Hostel - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hostel Reviews

Page 1 of 1214
½ April 4, 2018
Dumb gore with a dumb storyline
March 31, 2018
3.4/5

Hostel isnt ridiculous enough for its violent content to be less impactful tha it is, but as much as it is significantly more complex than I expected (that is, I expected nothing), it never really reaches the levels of depth that can be noticeable in other similar, more european films, clearely showcasing Eli Roths obsession with shock by itself rather than its possible meanings.
½ March 10, 2018
ELI roth's gore spectacular. really well done. good story. good acting. one of my favorite gore movies. many have copied this idea too.
February 18, 2018
Watchable but nothing special. There's more plot than you might expect, but that's not saying much.

1) We're introduced to three annoying pricks
2) Bad things happen to the three annoying pricks
3) Bad things happen to the people who did the bad things to the three annoying pricks.

Still, the gruesome bits are gruesome and that's all anybody's going to be watching for.
February 15, 2018
A bore and waste of time for half the movie until the torture and the plot kicks in. But you don?t care for any of the characters and even feel that the gore is as gruesome as marketed so to what happens to the characters isn't overall very effective
½ February 12, 2018
This one pretty much ticks everything on my horror wish list. Suspense, gore, atmosphere, resolution. We need more entries like this.
½ February 6, 2018
171031: A second rate slasher flick. Nothing really stands out to me, not even the story. Hostel Part II however...
February 4, 2018
"Hostel" is a quite disturbing horror film by the way the victims are tortured to death (drills, chainsaws, scalpels, etc.), the acting going from carefree to serious, most of the settings are eerie or have an eerie-like quality, & the gore is awesome. Oh, & Quentin Tarantino produced this film (with some certain scenes reflect the ear cutting scene from "Reservoir Dogs" & the gimp/ball-gag scene from "Pulp Fiction"). However, the first half of the film focusing on sex & hot chicks dragged the film for a while (especially given the way the characters acted too carefree).
It may be disturbingly horrific, but "Hostel" can be quite a treat to horror films. Just proceed with caution, if you dare.
½ January 3, 2018
It's by far the best Hostel. Its so beautifully shot with love to the detail. It gets almost everything right. Before I watched Hostel I thought it was gonna be a non stop gore, guts and blood-fest. But a big amount of its running time is spent on someone who searches for his friend. But that's a good thing because it makes this movie more human. You actually care for the characters and its so much more than just a horror flick, it's the best one. I found Europe even better and more interesting after watching it.
December 22, 2017
Unfairly dismissed as torture porn by many critics, this terrific horror film plays off audience expectations and takes them on a terrifying ride you cannot predict where it will go. The story revolves around a group of three Americans traveling through Europe, staying in hostels. Two are obnoxious party-boys and one is the nice-guy character. When one of the obnoxious guys is lured away by pretty girls, the two remaining become suspicious of what happened and begin to investigate. All the while, since the film opened with images of horrific implements of torture in a dark, dank torture chamber, the audience has already had seeds planted in their minds of what really happened. Writer/director Eli Roth does an amazing job of playing against horror film tropes and audience expectations, particularly (SPOILER ALERT) when he kills off the nice-guy hero of the film Marion Crane-style and the audience is left without a safety net. After that, it feels as if anything is possible, which has the impact of creating genuine suspense now that we've seen that all of the characters are expendable. Roth really knows his horror films (his first film, "Cabin Fever," was a slasher film without a slasher, and it completely worked), and he uses that knowledge to surprise the audience throughout. When the nice-guy is killed, it's as if all bets are off and anything can happen. It also helps that the film doesn't feature and name actors, because when you cast Brad Pitt in your film, you know Brad Pitt isn't going to be killed. This tension is olstered by Roth establishing early on in the film that he's not going to cut away from the violence and that he is going to show the audience the full bloody graphic horror of what's happening (and it's extreme!). As with the best horror films, "Hostel" has an interesting subtext about America's interventionist nature around the globe and how that's received by the rest of the world. American arrogance is a ripe topic for a revenge-like thriller, especially when it's framed around an underground Eastern European business that caters to the depraved murderous desires of wealthy men who want the exotic adventure of torturing and murdering attractive youth without consequences.This film is credited (or accused) of ushering in the "torture porn" horror subgenera, which it most certainly did. Extreme horror films, like "Audition" or "Ichi the Killer" had been around Asia Cinema for awhile, and Roth rightfully gives a not to those film with a cameo appearance by Takashi Miike, the likely the originator of "extreme" horror films. "Saw" did come out the year before, but it relied more on traditional implied horror instead of showing all the graphic violence (unlike it's subsequent sequels). Roth also provides other nods that horror fans will likely pick up on, such as the slow tracking shots of the door at the end of the torture hallway as a nice homage to the menacing door at the end of the hall in "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre." Overall, "Hostel" is a film that is not intended to appeal to a wide audience and not even to all horror fans, but for horror film fans of a hearty nature, this film is amazing!
November 24, 2017
I haven't read every review of "Hostel," but from what I have read, I don't find a reference to Quentin Tarantino, who serves as one of the executive producers. Tarantino loves switching gears mid-movie, and that's exactly what this film does. Also, Greg Nicotero, famous for his make-up expertise in some George Romeo "Living Dead" films and the hit TV show "The Walking Dead", serves as the special makeup effects designer and creator. It comes down to this: If you don't enjoy plenty of T&A for the first half of a film, and torture and some gore during its second half, don't bother. But if you do...... "Vodka and Red Bull."
October 29, 2017
At it's core it's about losing your purpose in life due to the inherent violence of humanity. It doesn't always communicate it's point as well as it possibly could, but it manages to balance it's horror and absurdist black humor well enough that for those who are able to stomach it's gore it's definitely still worth the watch.
October 26, 2017
Hostel is not a scary movie, it's just plain disgusting.
½ October 18, 2017
Freaking freaky.... Great for a Halloween scare.
½ September 17, 2017
I watched Hostel 1 to 3 on Amazon Prime back to back on same day. Part 1 sets the stage for you. Part 2 is a direct sequel to Part 1 with little twists, and part three is stand alone story with even more unexpected twists in the story. Super explicit nudity, gore and violence.
½ September 10, 2017
After watching this in the theater, I was called a sick bastard by the girl I was dating because I told her I liked it. It's still one of my favorite horror movies today.
Super Reviewer
½ September 7, 2017
A good horror film but overhyped. Didn't think it was any more gory than most other recent horror films. Seen far more gore in many low budget horrors.
September 2, 2017
Gore porn without any semblance of substance really isn't my bag...
August 26, 2017
Pretty cool horror movie built on an interesting concept, very violent and gory, but lacking in character building.
August 14, 2017
Great horror film with good acting and lots and lots of goes just the way I like em. Love Eli Roth special effects.
Page 1 of 1214