I Will Follow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Will Follow Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
April 15, 2011
There's smooth-jazz polish to the emotions, even the unpleasant ones, in "I Will Follow."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
March 12, 2011
I Will Follow, Ava DuVernay's triumphant feature debut, is a life-affirming portrait of a woman, Maye (Salli Richardson-Whitfield), juggling all kinds of loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
March 10, 2011
This touching if insular drama about a woman grieving over the recent death of her aunt is well acted and incisively observed, although it's ultimately too low-key to have much dramatic impact.
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
March 10, 2011
Shows a certain amount of promise but often falls prey to easy emotional beats and an overall sentimentality when it should push for moments less obvious, more rare, true and insightful.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
John Hartl
Seattle Times
March 10, 2011
As a director, DuVernay handles her actors with care, though visually the picture sometimes betrays its shoestring budget.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
March 10, 2011
In one way or another, every emotion in this wonderful independent film is one I've experienced myself. Grief, of course. But also anger, loneliness, confusion and a sense of lost direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
March 8, 2011
Congrats to Salli Richardson-Whitfield for delivering a career performance, here, and to Ava DuVernay for shooting such a thought-provoking meditation on mortality in just a couple of weeks and on a micro budget.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Michelle Orange
Village Voice
March 8, 2011
Its elegantly simple structure filled in with startling, understated force, I Will Follow is a modestly framed portrait of grief in its first season.
Top Critic
Andrew Barker
Variety
March 3, 2011
The soulful, messy process of grief gets a soulful, messy treatment in Ava DuVernay's I Will Follow.
Clay Cane
BET.com
February 3, 2011
If you want a movie with a flawless script, passionate actors, tears and laughs that result in inspiration, then this is a must-see. 'I Will Follow' is a full dose of humanity and makes me proud to be associated with the film industry.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 1