The Passion of the Christ - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Passion of the Christ Reviews

Page 1 of 1294
½ April 25, 2017
I now understand christs suffering as i too have been unjustly punished for my beliefs the belief that this could possibly be a good film mel should get 40 lashes for this orginal sin of a film
April 24, 2017
The Passion of the Christ is a revelatory masterpiece, with an inspired performance from Jim Cavizel, and extremely powerful themes. It is a very special film to me.
April 22, 2017
Another masterpiece by one of best film makers of our time this will survive long after we are all gone
April 22, 2017
Very moving, emotional. A must see.
April 15, 2017
Incredible, it captures the essence of the passion, great to watch on holy Friday.
½ April 15, 2017
This film is a must for any Christian. My immediate takeaway is realizing how much Christ suffered for our sins. This is the penultimate statement of this work. Filmed entirely in 3 ancient languages (Aramaic, Latin and Hebrew) and presented in subtitles, it aims to be as authentic as possible.

The ratings are in from the group-think squad of "professional" movie critics - such poor ratings is a travesty that indicates either how left-leaning the industry is, or how sheepishly unwilling to be independent they are. Or both.

This is as honest and brutal a portrayal of Jesus' final day as described by the 4 gospels as one can see. Made on only a $30M budget, it has become the biggest box office draw for a non-English film of all time. Although there are some artistic liberties, such as those involving the devil and demons, most of the script is loyal to the source material.

Surprisingly, the film abruptly ends with a very short scene of the Resurrection. Only short scenes are interjected as flashbacks, with the whole of the film focused on Jesus' suffering during the Passion.

I can understand how some may criticise that this film is anti-Semitic, however, it is loyal to the New Testament and the fact that Jesus was a threat to the Pharisees and Jewish high priests who condemned Him to death. Although the Romans carried out the dirty work, their aim was to quell uprising and maintain order in a province of Rome.

This is a difficult film to watch, and somewhat long at 127 minutes, but important for all Christians to watch especially at Easter time.
April 15, 2017
Is it possible to live in a world that wants to condemn you? That is the ultimate answer to a powerful question in 'The Passion of the Christ'. What starts off with the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus, you become a witness to his arrest by roman soldiers. He then is brought to trial before Pontius Pilate for the charge of blasphemy.
April 14, 2017
The first review on RT's sample of critiques of The Passion of the Christ is very telling. Jonathan Rosenbaum of the Chicago Reader says, "If I were a Christian, I'd be appalled to have this primitive and pornographic bloodbath presume to speak for me."

Therein lies the problem. The overwhelming majority of dislike - or more often hatred - of the Passion comes from reviewers who admittedly are not Christians and who find overt expressions of faith to be distasteful. They don't get why Christians believe what they believe, and they clearly don't share Christian viewpoints. So is it possible for non-Christians to objectively review overtly Christian films? I believe it is, but it requires a level of empathy and objectivity that a surprising number of professional journalists struggle to exercise.

In the case of The Passion of the Christ, what Mr. Rosenbaum does not grasp is that for a Christian, the actual passion of Jesus Christ, while being horrific in its nature, is a beautiful thing because it provides the Christian with their salvation. Without Jesus going through the barbaric Roman torture, there would be no foundation for the Christian faith.

So is Mr. Rosenbaum's argument with the movie or with the faith? Or is it with both? The Passion of the Christ, frankly, doesn't go as far in its depiction of the Roman act of crucifixion as it could have gone. For example, the scourging of Christ very likely left much less flesh on his body than the movie showed. And if the actual crucifixion had been accurately shown, Jesus would have been fully naked instead of being left with a meager loincloth. The unadulterated crucifixion would have resulted in an NC-17 rating instead of the movie's eventual R rating.

Whether Mel Gibson is an antisemite or not, those views are not transmitted through this film, as others have opined. The historical record shows that Jews conspired to kill Jesus and that Romans carried out the execution. No one really came off well in the whole affair - not the Jewish religious leaders, not the Roman prefect, not the soldiers who abused him on the way to the cross, not the crowd and not his own disciples. The only hero in the film and in real life is Jesus himself, who in the film - and almost assuredly in real life - was barely recognizable by the time of his death.

Mr. Gibson, in his depiction of one of the worst moments in history, hoped to make a statement of his faith that he hoped others would be able to share. In my opinion, he was enormously successful. Every aspect of The Passion of the Christ is finely crafted, from the performances by its largely unknown cast to the amazing score by John Debney, the picturesque cinematography and the all-too-real makeup (all three of which were nominated for Academy Awards). The result is Gibson's finest work to date, with the possible exception of the recent Hacksaw Ridge (another movie that is both incredibly violent and yet incredibly brimming with faith).

The Passion of the Christ is not an easy film to watch, and for moviegoers wanting some light religious fare to enjoy during Holy Week, perhaps they should choose a less offensive film like The Greatest Story Ever Told. However, for those hoping to get the truest depiction of what Jesus endured on that first Good Friday, there is no finer film available.
April 14, 2017
With The Passion of the Christ Mel Gibson delivers a truly powerful and stunning masterpiece. Jim Caviezel plays as Jesus and he gives an amazing performance. Maia Morgenstern also plays a captivating Mary. When she is on screen I couldn't take my eyes off of her. It felt as if these things were being done to her own child. Though this film is just the story of Easter as everyone knows it, Mel Gibson's visual of it is something to behold
April 14, 2017
An amazing film. Mel Gibson had a very difficult job to do
And he surpassed all expectation.
Brutal parts. Biblically accurate.
I want to watch it every Good Friday, it is very hard to watch
at the end, but it is a part of history.
The Romans were brutal Godless people.
April 12, 2017
Although this film has been highly controversial and been called anti-smectic for its portrayal of the Jews, I think Mel Gibson did a brilliant job making this film and Jim Caviezel gave a fantastic performance as Jesus.
April 9, 2017
As you can tell, The critics rate this movie bad because they don't believe in God (which is their choice). But don't rate the movie poorly because you don't believe. Like conjuring I don't believe in demons that throw people around and kill them but it was an amazing movie.
April 8, 2017
Great depiction of the binle. Although the gruesome events that take place. Showing the torture he had undergone. As a Christian it is hard and hurtful to watch such details. But, this is our history our message in life as we see it. What other ways can we sugarcoat the life of Christ as we all have read it? I give Mel G a great review of this movie and cannot wait for the next one.
April 6, 2017
Overdramatic, excessively violent, and questionably accurate, but "Passion" attempts at portraying the last days of Christ's life in a way we haven't seen since Martin Scorsese's "The Last Temptation Of Christ."
½ March 28, 2017
Good production values can't make up for one of the most boring movies ever made. Might have worked if it was cut down to half an hour and only was the last part of the movie... not the entire movie.
March 24, 2017
Although I think it's actually a great movie in technical form, "The Passion" is not a movie you enjoy watching it, nor reflections on the death of Jesus Christ as Mel Gibson says it was his goal, but in moments, Makes you look away and wonder why you are not seeing anything else instead of two hours of how a guy is tortured by the worst ways for apparently not having committed such a serious crime (proving Gibson's little knowledge or documentation about the Roman law. Bravo, Mel)
Gibson had the elements to give us an excellent movie of the passion of Jesus but gave us a gore show that does not make us think about the sacrifice of Jesus, but to have pity for Jesus.
March 20, 2017
Gibson's got a fetish, he likes bondage in a bad way. More than that, he's like that character from 'DaVinci Code' who keeps whipping himself, only... Gibson whips himself whilst masturbating over images of the crucified Christ. WHO THE HELL GIVES GIBSON MONEY TO MAKE FILMS!!!??
February 21, 2017
It's telling that most of the negative reviews are submitted by people who aren't Christians, or who are unfamiliar with the story. Graphic elements in the film are there because that's precisely how it occurred. While not 100% accurate and relying at times on other sources than the Bible, The Passion of the Christ is an honest and mostly factual account of the Lord's final 12 hours. Amazing and important film. For those put-off by the 'gore', imagine living through that instead of just watching it in a movie.
February 9, 2017
i shouldn't make fun of this movie because it's a movie about the Death of Jesus.... BUT THIS MOVIE WAS SO HORRENDOUS! It's just torture Violence and Nothing else
February 7, 2017
This is a classic biblical movie. It was depressing and a gore fest, but then again, so was the actual death of Jesus. I love how it starts with him deep in prayer in the Garden. The only flaw I can find is the fact that it WAS in a different language, so we did have to read the subtitles to understand it. But everything else about it, to me, makes it the best representation of the actual day of his death.
Page 1 of 1294