Saving Private Ryan - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Saving Private Ryan Reviews

Page 1 of 2167
July 22, 2016
****
This harrowing war drama is both harsh and heartfelt, with a career defining performance from the one and only Tom Hanks. Check it out if you've got the stomach for this kind of thing.
July 22, 2016
One of my favorite movies of all time
½ July 17, 2016
Saving Private Ryan is an unrivalled study of the horrors experienced by the soldiers of WWII. Appropriately harrowing and surprisingly optimistic in equal measure, this is simply the greatest war film ever made.
July 12, 2016
One of the greatest war films ever made. Steven Spielberg is at his peak in this gritty and emotional war story. It's been said numerous times, but the opening scene on Normandy Beach is quite possible the best war scene ever filmed.
July 11, 2016
Great war movie experience!
July 7, 2016
One of my cousins is veeeeery picky with his movies that he likes. A number of films that come out during a particular year he doesn't like but some he does. In figuring out his favorite movie of all time he said Saving Private Ryan. I heard so much about this film from the war action sequences to the acitng to just spielbergs continued growth as a legendary director. And so in the words of the great Harrison Ford in Star wars the force awakens "it's true....All of it." Saving Private Ryan has been officially added to my list of favorite war film as it is second behind platoon but still this movie is incredible.
The always amazing Tom Hanks stars as Captain John Miller who is leading a unit in the middle of World War II. After surving D-Day he gets word that among a group of brothers who died one sole sibling by the name of James Ryan is alive and stuck in a section of Germany. Miller takes his men and sets out to find private ryan. Along the way he see the true comradiere and will to fight and bring back one of their own even if they aren't part of their batillion.
This movie is without a doubt a war classic I mean the first 10 minutes had me hooked. you can feel and smell the adrenaline of the fight in Normandy. unbelievable directing from Spielberg. he really shifts a bit from his usual directing style and delivers in this film. the sound design was just as real too. nice editing and camera work very similar to the birdman revenant style of shooting and cutting scenes together
Tom Hanks and every body in this movie truly were giving it all they had in their performances. Absolutely spectacular! Hanks portrayal of John Miller was incredible. He really was the glue to this slightly disfuctional yet loyal and fierce some group of soldiers. He takes on this mission even though he doesn't know this solider, but that comradiere and brotherhood every solider has acts as his motivation to go forth with this mission and bring this boy home to his mother. Soliders have a duty to protect the country and also look out for each other and leave no one behind. crazy looking at a young vin diesel and paul giamatti in here. matt damon does a really good job here and through the his dialogue kind hints at the real heart of the film one man over several others what do you do? that story
Again I must state how Incredibly realistic this film is! the cinematography is to die for so well shot. You feel so immersed into every location and are with the Soliders every moment its. incredible script from the writers. lastly that final fight was remarkable and so intense!
Saving Private Ryan lives up to its legacy. Anybody who loves Spielberg NEEDS to watch this film!
July 4, 2016
This film is incredible
July 4, 2016
"Earn this." - Capt. Miller
July 3, 2016
Hackneyed hokum interspersed with a kind of fetishistic gore-porn is still just hackneyed hokum. a real missed opportunity to capture something of real historical importance and make it breathe, instead of crafting another blockbuster. thank-you for your disservice, Tom and Steve.
½ June 29, 2016
This is war. This is reality. After I watched this movie, I really don't wish for another world war to happen again.
June 25, 2016
Best war movie i've ever watched. Beautifully shot, completely showcasing Spielberg's genius. Now i understand why it is considered one the biggest Academy snob of all time (i would personally say it is in fact, THE biggest). This could still be released today and win Best Picture.
June 20, 2016
This is genuinely my most favourite film. Having watched it recently (May 2016) I was, rather unsurprisingly, emotionally affected.

The film has a perfect blend of intense action and a unique war-time narrative. I feel though, however, that the smaller stories behind each of the characters really added to their plausibility. The film pulls off character development and action in such a way that you would be forgiven for thinking that this film was a documentary (maybe that is pushing it a bit).

When one talks about Saving Private Ryan, you have to consider the ground-breaking opening D-Day sequence that was so brutal that, at the time of release, real WW2 veterans walked out of the film because it was so similar to how they experienced it.

Spielberg stated that during the pre-production of the film that he wanted the film to not glamourise war, as many films did previously, and it does show (the image of one soldier picking up his own dismembered arm during the opening sequence comes to mind).

Unlike previous films in which the traditional view of Allies good and Axis bad, Saving Private Ryan does not do this; no character is presented in such a way that would show them as wholly good or wholly evil, every character has a purpose or, more specifically, an understandable humanistic goal.

I thoroughly recommend that anyone who even considers watching this film do so because it is easily one of the greatest films ever made. However I would warn you that there are plenty of opportunities to be affected emotionally. Such a film is so good that you will think about it for weeks after watching it. True cinematic perfection.
½ June 16, 2016
Technically brilliant, well-acted but also emotional.
June 7, 2016
Masterpiece. Simple as that
June 4, 2016
One of Tom Hanks best films.
½ May 29, 2016
its funny but not as i ex[ected
May 26, 2016
Riveting, haunting. By capturing the horror of war so perfectly, Spielberg & Co. have made a huge contribution to the cause of peace.
May 26, 2016
Perhaps the best WWII film ever made. Opening D-Day sequence is incredible. Guaranteed to make an impact long after it's over.
May 24, 2016
The best war movie ever.
May 16, 2016
The movie is pretty much a modern classic at this point, but it does have its fair share of pacing and character issues at points. Overall, great film.
Page 1 of 2167