Inherent Vice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inherent Vice Reviews

Page 1 of 68
March 16, 2018
Crazy bum story in the 70s. Similar to Le Big Lebowski but less sensical and more complex. A bit absurd and a bit comedic at times. I found it long and could not continue to watch at regular speed.
March 6, 2018
Fantastic movie, slow but interesting. You really have to pay attention or YOU'LL miss details.
½ February 18, 2018
it's dark and lonely work..

Inherent Vice

A concrete material throughout the course of the movie with more than enough content to feed the audience even for 148 minutes, is a script that does not come often onto Paul's table for it is completely a plot driven movie. Inherent Vice has a lot to offer, complex plots and sub-plots, amusing verbal sparring and eerie characters but it takes a lot of homework to bind them all and project it onto the screen which is accomplished in here for the most part of the movie. Paul Thomas Anderson's seventh installment is admirable and plausible in context of art but doesn't demand attention of the viewers which may come off as a bit downer considering there is a lot to intake. Joaquin Phoenix is the key that glues each and every character and sequences in this overlong drive and he pulls it off with the help of a great supporting cast like Josh Brolin, Katherine Waterston and Owen Wilson. Inherent Vise is witty but low on drama, has reasonable content but lacks gripping screenplay and has stellar performances but contains lots of bumps down the road.
½ February 7, 2018
You don't need a "reefer" before watching this one: you'll end up stoned just the same. You'll like the trip? Well, it's entirely up to you.
February 4, 2018
I don't think I liked this movie but still you have to give credit to Anderson for yet another ambitious and weird movie. At times it's really confusing and hard to follow and definitely requires multiple views to grasp all the details. But the problem is will anyone want to watch it again? I don't think I will, it's just didn't get under my skin like many other Anderson's movies.
½ January 23, 2018
Are the critics trying to be clever by giving this rave reviews! The public aren't buying it!
January 18, 2018
A performance facade in place of a frustrating narrative.
December 29, 2017
Joaquin was robbed of any number of honors for his portrayal of Doc.... dirty feet and all.
½ December 25, 2017

[Paul Thomas Anderson]
½ December 23, 2017
P.T. Anderson's first straight novel adaptation is a wildly unique and brave piece of work. Brave as in truly not caring about his audiences' understanding or patience of plot and merely absorbing Pynchon's already abstract and surreal world. After a while, you're not really caring who or what is going on in its neverending string of noirish mysteries but finding yourself in a Doc Sportello-esque hallucination filled with emotions of nostalgia and paranoia from love and 60s sunny California escapism.
December 1, 2017
I Think You Can Tell PT-Anderson Wrote This Over A Number Of Heavy Drinking-Weedbake Sessions & Tied It All Together With A Few Key Scenes. All Very Reminiscent Of Pulp Fiction. He Has Called In A Few Much-Loved Actors Of His (Owen & Joanquin) To Carry The Weight Of A Very Long Piece Of Cinema, Added In A Few Clever Musical Numbers, Referenced History & Culture Clashes Of The Late 60s & 70s..Put It All Together & Hopes It Works. It Kinda Does, Kinda Doesn't, But Will Entertain You & Not Totally Bore You. If You Can Let Go Of The Messy Script Writing That Is.
½ November 9, 2017
A highly stylized 1970s period-ambiance, tantalizing camera work, and a talented and fully dedicated cast, save this ambitious director's humorous noir mystery from all of its flaws. Paul Thomas Anderson's direction is surely diligent, as always. But the runtime is far too lengthy and feels even longer, thanks to an incoherent screenplay that piles on more and more plot elements with each scene, without ever letting itself take a moment to breath. This makes it nearly impossible to follow for anyone who has not read the novel. But for something that will be difficult for many to comprehend, it is entertaining to watch and holds viewers' attention. Pheonix is also as good as ever and is very winning as a stoner/private eye. The same goes for Brolin as a hot-headed detective.
½ November 3, 2017
I am a massive fan of Paul Thomas Anderson, I have seen many of his films, (Magnolia and There Will Be Blood being the best of the bunch) they are very ambitious, normally with a vast array of characters and with many different stories to tell, which may in fact not be that different after all. Inherent Vice is no different. It follows a pot smoking private eye named Doc (Joaquin Phoenix) who is looking into disappearance of his ex-girlfriend and her rich developer lover, but that's not all as along the way he runs into foreign drug cartels, government informants and very curious rehab program. If this sounds confusing and convoluted that because it is. There are some interesting relationships and some very entertaining and elaborate scenes but this movie is way to jammed full of plot for its own good. There's good performances (from Phoenix and Josh Brolin in particular) but PTA's drug fuelled neo-noir is just like getting high, it's fun while its happening but after it's over you start to wonder what exactly just happened.
½ October 2, 2017
Beautifully weird.........
September 17, 2017
Eu não tenho certeza se eu vi ou não esse filme
August 18, 2017
Yeah, no. Just kind of a dog's breakfast of drifting, marginally connected stuff, delivered in uneven tones. I love Joaquin Phoenix. The movie is not poorly made or staged by P.T. Anderson. I want to like it and have given it a second viewing now. But no, it is just an exercise in throwing spaghetti at the wall.
4.9 out of 10
½ August 15, 2017
Not P.T. s best film, but still a psychedelic and well acted stoner flick that seems to meander in such a way that we can't help but enjoy it...
August 12, 2017
Excellent movie. While the plot might be a little convoluted to follow for those unfamiliar with the source material (i.e. Me), it's as the saying goes: "It's the journey, not the destination." Paul Thomas Anderson takes audiences on a visceral and psychedelic journey through LA in the '70s with three intriguing interconnected mysteries, a slew of colorfully captivating characters, beautifully stylish direction and fantastic performances from its ensemble cast, especially Phoenix, Waterston, Brolin, Newsom and Del Toro.
July 14, 2017
This movie is basically Raymond Chandlers The Big Sleep meets The Big Lebowski all wrapped in a PTA film.
Page 1 of 68