The Mechanic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mechanic Reviews

Page 1 of 213
October 8, 2016
Here is an example of a brainless B-movie fare with frigid, brooding killers, high body pile ups, blazing guns with over the top action scenes. Those who are into the nasty R-violence, well this just might be your thing. As for me, the highlight was Ben Foster and Donald Sutherland.
October 7, 2016
Amid some quite cool looking images of the sequel, I thought I might as well check out the original. Whilst not particularly surprised by the lack of enjoyment I got from it, I was perhaps hoping for a little more. A very standard Statham film quickly takes shape, so much so that you wouldn't be blamed for thinking you were watching one of the many Transporter movies for example. As expected, action scenes are pretty good, and stunts relatively entertaining. The plot however was as dull as listening to most of the England football team speak. It was also quite farfetched in the relationships that the film tried to build, particularly following the initial few scenes. All in all, I won't be rushing to watch the sequel.
October 4, 2016
The hit at the very start is quality and it has its moments throughout but instead of been a stylish hitman thriller it just turns into another Jason Statham action flick, which is not a bad thing but when you are doing a remake of a classic, you deserve more. The finale to the 1972 film is one of my all time favourites and they make a balls of it here. Entertaining but pointless.
½ September 28, 2016
Good film, Not as much action as I hoped for but what we got was good with some pretty gory kills at times, Nice plot but nothing really to take away from it as the twist was predictable and the ending could of been better but the story side of it was what stood out the most.
September 14, 2016
Typical Jason Statham movie.
½ September 9, 2016
Pourtant réalisé par Simon West et avec Jason Statham en star, The Mechanic est un film d'action sans action, un thriller sans suspense, totalement dépourvu d'humour ou même de second degré et quasiment déporvu d'intérêt aussi. Ne reste alors qu'une succession de scènes d'exposition, le charisme de Jason Statham, Ben Foster qui est toujours aussi bon et inquiétant et une dernière demi-heure bien supérieure à ce qu'il y avait auparavant. Mais avec les forces en présence, c'est une réelle déception.
September 1, 2016
Jason stathum is always a good action star and does what he does best in this movie. I enjoyed the story line very much as well as the directing of this movie
½ August 30, 2016
While the movie has a strong plot and a lot of story, it starts with average acting, combined with big action sequences which makes you sometimes wonder if it's a drama/thriller or action like its sold to be. Nonetheless a good step up for Statham and Donald Sutherland's performance is amazing as usual, and Ben Foster's performance is twisted and sympathic at the same time. The main cast is well acted but the villains are average to just thugs who seem to run the whole movie. Although the movie has its flaws, the positive story telling and action sequences/visuals make it worth to see again and benefits own on DVD for a cheap price.
½ August 28, 2016
An over the top action movie that tries to take itself too seriously at times trying to be something it should not be, Statham and Foster do bring decent performances though. A remake that uses the new modern action filmmaking process to turn it any other over the top violent, action movie.
August 27, 2016
¿Quiere verse una película de acción acompañada de unas cervezas y una pizza con anchoas? Este decente re-make de la cinta de 1972 protagonizada por Charles Bronson (y ahora por Jason Statham) puede ser la indicada. La acción en "The Mechanic" es constante, los actores (Statham y Ben Foster) actúan y hay mucha, mucha testosterona. "The Mechanic", la historia de un asesino a sueldo que busca enseñarle a un aprendiz el arte de matar sin dejar huella, puede ser superficial y no se compara a su fuente original, pero soporta ser vista en un fin de semana con los aditamentos antes mencionados.
August 26, 2016
F%43 you guys I give this movie 10 stars
and Jessica Alba was hot as F%4#
August 26, 2016
A thrilling Jason Statham film!
August 14, 2016
Didn't know this was a remake.but I loved every second of this film. Action packed and some scenes were hilarious
½ August 6, 2016
How did I not hear of this when it came out? Jason Statham is the man!
July 24, 2016
Freaking amazing! Five stars hands down! Action at its best! Great plot, several layers, keeps you guessing and on the edge of your seats the entire time! Let's go!
June 20, 2016
Loved own it on blue ray awesome movie just like the original
½ May 15, 2016
He's a driver he's a fighter g how many movie combinations can u make out of that.???
April 27, 2016
The Mechanic really surprised me after many told me that it was not good. Most of the time Jason Statham is a little too over-the-top for me, but this time it is different. It has an awesome plot and Ben Foster does a nice job.
½ March 14, 2016
Ben Foster was really really good, Statham was well Statham which is great for this movie. The story was decent, the action was amazing. Really the only thing that kept this movie from getting five stars was that it went on about a minute to long. If it would have ended then it would have been perfect for what it is.
½ March 1, 2016
For adrenaline fuelled, ruthless action who else could it be but Statham, can anyone spell stereotype? Similar to Bruce Willis' reluctant hero character, Jason Statham has cornered the market as the assassin who grows a conscience.

A contemporary reworking of Michael Winner's 1972 slow-burning vehicle of the same name, Statham is a natural successor to Charles Bronson's inscrutable screen persona. But as expected Statham's agent is turning his perma-frown client into a franchise driven euro trash muscle machine churning out more movies than plots.

In an attention seeking opening sequence set in drug lord capital of the world Columbia, we meet Arthur Bishop (Statham) aka The Mechanic. An elite assassin with a unique flair for killing in a manner that looks like a natural death, Bishop's mantra is the best job is when no-one knows you were even there; deliberately orchestrating murder to never leave evidence or loose ends or the need to look for them.

After cleanly eliminating his target through a very interesting sequence of underwater antics, Bishop returns home to his secluded, lonesome yet overtly elegant New Orleans bayou swanky pad. After his post-killing rituals of classical music and OCD driven burning of the planning materials, Bishop enjoys his isolated but lucrative life through his vintage muscle car and paid nights with the local talent (apparently if you over pay its not prostitution).

In the world where men in hush-hush organisations murmur murderous instructions into untraceable cell phones, eventually you're going to get a questionable hit. Contracted by one of the agency partners Dean (Tony Golwdwyn) to eliminate a traitor, his wheel-chair bound mentor Harry McKenna (Played by the classy and far too talented Donald Sutherland) Bishop faces a tough decision.

'Helping' McKenna circumnavigate his own security to aid in a flawless murder, Bishop is cold in their exchange, the body language and heartfelt words shared are emotionally detached to the obvious bond.

In an act of penance, Bishop agrees to take McKenna's estranged son on as a killing protégé. Attempting to teach the impulsive young troublemaker Steve (Ben Foster) that trying to find his father's killer is futile and revenge is an emotion that can get you killed, Bishop welcomes him into his home and tries to teach Steve the theory, practice and tricks of the trade.

However, Steve's track record as a chaotic screw up with immaturity issues and substance abuse throws a spanner in the suave Bishop's perfect works. Failing miserably at his first clean solo hit; to lure and kill a rival Mechanic with a fondness for Chihuahuas and young boys, Steve is broken by the giant to within an inch of his life.

Still trying to salvage his reputation, the two start pursuing the ultimate mark and Bishops last hit, however as deception threatens to surface, those hired to fix problems become the problem and this union of force begins to implode.
With the predictable scattershot close-ups that simulate excitement through cinematic dismemberment and the usual hash of preposterous action sequences themes of loyalty, betrayal and revenge is what keeps the story bouncing from one huge stunt to the next violent sequence.
Attempting to add texture, little hints of depth are woven in, for instance the old fashioned turntable that plays a big role in the climax and the cleaver explanation of plotting by medical knowledge to ensure naturalness of death. A nice addition until the groundwork disintegrates.

The Verdict: More driven than Transporter but less caustic than Crank, Statham has once again landed himself an action franchise in the making. The simplest explanation it's a boys' movie with a big bang finish.

Published: The Queanbeyan Age
Date of Publication: 08/04/2011
Page 1 of 213