The Notebook - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Notebook Reviews

Page 1 of 29329
½ September 24, 2016
A romantic comedy will at least have some laughs. This wasn't a comedy, it was just a melodramatic love story that was boring. B-actors in a story that seemed to be written by a high school girl. The last 15 minutes with Garner and Rowlands save this from being completely forgettable.
September 2, 2016
Heard this is really good, cant wait 2 c it!
August 29, 2016
Ah God... THIS MOVIE. I'm not typically into romance stories or movies, but this one is an exception. I can't even think of this movie without getting goosebumps. The house, the boat in the rain scene, the kiss, the pain in the ass speech.....the love they have for each other is something that happens only once in a lifetime. And good God, this movie will kick your emotions right in the ass. SO GOOD.
August 29, 2016
I love this movie because they feel in love with each other.and it sad at the end
August 15, 2016
This sounded like an ok movie, and I've heard lots of rave ratings about it!!
½ July 13, 2016
The Notebook (2004) C-123m. ??? 1/2 D: Nick Cassavetes. Ryan Gosling, Rachel McAdams, James Garner, Gena Rowlands. Dynamite drama-romance saga, rekindling of two young people who meet at young age but continue to love each other even after many years of separation. Vivid, mature, beautifully made, extremely well acted, and highly emotional. Rarely a romance story like this translates so well to the screen. Based off the book from Nicholas Sparks. A truly wonderful movie.
July 5, 2016
Really good movie!??
July 5, 2016
Even for a sappy, romantic movie this wasn't very good. I'm mystified by its popularity.
June 17, 2016
Their chemistry is hot. I don't know how a woman could chose between those two men. The movie at points was cheesy, but def good chick flick material. Most guys i know even like this romantic flick!
½ June 10, 2016
Nicholas Sparks needs to stop writing.
June 5, 2016
It's characters are interesting and the acting is superb
May 27, 2016
this is sooo romantic.
May 21, 2016
Very beautiful and sad at the same time.
May 16, 2016
It's intriguing. Why it's a classic? Why everybody loved it? I want answers, NOW.
½ May 11, 2016
Not sure why everyone talks about this one.... it is pretty ordinary.
May 10, 2016
I've heard it's pretty good.
May 8, 2016
Great movie. The tomatometer got this so wrong.
April 27, 2016
A heartfelt tale that proves true love is forever
½ April 25, 2016
Meh, it was very much meh. It has a good cast of actors and there is a chemistry there, but it is too sappy and too poorly paced where it matters the most.
April 22, 2016
Unfortunately for Sparks, not all people have fuzzy feelings towards his collection of books and movies. Many complain that Nicholas Sparks is repetitive, unoriginal, unrealistic, and manipulates emotions. To some degree, these "haters" have a point--Sparks is very formulaic, and he does rely on the whirlwind romances, and his stories are blissful, beautiful, and magical like fairy tales, and they do all end with illness and horror and death. However, there is validity in what these "haters" have to say. Many claim Sparks uses the same formula for all of his tales. He begins all, or almost all of his books and movies, with a whirlwind romance. Everything is blissful and beautiful and magical, and as quickly as the characters hearts are all wrapped up in attaining a fairy tale ending, something bad, usually death or illness, presents itself. The story usually end fairly quickly after one of the main characters die, leaving the readers disappointed and wanting more. This can be rather frustrating for readers and there is truth in what these people have to say. But what if all of Sparks's critics are actually misunderstanding what he is trying to do?

Nicholas Spark's uses a blend of love, heartbreak, and tragedy to create a beautiful and realistic tale of the young couple through his ability to play with neo-sentimentalism.
Page 1 of 29329