Hope Springs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hope Springs Reviews

Page 1 of 98
November 11, 2017
(5.0 out of 6)
When we wish others could see us when there is plenty to see and enjoy but others choose not to see when they like seeing it their way which is the only thing they wish to see. When we see we wish to see others who can see for others who can't see to make them see in what we see and also can't see that can help see our marriage is stronger. When what others care less in seeing when we can't see whom we hurt or whom we are harming when we don't see any other ways working when there is nothing here to see to get going on with our lives as we see fit. When we see what we can't see changing we must run away but see we can't go far, to only see another escape in other things when we see gateways to alcohol. When we see something's we don't see when professionals and non professionals make us see what tricks our mind plays with us when we don't see the right things we are here.

When we see something's new need exploring when what's old fashioned isn't working out. When what we see to save something's we do when we need to make them see us as they used to. When what we see is they love us but still need to see more. When we see that what we haven't tried, we enjoy when it's new and invigorating we didn't see coming. When what we don't see coming we see we wish not to reveal when somethings we can't show we hide. When what we can't see we rather read when we don't have our mind in the gutter of something's we see as private. When we see we had enough of seeing everyones way, even what we have seen in fantasy or on film we can't see in real life when we don't see it anymore when we are old not young. When we always see that we plan things to see what to expect to see there is somethings we rather others not see so they can enjoy the surprise & spice in what they see and can't see in the dark. When we see that we can't do what others do in what they enjoy, to see that the problem is us when we see what others see not sexy. When seeing so much of life we see we just don't enjoy life anymore when what's old can't seem to feel comfortable. When what we can't see doing we get helpful tips when we need to see what to do step by step but we don't see we are more of a reader then doer that we can't see something's. When what others see they can do, they offer a tip when we can read what others want a getaway from real life. When we see why we love those when we see eye to eye on something's when we do know eachother after many years we can't see ourselves with anybody else we liked to talk to. When we see some evenings don't need to end so shortly to continue what we see elsewhere when we are both having a great evening. When others can't wait to get down to seeing what they have been reading to see it's right. When what we see is what we have always seen, we are not sexy to look at that makes something's we see all fake. When what others see too often they see they don't see we are the type to see something's more important then other things to throw it all away. When seeing the past and seeing the future there is plenty to see when seeing the good and bad is hard to absorb. When what others are used to seeing they prefer when others like seeing it their way. When what you don't see after being with eachother for along time you begin to see it doesn't feel the same when we used to see how loving we once were to see we are less affectionate to start seeing it to get back what we lost, our youth. When we see others just needed to get tired of seeing their way to see it our way when it's not bad.When what we can only see in closed doors we see we can explore whatever we wish to see together. When what we do outdoors we see we what everybody else's sees two old folks that love each other to strengthen our commitment.
August 25, 2017
A Comedy suppose-to-be but not so funny.
June 25, 2017
Hope Springs is a destructive Tsunami. It destroyed some reputation of its cast because of their silly characters and it dives their spectators into a whirlpool full of cliches, predictability, disinteress, unoriginality and again, disinteress.
June 17, 2017
We all know that Meryl Streep is a legend. Love this woman!!!
½ December 29, 2016
Between a 6/10 and 7/10, The film, a rehab job on a beached marriage, displays the most tender respect, the most exquisite tact, and yet it would be unwatchable with any other actors than Tommy Lee Jones and Meryl Streep.
½ August 22, 2016
One cannot help but to feel like watching a promotional advert for marriage counselling service, at least for most part of this movie. It is curious why Meryl Streep and Tommy Jones were drawn to this project, which requires them to do some kind of soft porn, that honestly isn't pleasant to sit through.
½ July 12, 2016
Most boring film I have ever seen completely unwatchable
July 4, 2016
For some reason I thought this would be a rom-com, but it was a very serious, too serious for my expectations.
Super Reviewer
½ May 6, 2016
Some of the scenes were uncomfortable, in the sense that I felt like I was watching my parents having sex. At other times I went between weepy and happy. Very believable.
April 15, 2016
Wonderful movie for Boomers. Moments of humor really add something.
½ February 7, 2016
As with everything Meryll does, expectations are exceeded, even in roles that limit her exceptional skill.
January 30, 2016
I saw it and even though its aimed at an older generation I found it more sad than humerous.
½ January 24, 2016
I wonder if Steve Carell knew about which movie Tommy Lee Jones and Meryl Streep were attending at the theater during the hilarious oral-sex scene. "Hope Springs" smart and well-written comedy never becomes gross or vulgar, which would have been all too easy, given the subject and many of the "comedies" we see in theaters these days. And of course, stellar acting.
October 27, 2015
Gorgeous film about a middle-aged couple who have been married for 31yrs and its all a bit stale...... Meryl Streep & Tommy Lee Jones make the perfect couple!!!
October 6, 2015
Billed as a comedy but very apposite to the experience of couples everywhere in long-term relationships. There was a lot of relevant stuff here in among the laughs.

Meryl was good value as ever; playing a personality that comes across as weak initially but ultimately powerful. We enjoyed this one.
October 5, 2015
WOW.......WOW.....WOW......WOW.....WHAT A MOVIE........I HAVE JUST SEEN THIS MOVIE 4 THE 1ST TIME N THINK THAT THIS IS SUCH A GREAT MOVIE 2 WATCH......ITS GOT A GOOD CAST OF ACTORS/ACTRESSESS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......I THINK THAT tommy lee jones, meryl streep, steve carrell, ben Rappaport, jean smart, play good roles/parts throughout this movie......I think that the director of this comedy/drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.......I think that tommy lee jones was absolutely brilliant throughout this movie, as he played the role so well throughout this movie......




The project was first announced in 2010 with Streep and Jeff Bridges in talks for the leads and Mike Nichols attached as director. Bridges soon dropped out, and James Gandolfini and Philip Seymour Hoffman were soon attached to the project.

The project then replaced Nichols with David Frankel, without the involvement of Ganfoldini and Hoffman. Steve Carell joined the cast in February 2011, with Tommy Lee Jones replacing Bridges in the opposite lead.

Filming took place in September and October 2011 in Connecticut.





Reviews were mostly positive, with critics praising the cast, particularly Streep, Jones, and Carell. On Metacritic, which assigns a weighted mean rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the film scored a 65 out of 100, indicating "generally positive reviews". The film holds a 74% approval rating on aggregate review site Rotten Tomatoes with an average score of 6.6/10, based on 159 reviews. The site's consensus states "Led by a pair of mesmerizing performances from Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones, Hope Springs offers filmgoers some grown-up laughs -- and a thoughtful look at mature relationships."Rex Reed of The New York Observer praised the film, saying "I think everything about the movie is too subtle and real to appeal to the Batman demographic, but for mature audiences who have forgotten how to smile, it takes up where The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel left off." Angie Errigo of Empire magazine felt that while the film was "Very funny, it's also penetrating on the ravages of time on love and marriage and sweetly touching, but with abundantly incongruous randy content to heartily amuse." Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times praised the performance of Jones, writing, "The reason to see it is for Jones. This man who can stride fearlessly through roles requiring strong, determined men, this actor who can seem in complete control, finds a character here who seems unlike any other he has played and plays it bravely





WARNING YOU HAVE GOT TO WATCH THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE AS SOMETHING HAPPENS AT THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE........WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT SOME SCENES THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.......





its got such a good soundtrack throughout this movie.....I think that this is such a really powerful drama movie 2 watch, it is such a highly entertaining movie 2 watch, I think that this is such a powerful drama movie 2 watch, but it is such a fantastic movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie......I think that both meryl streep/tommy lee jones were absolutely brilliant throughout this movie as the 2 lead roles throughout this movie......I think that this is such a really funny movie 2 watch, with a great cast throughout this movie..........
September 2, 2015
not deep enough! I couldn't take it seriously
August 3, 2015
With terrific chemistry from Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones, Hope Springs is a funny, heartwarming, and mature romantic comedy
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
July 14, 2015
Sweet and amusing romance drama.
Page 1 of 98