Reign Over Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Reign Over Me Reviews

Page 1 of 675
October 2, 2016
Hands down, Adam Sandler's best performance. What a great, moving plot, and who knew Sandler could pull off a role like this? It's a genuine piece of art from the acting to the emotion, and, it's not predictable. The vibe from start to finish will leave you wanting more, love it!
½ September 6, 2016
Nice performances from Adam Sandler and Don Cheadle, but overall unsure of itself and generic
½ August 19, 2016
"Reign Over Me" deals with touching themes with sensitive direction where Adam Sandler showcases a strong dramatic performance with emotional versatility and Don Cheadle's performance is insightful and empathetic.
½ July 21, 2016
Am I the only one who recognized this movie was garbage? Do not let me catch you manipulating me. And this showy film, with an excellent performance by Don Cheadle is lost in a see of tripe.
June 19, 2016
A devastating subject, treated with tact and subtlety, and brought home by stellar performances by all.
May 30, 2016
To remind yourself that Sandler shouldn't be dismissed outright. Like most comic actors, he hits you square in the heart hardest.
April 3, 2016
Thought this movie was going to be alot better than it was. The plot is not that good and Adam Sandler should stick to comedy he is not a very good dramatic actor, Don Cheedle does a good job the material is not good enough to make up for it.
½ March 14, 2016
Not what I'm used to with Sandler and yet that seemed to make it better?!
½ January 9, 2016
Adam Sandler proves yet again (after "Punch Drunk Love") to be able to do much more than two-dimensional fecal humor for braindead masses. The film is a very touching drama with some genuine comedic moment that will make you smile, and leaves you with a sweet ending, which is exactly what it needs to avoid becoming too heavy. It might make you wish that the movie was unrelated to the used and abused 9/11 theme, though, and all the inevitable political conclusions might leave you confused on how to feel about the movie.
December 25, 2015
150917: Purchased DVD from Beaumont Dollar Tree.
December 16, 2015
like punch drunk love, it just comes to show that Adam Sandler know how to be in a drama
November 1, 2015
Everyone needs a good friend for fun, laughs, support and guidance. Great cast portraying with sensitivity a delicate story. You feel the painful struggle of this grieving widow. 9/11 destroyed too many lives.
Robert B.
Super Reviewer
½ October 8, 2015
The script is what brings Reign Over Me down. The acting through each individual scene is fine. The problem is that the story is so mixed up that one never knows what to think or feel, doesn't know where it is going, and feels no resolution at the end. The pieces don't fit together. It could be argued that life is like that. Sure, but the movie is not filmed in such a style. The style leads you to expect something more uplifting (even if it's unrealistic).
October 3, 2015
Why can't Adam Sandler make more movies like this? He's so good I almost forgot I was watching Adam Sandler.
September 15, 2015
A wonderful flick about lost, friendship, family..... fantastic performance by Sandler...
½ July 13, 2015
78%
Saw this on 13/7/15
Reign over me benefits from the well stated performances of Adam Sandler (perhaps his best yet) and Don Cheadle and the three leading ladies are also good considering the limited screen time they are provided with. The film scores when it comes to friendship and loss, however, towards the end, it just embroils in melodrama and a few odd cliches like the obvious pairing of Sandler and Burrows among others. The court room scenes with Donald Sutherland and Sandler's in-laws is totally a waste and reduces the significance of the issue.
July 4, 2015
I though it was depressing but kind of touching in a way too.
June 28, 2015
It would've been nice to see Adam Sandler recreate his character from "Punch-Drunk Love," but his dramatic performance is held down by the overall dullness of the movie.
May 31, 2015
Reign Over Me: "Let in the unexpected." In this very good movie, two former college roommates find each other and begin a powerful journey of finding themselves. Adam Sandler's acting is impressive in this role as a widower who lost his family on 9/11.
Page 1 of 675