The Passion of the Christ - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Passion of the Christ Reviews

Page 1 of 1294
September 16, 2017
One of the great Christian movies of all time
September 5, 2017
GOD IS MY GUIDE,,,EDUCATION IS MY LIFE...
½ August 20, 2017
The Passion of the Christ is a film about faith but also about atheism. Presented before the public with an austere montage, sometimes naive (the parallel montage like the fall of Jesus the infant and later with the cross almost insult us), which tries to show us the death and the life of Jesus in a manner so intimate that we feel unconfortable to witness a torture which appears overlong in an absurd manner. We don't know if everything that appears before our eyes is the truth but we belive it.
½ July 23, 2017
A brutal and graphic depiction of the last few hours of Jesus. It's refreshing for how blunt and realistically things are portrayed. It also really hits home the idea of the suffering this man went through, yet still "sacrifices himself for mankind".
½ July 19, 2017
To quote the great late Roger Ebert in his review for North, my feelings on this particular "film":

"I hated this movie. Hated hated hated hated hated this movie. Hated it. Hated every simpering stupid vacant audience-insulting moment of it. Hated the sensibility that thought anyone would like it. Hated the implied insult to the audience by its belief that anyone would be entertained by it."

I am a huge believer in Christ, but this film was pretentious and very hard to sit through. Rather than focusing on Jesus' message in life, Mel Gibson thought it would be better to focus on an insanely exaggerated look at the condemnation and death of our lord and savior. As a result, the movie is nothing but 2 hours of Jesus being brutally whipped, mocked and crucified.

I wouldn't even recommend this to my own worst enemies.
½ July 7, 2017
I wouldn't classify this as a movie
June 26, 2017
I think the critics are biased, but I suppose so am I. Mel Gibson's The Passion is the story of Jesus' life. Whether or not you buy who He claimed to be, anyone who would endure the punishment He did bares hearing their case. As a Christian, this film brought the crucifixion, death, and resurrection of Jesus to life in such a vivid way, I doubt it will be matched by anyone any time soon. Mel Gibson never sugar-coats the realities of torture and war, as we all know. I would highly recommend this for any teens on up and encourage you to watch the film.
June 25, 2017
Excelent movie. The very details are very truthful to what the real story of the death of Christ is. The one detail that the the movie has which is not supported by the historians and by the Bible is the cross, Jesus did not died on a cross but on a vertical pole of wood. The rest is very accurate in aspects of history, human feelings and spiritual endeavors. Of course is not a movie for children, but it can help the adults to appreciate more the sacrifice of Jesus Christ.
May 14, 2017
Although I think it's actually a great movie in technical form, "The Passion" is not a movie you enjoy watching it, nor reflections on the death of Jesus Christ as Mel Gibson says it was his goal, but in moments, Makes you look away and wonder why you are not seeing anything else instead of two hours of how a guy is tortured by the worst ways for apparently not having committed such a serious crime
Gibson had the elements to give us an excellent movie of the passion of Jesus but gave us a gore show that does not make us think about the sacrifice of Jesus, but to have pity for Jesus.
May 3, 2017
To me this is the greatest movie ever made, but because of it's religious consepts a lot of people are very critical of this film. But the reason I love this film is not because I am a christian, it is extremely well made, and the acting from the whole cast is amazing. I would give it ten stars if I could.
April 29, 2017
It is just one long piece of torture porn. I would love to see a spin off film about what Barabbas got up to on his release. Gibson shows how good of a director he is but this is for religious nuts only. In summary you know the ending going in, the devil is a snakey cunt, the Roman's were nasty, sadistic fuckers and that climax does draw up visions of Monty Phyton.
½ April 25, 2017
I now understand christs suffering as i too have been unjustly punished for my beliefs the belief that this could possibly be a good film mel should get 40 lashes for this orginal sin of a film
April 24, 2017
The Passion of the Christ is a revelatory masterpiece, with an inspired performance from Jim Cavizel, and extremely powerful themes. It is a very special film to me.
April 22, 2017
Another masterpiece by one of best film makers of our time this will survive long after we are all gone
April 22, 2017
Very moving, emotional. A must see.
April 15, 2017
Incredible, it captures the essence of the passion, great to watch on holy Friday.
½ April 15, 2017
This film is a must for any Christian. My immediate takeaway is realizing how much Christ suffered for our sins. This is the penultimate statement of this work. Filmed entirely in 3 ancient languages (Aramaic, Latin and Hebrew) and presented in subtitles, it aims to be as authentic as possible.

The ratings are in from the group-think squad of "professional" movie critics - such poor ratings is a travesty that indicates either how left-leaning the industry is, or how sheepishly unwilling to be independent they are. Or both.

This is as honest and brutal a portrayal of Jesus' final day as described by the 4 gospels as one can see. Made on only a $30M budget, it has become the biggest box office draw for a non-English film of all time. Although there are some artistic liberties, such as those involving the devil and demons, most of the script is loyal to the source material.

Surprisingly, the film abruptly ends with a very short scene of the Resurrection. Only short scenes are interjected as flashbacks, with the whole of the film focused on Jesus' suffering during the Passion.

I can understand how some may criticise that this film is anti-Semitic, however, it is loyal to the New Testament and the fact that Jesus was a threat to the Pharisees and Jewish high priests who condemned Him to death. Although the Romans carried out the dirty work, their aim was to quell uprising and maintain order in a province of Rome.

This is a difficult film to watch, and somewhat long at 127 minutes, but important for all Christians to watch especially at Easter time.
April 15, 2017
Is it possible to live in a world that wants to condemn you? That is the ultimate answer to a powerful question in 'The Passion of the Christ'. What starts off with the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus, you become a witness to his arrest by roman soldiers. He then is brought to trial before Pontius Pilate for the charge of blasphemy.
April 14, 2017
The first review on RT's sample of critiques of The Passion of the Christ is very telling. Jonathan Rosenbaum of the Chicago Reader says, "If I were a Christian, I'd be appalled to have this primitive and pornographic bloodbath presume to speak for me."

Therein lies the problem. The overwhelming majority of dislike - or more often hatred - of the Passion comes from reviewers who admittedly are not Christians and who find overt expressions of faith to be distasteful. They don't get why Christians believe what they believe, and they clearly don't share Christian viewpoints. So is it possible for non-Christians to objectively review overtly Christian films? I believe it is, but it requires a level of empathy and objectivity that a surprising number of professional journalists struggle to exercise.

In the case of The Passion of the Christ, what Mr. Rosenbaum does not grasp is that for a Christian, the actual passion of Jesus Christ, while being horrific in its nature, is a beautiful thing because it provides the Christian with their salvation. Without Jesus going through the barbaric Roman torture, there would be no foundation for the Christian faith.

So is Mr. Rosenbaum's argument with the movie or with the faith? Or is it with both? The Passion of the Christ, frankly, doesn't go as far in its depiction of the Roman act of crucifixion as it could have gone. For example, the scourging of Christ very likely left much less flesh on his body than the movie showed. And if the actual crucifixion had been accurately shown, Jesus would have been fully naked instead of being left with a meager loincloth. The unadulterated crucifixion would have resulted in an NC-17 rating instead of the movie's eventual R rating.

Whether Mel Gibson is an antisemite or not, those views are not transmitted through this film, as others have opined. The historical record shows that Jews conspired to kill Jesus and that Romans carried out the execution. No one really came off well in the whole affair - not the Jewish religious leaders, not the Roman prefect, not the soldiers who abused him on the way to the cross, not the crowd and not his own disciples. The only hero in the film and in real life is Jesus himself, who in the film - and almost assuredly in real life - was barely recognizable by the time of his death.

Mr. Gibson, in his depiction of one of the worst moments in history, hoped to make a statement of his faith that he hoped others would be able to share. In my opinion, he was enormously successful. Every aspect of The Passion of the Christ is finely crafted, from the performances by its largely unknown cast to the amazing score by John Debney, the picturesque cinematography and the all-too-real makeup (all three of which were nominated for Academy Awards). The result is Gibson's finest work to date, with the possible exception of the recent Hacksaw Ridge (another movie that is both incredibly violent and yet incredibly brimming with faith).

The Passion of the Christ is not an easy film to watch, and for moviegoers wanting some light religious fare to enjoy during Holy Week, perhaps they should choose a less offensive film like The Greatest Story Ever Told. However, for those hoping to get the truest depiction of what Jesus endured on that first Good Friday, there is no finer film available.
April 14, 2017
With The Passion of the Christ Mel Gibson delivers a truly powerful and stunning masterpiece. Jim Caviezel plays as Jesus and he gives an amazing performance. Maia Morgenstern also plays a captivating Mary. When she is on screen I couldn't take my eyes off of her. It felt as if these things were being done to her own child. Though this film is just the story of Easter as everyone knows it, Mel Gibson's visual of it is something to behold
Page 1 of 1294