Muppets From Space - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Muppets From Space Reviews

Page 1 of 58
September 29, 2016
Gonzo, feeling more like an "other" than usual, has been having weird dreams about extraterrestrial brethren attempting to contact him. This puts him and (eventually) his pals in the Muppet crew on a path to making first contact with an intergalactic race, but first they have to deal with an aggressive branch of government spooks. Muppets From Space is usually seen as one of the lesser Muppet films and it definitely has less substance and laughs than its predecessors (and many of its successors). At the same time, this movie does have enough silly jokes, random celebrity cameos, and impressive puppeteering to make it seem like a sincere effort to emulate Jim Henson's legacy. Muppets From Space is hardly a masterwork, but family movies do come a lot worse than this one.
August 15, 2016
good muppet humor, focused on my favorite character. Due to studio interference, lacks original muppet songs.
½ July 21, 2016
Same level, as well as good and funny, as any other Muppets family films. (B)

(Full review coming soon - with better wording probably)
½ June 21, 2016
Is alright. Could really have used more plot.
June 9, 2016
A sad low point for Jim Henson's beloved creations, "Muppets From Space" is absolutely dreadful.
March 31, 2016
Adorable and so much fun! Still into the silly jokes after all these years, except now I actually recognize the non-Muppet actors -- which makes it even better :-)
January 20, 2016
A Muppet movie that tried to be a little different. It's a nice addition to the Muppets with some very memorable moments.
October 15, 2015
Second best muppet movie EVAH
½ August 14, 2015
This a intresting muppet movie!
June 5, 2015
Pretty atrocious ... a plot that would work for a half-hour TV show just doesn't work over an hour and a half. Not funny, weird supporting characters that seem to randomly appear. Just brutal.
April 15, 2015
Another good one from the Muppets, though I was a little disappointed that only a select few Muppets got any role time in this one.
½ April 6, 2015
This is just ok. The other muppet movies are better. Weak, strange plot.
January 30, 2015
Very under-rated, considering how great it is to find out what Gonzo is, exactly. An alien, decent. Decent plot, decent characters, decent cameos, decent music, and(SPOILER ALARM!) a most decent tug of the heart-strings as someone searches for their origins at a high cost. (SPOILER ALARM!) and manages to escape the FBI with help from friends and meet their relatives from another planet at a beach with a bunch of college kids and hippies. Sorry.
Anyway. It's very good. The Muppets will never go out of style.Fashions will, trends will, forgetful movies will, but not The Muppets. Decent.
January 23, 2015
The first movie appearance of Pepe the King Prawn: "build a jacuzzi"! I loved this one when it came out, and still find it hilarious. Jeffrey Tambor is fantastic as the government agent bad guy: "DON'T! LAUGH! AT ME!"... and finally this movie has an all 70's funk soundtrack. Awesome.
January 13, 2015
I wasn't overly impressed but hey, it's the Muppets.
January 7, 2015
The magic may not have returned but we still got a film that was at least half decent.
December 22, 2014
Another good one from the Muppets, though I was a little disappointed that only a select few Muppets got any role time in this one.
½ November 17, 2014
At their best, the Muppets are super-meta kid's musicals that aren't afraid of adult references and jokes to keep the whole family plugged in. Muppets from Space drops these elements in favor of era-sensitive humor (ie Shrek), and it comes off as lazy, forced, and downright pointless. Despite a decent premise (all Muppets live in one house, alien conspiracies), it's easily the worst Muppet film with little to no emotional pull and only a few jokes that actually hit....such a shame.
½ October 2, 2014
Anybody who likes the Muppets will hang their head in shame after seeing this. It's easily the worst of the theatrical Muppets movies. There were a few laughs, but I hated the premise. I also couldn't believe how the film managed to compile a soundtrack with some of the most annoying songs ever made. I'm just going to try and pretend that this doesn't exist. (First and only viewing - 10/1/2014)
½ September 27, 2014
In what probably may be the Muppets' weakest outing, Gonzo gets a serious identity crisis as he struggles to figure out WHAT exactly he is. The premise is not bad by any means, but the overall film is just not as memorable or zesty as the previous Muppet films. Although Gonzo is, as usual, a delight, the rest of the Muppets feel like shadows of their former selves in this movie. The story is not particularly memorable or inspired either, with a deus ex machina of an ending that all but undermines the momentum. (The "Celebration" scene with the spaceship is funny, unfortunately that's about it.) MUPPETS FROM SPACE is not a BAD movie by any means; it does have its occasional laughs, but overall it's a disappointing entry to the Muppet movies. It didn't help that Brian Henson didn't work on this film, either; newcomer Tim Hill clearly didn't have the right "vibe" for this one. Forgettable and not very inspired, MUPPETS FROM SPACE is, at best, mediocre.
Page 1 of 58