Hope Springs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hope Springs Reviews

Page 1 of 98
½ August 22, 2016
One cannot help but to feel like watching a promotional advert for marriage counselling service, at least for most part of this movie. It is curious why Meryl Streep and Tommy Jones were drawn to this project, which requires them to do some kind of soft porn, that honestly isn't pleasant to sit through.
½ July 12, 2016
Most boring film I have ever seen completely unwatchable
July 4, 2016
For some reason I thought this would be a rom-com, but it was a very serious, too serious for my expectations.
Super Reviewer
½ May 6, 2016
Some of the scenes were uncomfortable, in the sense that I felt like I was watching my parents having sex. At other times I went between weepy and happy. Very believable.
April 15, 2016
Wonderful movie for Boomers. Moments of humor really add something.
½ February 7, 2016
As with everything Meryll does, expectations are exceeded, even in roles that limit her exceptional skill.
January 30, 2016
I saw it and even though its aimed at an older generation I found it more sad than humerous.
½ January 24, 2016
I wonder if Steve Carell knew about which movie Tommy Lee Jones and Meryl Streep were attending at the theater during the hilarious oral-sex scene. "Hope Springs" smart and well-written comedy never becomes gross or vulgar, which would have been all too easy, given the subject and many of the "comedies" we see in theaters these days. And of course, stellar acting.
October 27, 2015
Gorgeous film about a middle-aged couple who have been married for 31yrs and its all a bit stale...... Meryl Streep & Tommy Lee Jones make the perfect couple!!!
October 6, 2015
Billed as a comedy but very apposite to the experience of couples everywhere in long-term relationships. There was a lot of relevant stuff here in among the laughs.

Meryl was good value as ever; playing a personality that comes across as weak initially but ultimately powerful. We enjoyed this one.
October 5, 2015
WOW.......WOW.....WOW......WOW.....WHAT A MOVIE........I HAVE JUST SEEN THIS MOVIE 4 THE 1ST TIME N THINK THAT THIS IS SUCH A GREAT MOVIE 2 WATCH......ITS GOT A GOOD CAST OF ACTORS/ACTRESSESS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......I THINK THAT tommy lee jones, meryl streep, steve carrell, ben Rappaport, jean smart, play good roles/parts throughout this movie......I think that the director of this comedy/drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.......I think that tommy lee jones was absolutely brilliant throughout this movie, as he played the role so well throughout this movie......




The project was first announced in 2010 with Streep and Jeff Bridges in talks for the leads and Mike Nichols attached as director. Bridges soon dropped out, and James Gandolfini and Philip Seymour Hoffman were soon attached to the project.

The project then replaced Nichols with David Frankel, without the involvement of Ganfoldini and Hoffman. Steve Carell joined the cast in February 2011, with Tommy Lee Jones replacing Bridges in the opposite lead.

Filming took place in September and October 2011 in Connecticut.





Reviews were mostly positive, with critics praising the cast, particularly Streep, Jones, and Carell. On Metacritic, which assigns a weighted mean rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the film scored a 65 out of 100, indicating "generally positive reviews". The film holds a 74% approval rating on aggregate review site Rotten Tomatoes with an average score of 6.6/10, based on 159 reviews. The site's consensus states "Led by a pair of mesmerizing performances from Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones, Hope Springs offers filmgoers some grown-up laughs -- and a thoughtful look at mature relationships."Rex Reed of The New York Observer praised the film, saying "I think everything about the movie is too subtle and real to appeal to the Batman demographic, but for mature audiences who have forgotten how to smile, it takes up where The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel left off." Angie Errigo of Empire magazine felt that while the film was "Very funny, it's also penetrating on the ravages of time on love and marriage and sweetly touching, but with abundantly incongruous randy content to heartily amuse." Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times praised the performance of Jones, writing, "The reason to see it is for Jones. This man who can stride fearlessly through roles requiring strong, determined men, this actor who can seem in complete control, finds a character here who seems unlike any other he has played and plays it bravely





WARNING YOU HAVE GOT TO WATCH THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE AS SOMETHING HAPPENS AT THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE........WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT SOME SCENES THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.......





its got such a good soundtrack throughout this movie.....I think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch, it is such a highly entertaining movie 2 watch, I think that this is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch, but it is such a fantastic movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie......I think that both meryl streep/tommy lee jones were absolutely brilliant throughout this movie as the 2 lead roles throughout this movie......I think that this is such a really funny movie 2 watch, with a great cast throughout this movie..........
September 2, 2015
not deep enough! I couldn't take it seriously
August 3, 2015
With terrific chemistry from Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones, Hope Springs is a funny, heartwarming, and mature romantic comedy
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
July 14, 2015
Sweet and amusing romance drama.
½ July 7, 2015
At times the film was draggy, and other times it seemed a little bit fluffy and cheesy, but that did NOT stop this movie from being great. Meryl, Tommy Lee Jones, and Steve Carell all give great performances. They are totally convincing in their roles, and their characters are super developed. The great thing about this movie is that you don't have to relate to one of the characters to understand what they are going through, because every single character is very complex and has a specific conflict. Some movies focus more on the plot, while others focus more on character development, but I felt that this film did very well at balancing the two. What I liked most about this movie, however, is how realistic it is. Not only is the theme realistic and relevant to countless people and couples around the world, but the actual story line that happens between Meryl and Tommy Lee could very well be based on real life. It isn't just a great idea for a movie that some writer came up with, but you see a lot of real life situations in this movie. I highly suggest it, mainly to a 30+ audience, but once again, you can be any age to see this movie and understand what the characters are going through.
June 22, 2015
A fresh, er "seasoned", twist on boy has girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl back. Streep is perfection (as always) as the housewife that yearns for lovin'. Jones is the sour husband that felt put on the back burner too long. After 31 years of marriage it was time to see a specialist (Carrell who is spot on). It may be predictable but it's still a sweet story.
½ April 10, 2015
That was good! Weird moments, touching scenes and a pretty great cast!
April 3, 2015
Too neatly and happily wrapped up in the end shows the makers of this movie didn't have half the guts of the characters in it.
April 1, 2015
I love anything Meryl does and this was no exception, not at all as bad as everyone else seems to think.
Page 1 of 98