The Phantom of the Opera - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Phantom of the Opera Reviews

Page 1 of 1416
January 10, 2017
Absolutely loved this movie. Stupid critics.
December 1, 2016
A play turned movie, this musical drama captures the life of a play write living under an opera house as he falls in love with one of the dancers and tries to make her the lead singer in the opera. He is the man who taught her to sing though she has never seen him and thinks that he is the angel sent by her dead father to help her. All the while, she is falling in love with her reunited childhood friend. The phantom comes out of the shadows to fight for her love and is hunted because he is different, a monster. The score is wonderful and takes you on a journey with the characters. If you like a good love story full of suspense, set to music, then this is the movie for you.
November 18, 2016
Technically impressive, but doesn't hold a candle to its source material.
November 15, 2016
This is one of my favorite movies! My husband and I love watching it together.
November 7, 2016
Really enjoyed this musical look forward to watching it again
October 31, 2016
I don't know why people are putting this down. Emmy Rossum (16 years old) has an incredible voice, and I'm sorry, to all the haters, that Gerard isn't in a freaign' roman soldier costume, but that man's voice is beautiful and his acting is superb!! This movie is awesome!!
October 24, 2016
Beautiful scenes and beautiful music. Gerard Butler nails it.
October 11, 2016
Though impressive to the eye and having a astounding soundtrack, it lacks the one thing that the original so great: The Phantom himself
½ October 8, 2016
So poorly made. I ridicule anyone who says this is a good tribute to the epic broadway show.
September 27, 2016
Great movie adaptation of the musical.
September 25, 2016
Fantastic story of a lonely deformed man who lives under the paris opera house who teaches a wanna be opera singer.The low rating is disgraceful and ask everyone to ignore that. This was a beautiful musical with two great voices, Gerard Butler was a fantastic Phantom mainly at the acting roles, you really do feel his emotion. Favourite musical ever.
½ September 19, 2016
Spectacle yes. However, the movie itself was slow and plodding and Gerard Butler should stick to more action-oriented roles. I liked Minnie Driver's performance. Strange ending.
August 31, 2016
Really interesting singing, costumes, and a great performance from Gerard Butler!
August 27, 2016
It may not be the musical, but it is still amazing to watch on the big screen.
½ August 14, 2016
Quite enjoyable. Fantastic acting and singing by the 3 leads! Emmy's voice!!!
August 6, 2016
Effort shines through, but this is a very boring film.
August 4, 2016
An interesting rendition of Andrew Lloyd Weber's masterpiece, with stellar cinematography and set design that unfortunately was at times overshadowed by strange plot choices and lackluster performances.
½ July 19, 2016
Schumacher did the best he could with the thankless job of adapting Lloyd Webber's legendary musical. His only mis-step was casting Gerard Butler as the Phantom... which unfortunately is a pretty huge mis-step considering Butler's voice (or lack of).
July 18, 2016
Featuring a musically inexperienced and somewhat unrecognizable cast; at first i assumed the worst for this version of The Phantom of the Opera though i was pleasantly surprised. The critic reviews have been overwhelmingly negative many noting how Butler has little experience singing and suggesting that his performance left a lot to be desired, i, in fact, would argue that a combination of the pitch correction and the raw emotion that Butler portrays while singing make for a thoroughly enjoyable experience which challenges many other incarnations of the Phantoms character.

whilst many Critics have suggested that the film is lackluster when compared to the on-stage musical performance, i believe that this comparison is inherently flawed as comparing two different mediums isn't necessarily fair as both will have certain advantages and disadvantages in the fields of portraying themes and utilization of dramatic techniques. From this point i would challenge you to find a superior film adaptation of Webbers' musical.

Notably well-choreographed scenes such as the masquerade scene create a genuine atmosphere as if the silver screen was a stage in front of you. Despite this, many scenes can come of over-done and somewhat comical, for example the Phantom descending the stairs in-step with the background music during the "Why so silent" sequence and even the grand face-reveal which is supposed to be one of the, if not THE key scene in the musical. This comical appearance really was the key theme which ruined the viewing for me which is a shame as i enjoyed much of the film which man other reviewers did not.

When i take all these factors into account i would give the movie an overall rating of 4/10, which would constitute a negative rating, though it is worth mentioning that overall i did enjoy the film and would recommend watching it and forming your own opinions based on the different features and drawbacks of the movie.
½ June 17, 2016
Beautiful performances by Emmy and Madam Giry, yet Butler did not reach the full Phantom potential
Page 1 of 1416