Rush - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rush Reviews

Page 1 of 193
½ August 21, 2016
Rush is a truly thrilling and exciting film based on the 1975 formula 1 season. Brühl and Hemsworth do a terrific job of portraying both Lauda and Hunt respectively. A truly epic season deserves a truly epic blockbuster which is what was almost given. The film provides some truly superb race sequences but the general consensus is that this film is lacking something. Maybe the ending was rather rushed - pardon the pun - but it felt as though there was something missing from this film. That doesn't stop the film being a great and brilliant homage to the 1975 season. Overall, its a great and dramatic watch with some excellent representation of the characters themselves. A must see for any racing or non-racing fans.
August 20, 2016
Just amazing. Must see even if not a F1 fan. Great story teling with the strong characters, which make this movie a must see. Five stars out of five.
August 20, 2016
Great movie, blood gushing through out the movie.
August 19, 2016
A great true story. It was better than I thought it was going to be. Another win for Ron Howard!
½ August 17, 2016
Beautiful film, great writing, decent performances
August 15, 2016
Interesting but not as good as all the critics said it was
½ August 12, 2016
This was great! Based on fact and very exciting.
August 10, 2016
Rivalries are born mainly in sports. Some of the great rivalries include Ali and Frazier, Magic vs Bird, Yankees vs red sox's, The rock and stone cold steve Austin, the list goes on and on. One of the great rivalries I never knew about (mainly because I don't watch this sport) was between James Hunt and Niki Lauda in formula one racing. These two were fierce competitors despite being for the most part, polar opposites of each other. Ron Howard beautifully tells the story of these two icons in the racing world.
It's 1970 and the formula one racing world is the battleground for two future legends James Hunt and Niki Lauda. James Hunt is a playboy but one with all the talent in the world. Niki Lauda is a quiet more focus person who knows the workings of a car inside and out and has resources to help him get where he needs to be. Both men however share the love and will to win races. The movie chronicles their battles in the 70's era and of course Lauda's near fatal crash than burned part of his face.
Rush is absolutely incredible. The racing scenes are filmed so intense like. you feel the adrenaline and the rush no pun intended of the races. incredible cinematography so visceral and well shot. the score by hans zimmer is as expected, Phenomenal!!! Ron Howard uses a really unique method of full on telling both sides of their story instead of going from the perspective of someone who witnessed it all or just one side. the writing as well is amazing. I mean these guys couldn't have been more opposities of each other but both had that drive to go hard or go home
Daniel bruhl was excellent as Niki Lauda. Lauda was someone who worked hard but was also smart and found his own way into the higher ranks. He was an asshole but only because he wanted focus and precision with his racing way of life. That same focus really came to his aid after his burn incident. Chris hemsworth was sensational as James Hunt. This is one of the most impressive performances of his career so far. Hunt was a real playboy but had real talent too and surprisingly worked his way up the ladder. But just like any person of this kind they still got hurtles to get passs and he did. Olivia wilde's british accent was spot on. probably one of the best I've heard from an American actress ever. She also did a pretty good job here as well.
The sound design is incredible. you get the real slashing of tires and engine horsepower. the end race is so gripping and you feel the rush no pun intended. this is a pure example of how Ron Howard is one of today's greats next to Spielberg in making epic moments on film. By that point it becomes clear that they both had everything to gain and everything to lose as well. the footage of the real niki and james was a nice add in too
Go check out Rush when you can its hella worth the watch
August 3, 2016
i will give five star for casting, acting, direction and story, although that is a real life story. i wish James Hunt was alive to watch this movie. Good work by Chris but i like Daniel more than anyone. great movie.
½ August 1, 2016
Ron Howard continues to make movies about his passions - however, besides the homage to a great time in motor sports - there is not much else here to care about. Solid performances and cinematography.
½ July 20, 2016
Rush features a riveting story of two racing rivals who put everything on the line to be world champion. The two leads boast tremendous performances and the camerawork was incredible. It truly made the audience feel as we were in the cars with the drivers. I was very pleased with the way this turned out. Rush should not be missed as the experience was exhilarating to say the least
July 18, 2016
A compelling narrative of life with an impeccable direction.
July 17, 2016
Incredible duel, battle between drivers. 2 big personalities, with big hearts, and completely different from each other.
July 4, 2016
Great movie about Fórmula 1 and the Lauda/Hunt rivalry. Good acting, good action scenes, Great movie to watch especially for formula 1 fans :)
July 3, 2016
A sleeper of a movie. Great racing. Brought me back to the Days of Thunder! The racing was intense and great story. Live life.
½ July 2, 2016
71% - The performances of Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Brühl are really convincing and their chemistry is absolutely marvelous. This element is sufficient enough to overcome a pretty conventional biopic that surrounds on the concept of winning and losing.
June 28, 2016
Awesome movie. a must watch for everyone. direction was cut to perfect and all the actors played the characters brilliantly . i was thrilled and was sitting on the edge of my seat for the most part. too good.
June 16, 2016
A fine story with great directing and acting.
June 9, 2016
'Happiness is your biggest enemy. It weakens you.'
Page 1 of 193