Piranha 3-D - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Piranha 3-D Reviews

Page 1 of 346
January 1, 2018
Piranha 3D is directed by Alexandre Aja, and it stars Elizabeth Shue, Adam Scott, Jerry O'Connell, and Ving Rhames in a horror comedy about a seismic activity that allowed access to thousands of piranhas of a specific species that haven't been alive for millions of years, and knowing that they are vicious that'll eat anything that moves, the sheriffs want to close the lake because of the piranhas, but the people in aren't listening and get to the lake, where a lot of them get attacked by them. This was one of the lost that I downloaded from Netflix, and I downloaded wanted to watch this because I've seen this before and remember liking it based on the piranha aspect. So when watching this again, I can definitely say that I really like it, even though it's not fantastic. The acting is good, although nothing special except for Christopher Lloyd because it's Christopher Lloyd in a piranha horror film. I was interested in the piranha aspect of where it come from, and what the characters are dealing with before it's too late. It shows the terror of not being safe in the lake from thousands of piranhas eating people away, and it can be terrifying to watch if you were in that situation and can't find a way to get to the shore. The humor is good at some points, and it has a balance of taking itself seriously and being campy based on what the trailer gave us. The gore practical effects look amazingly gross to look at, and the computer effects of the piranhas look really good, although the computer effects on the gore can look cheesy at times, which I'm not sure if that's what they were going for there. The score by Michael Wandmacher has some catchy tunes that fit the party aspect, and the writing by Pete Goldfinger and Josh Stolberg seem to understand how to have fun here, which I was starting to see how they did well with Jigsaw. The characters are pretty stocked here, and while I'll give it props that the movie went all out with the gratuitous nudity that shows it's hard R, I was more interested in what's going on with the research of the piranhas instead of a film crew making porn in a boat with naked ladies on a boat. It's not smart, but it wasn't suppose to be, and the way it ended didn't make sense that was going on with the context of the lake and the boat together in the piranha situation. Piranha wasn't trying to be a masterpiece of horror filmmaking, but a fun campy film that shows what would happen if the piranhas of that specific species existed in present day, and I think it did a good job of it, while making its own thing that stand out from the typical kind of horror film that you have seen.
½ November 25, 2017
Dumb horror summer movie starring some random college kids and jerry o conil or whatever his last name is. Just another dumb horror summer movie that people will watch and have a sequel and maybe make a ton of money. I wanted to see this because the idea of killer piranhas are cool, so they persuaded me. But in the end this movie was a cringe carnaval.
½ October 16, 2017
Questo film ha un aspetto davvero inquietante. Il Tomatometer: come è possibile che abbia totalizzato un punteggio così alto?!?
È da non credere che possa essere piaciuto a qualcuno. Anzi, fa più paura questo aspetto dell'intero film, che si dimostra di essere quasi comico nelle scelte del regista e dello sceneggiatore.
Merita senza ombra di dubbio il premio Fetecchia dell'anno.
Se si pensa che sono stati spesi ben 25 milioni di dollari, ci verrebbe da dire che si poteva far ben altro.
La banalità fatta pellicola: ragazzi mezzi nudi, tette al vento, sangue... insomma, il peggio dei B-movie anni '80.
Il peggio? Una bottiglia di birra che cade sul fondo di un lago e causa un terremoto. Per piacere.
½ October 10, 2017
Over the top bloody violence and nudity for horror fans to be entertained which is pretty much the plot. C+
September 10, 2017
Horribly gory, yet horribly thrilling and an interesting addition to the horror genre. I could do without the whole "pornographic" side of the film, but still okay.
September 8, 2017
same same but with boobies
August 29, 2017
Gets one extra star because of Ving Rhames. Always badass!
August 19, 2017
Doesn't really touch the original, but it is balls-out crazy and fun in a much more comedic way.
½ July 27, 2017
Exactly weekend it is supposed to be and it does not disappoint in any way.
June 26, 2017
Gleefully unapolagetic B-Monster-Movie throwback loaded with blood, guts and gratuitous nudity. The premise is simplistic like most movies of this sort tend to be but its great cast, pacing and excellent mixture of tongue-in cheek humor and legitimate thrills turn what could have been a run-of-the-mill creature feature into one hell of a fun ride. It's cheesy but never to the point of parody and while it threatens to go over the top, it sits at a comfortable medium of ridiculousness.
½ April 20, 2017
If the B in B-movie stands for blood and boobs then Piranha 3D defiantly will satisfy but for those audience member who want more than that will be disappointed.
March 6, 2017
A fun, if unashamedly self-aware B movie that aims squarely at its target audience and hits the bull's-eye.

It does feel longer than its 88 minutes though and the quality of the 3D varies a lot and is mostly an irrelevance.

The right audience will have a blast with this and although I'm not really that audience, I admit it does manage to hold your attention and has a very "Jaws 3D" feel about it.
½ March 4, 2017
Saying "Piranha 3D" is over the top would be an understatement. Fortunately, it is a good time for how low-brow it truly is.
½ February 25, 2017
The only reason I watched this is because Elisabeth Shue is in it. Her star has apparently fallen. This is B-movie stuff - not bad quality when gauged against other B-movies, but overall it's not worth your time. Bad CGI, really awful blood effects, gore that doesn't always look right. Some better known actors should have known better than to appear in this.
February 12, 2017
This is a remake of a movie of the same name from 1978. I didn't see that version. Apparently they were capitalizing on the "Jaws" phenomenon which came out around the same time, dangerous underwater creatures terrorizing humans, nature biting back you might say. Prehistoric piranhas released during an earthquake from an underwater cave to terrorize people during Spring break. But like the sequels of Jaws this movie wasn't as good as Jaws. Richard Dreyfuss makes a brief guest appearance in this film. Suffice to say it was awful. Even the scenes of scantily clad girls in bikinis didn't make this movie enjoyable to watch. I didn't see this in a theatre so I wasn't able to experience the 3D effects but just as well it wasn't the kind of movie I'd go to see in a theatre.
½ January 18, 2017
Stupid and illogical, weak script and to much predictable to be a great horror movie. The great cast cast and the funny scenes can't help this total disaster.
½ January 16, 2017
Very enjoyable remake. Everything you could ask for in a horror film.
½ January 2, 2017
It's good movie to watch
½ December 22, 2016
horror splatter with many scenes rated R and excellent copy in the original calling it a great remake
½ November 20, 2016
Believe it or not, it's actually a good movie, of course if you can ignore the special effects, who are far beyond terrible. It's an extremely goofy and campy remake of the 1978 Roger Corman movie. If you can ignore it's few flaws, you may just get a few kicks out of this pic, with all the bloodshed and sexy nudity you want. Ving Rhames is in this film, which I liked and even the good old Eli Roth makes an appearance, which I just loved. Recommended !!
Page 1 of 346