, 2017
This movie, in my opinion, was really good. There is blood, gore, great effects, great cinematography, really good soundtrack, and nice makeup effects. One of the only flaws I find with this movie is that it is really fast in the beginning and it doesn't start pacing back up till the last half of the movie, but that does not mean the first half is boring or bad, it is just a bit slow, yet still entertaining. In my opinion, this movie is badass and it is a really fun movie to watch. It is disturbing, no doubt about that, so if you are planning on watching this movie with friends, watch it with the friends that have strong stomachs. I learned that lesson the hard way. But anyways, its a good movie and id recommend it.
½ April 10, 2017
When you have the chance to remake something that really needed to be remade you need to excell at it. This movie didn't take complete advantage of that. Now I will say it was a slight improvement over the original but, it still didn't make the mark that I was hoping it would. First I'll talk about what I liked. I liked the whole nucueler bomb back round to the savages. I thought that was a nice touch, the military imperssination town was cool. I also thought the acting has deffinetly improved from the last one. Now my promblems with the movie are quiete few but they are important. The group of savages in the original film were a bunch of push overs. In this film there just a bunch of perverts. That isn't exactly very scary but, there makeup was pretty good. Another promblem is that with all the injuries "Doug" receives he should be dead but, he's not. Also your head doesn't explode if you shoot it with a shot gun. Just saying. The film is good. If you liked the original you'll love the remake.
April 10, 2017
To me this remake is better then original
April 7, 2017
December 2008
April 2017
March 8, 2017
One of the few instances where the remake surpasses the original. It's truly disturbing.
February 24, 2017
The things I like the most about the movie is the perfect coupling of Tomandandy's soundtrack with the relentless action (my jaw literally dropped during one such sequence) and how it depicted the protagonist -- you know the guy's a jerk, but with all the horror he's subjected to you can't help but sympathize.
One of the very few examples of how remakes should be done.
February 2, 2017
Hmm... as far as cannibalistic mongoloid movies go... this is a pretty fun one. It's actually suspenseful and not just another excuse for excessive gore.
January 11, 2017
While it may not be for everyone, die-hard horror fans should enjoy this rather epic gore fest -- which undoubtedly surpasses the 1977 original.
January 7, 2017
Minimum Budget for a slasher horror remake, but will exceed the original Craven with effect unexpected scenes that leave the viewer
½ December 18, 2016
Featuring a fresh take on Wes Craven's cannibalistic sadists and an abundance of gruesome blood-soaked action, this Hills Have Eyes remake offers a faster paced, well-acted improvement over the sluggish original with a smart political undercurrent.
½ November 5, 2016
The ultra-violent, torture-porn, extreme horror craze of the early 2000s is pretty well played out by now, but that's because the films got so bad (did you watch "Turistas"?). However, rewatching Alexandre Aja's remake of "The Hills Have Eyes" reminded me of why this type of horror film was so popular for a time. This film is wildly violent and purposely wants to make the audience squirm, but the film is not simply being gratuitous (which is what the worst of this genre did), but it has a smart script, it's incredibly suspenseful, and is has a subtlety dark sense of humor. The film also features some delightfully creepy special effect make-up from Greg Nicotero that are prefectly in tune with the tone of the film. This was also the film that I first discovered composers tomandandy, who have done some very fine electronic scores for different genre films (as far back as the 90s) and who really do deserve to be working on higher profile films. This is not a film for all tastes, but if you're a fan of extreme horror, this one is a must see!
November 1, 2016
3/5. While most of the movie does not distinguish itself at all from the original, it does have a solid 3rd act that makes it worth a watch.
½ October 21, 2016
Decent remake, though it doesn't break any new ground. Its pretty transparent that they were trying to replicate the success of Dawn of the Dead by simply making a faster, bloodier, more stylized version. They even copy the beginning with the montage/music video...
October 18, 2016
I remember the 1970s version being one of my first X-rated films when I was still too young to see adult material. This 2006 update is far more gruesome than I recall the original. Shocking.
August 28, 2016
I love scary movies!!! This movie looks really good!!!!
Page 1 of 1004