Somewhere - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somewhere Reviews

Page 1 of 95
½ November 24, 2016
Me gusta la delicadeza del cine de Sofia Coppola. Por eso tenía pendiente ver "Somewhere" (2010). La peli se basa en el vínculo entre un actor famoso a nivel mundial (farrero, adinerado) y su hija de 11 años. Eso es, y Coppola construye una película linda con muchas situaciones cotidianas de los personajes. Lo que me parece brillante, porque esas pequeñas cosas son las que nos van alejando o acercando emocionalmente.

Para mi, los mejores directores son aquellos que tu ves su película y dices "esto es muy Juan Pérez". Habla mucho de si el cine tiene marca de autor o no. En ese sentido, "Somewhere" cumple. Tiene largas tomas estáticas: las cosas o las personas se mueven, pero no la cámara. Eso es bien Sofia Coppola, por ejemplo. Me gustó mucho que inicialmente tiene poco diálogo, lo que siempre deja la puerta abierta para la interpretación visual del espectador. Eso me encanta, eso es cine cine po, no llenar todo de diálogos.

También las películas de Coppola generalmente tratan temas de dudas existenciales, de no encajar en un lugar o grupo de personas, etc. Especialmente hablan de la soledad y la incomprensión, temas muy recurrentes en su obra y siempre tratados de forma muy sutil. Me tinca que esta peli tiene algo de autobiográfica tb, me fue imposible no imaginar a la Coppola en situaciones como la de la niñita hija del actor, acompañando por aquí y por allá a Francis Ford Coppola.

Lamentablemente, cuando un artista tiene una trayectoria dilatada es como imposible no caer en comparaciones. En ese sentido, creo que Coppola tocó el cielo con "Lost in translation" (2003), mostrando como la amistad puede originarse de un momento a otro con tanta fuerza como la atracción sexual. "Somewhere" es más críptica, los personajes están más perdidos que en sus pelis anteriores, y es más difícil tomarle la mano a la peli. Igual creo que eso refleja muy bien la realidad de algunos, personas a quienes les es muy difícil expresar sus sentimientos. En ese sentido ésta se siente hasta más real que su obra anterior.

Hay que advertirlo: Si no les gustó la delicadeza de "Lost in translation" (foreva en mi top 3 histórico) ni se acerquen a ésta. Yo rescato su búsqueda de comprensión de la psiquis del ser humano.

Está bien "Somewhere", entiendo a donde apunta Coppola... pero creo que lo ha hecho mejor. Ésta podría ser la mejor película de muchos cineastas, pero no de Sofia Coppola. Es que dejó la vara alta con su obra anterior. 3.5 de 5.
½ September 14, 2016
Sofia Coppola's slice of slow cinema is an exercise in garish exhibitionism - capturing the beauty of LA as our melancholy movie star protagonist moves through it via Ferrari. If Coppola had put an emphasis on the themes she's trying to convey rather than the luxurious lifestyle surrounding her characters, this film would have a pulse, maybe even emotional impact. Sure, money and fame doesn't equal happiness, but I have a difficult time feeling sorry for a character who has all of that and more and whose self-realization occurs in the final moments of the film after the cinematography porn and amounts to absolutely nothing. If you're looking for a story, "Somewhere" goes nowhere. Play Grand Theft Auto V instead.
August 2, 2016
If there's every been a movie that has more of nothing happen in it id like to see.
July 15, 2016
Somewhere is an intriguing piece of film that has too major problems; recycled Sofia Coppola movie scenes and boredom.
July 8, 2016
It is a long and boring movie about about a lone and empty "Hollywood star". The movie is as empty as his life! the 1/2 star is given to Elle Fanning.
June 9, 2016
Glossy and beautiful and affecting. It's genuine.
½ April 2, 2016
Everything that's said is never said.
½ March 25, 2016
Such a peculiar masterpiece about finding yourself and existential ennui. I learn something new about myself every time I watch this trip. Call me, Stephen Dorff. I'll dance all nudie like for you on a pole.
March 15, 2016
Sofia Coppola's elegant taste in telling an insightfully realistic day-in-a-life story of the film industry with artistic merits and beneficially warm father-daughter chemistry of Dorff and Fanning's performances is at the rank of her other masterpiece "Lost in Translation", but slightly less. (A-)

(Full review coming soon)
½ February 6, 2016
Elle Fanning is excellent but she can Not save this movie with no story and a bad script.
January 24, 2016
My least favorite Sofia Coppola film, but it still contains her trademark hypnotic filmmaking magic. Fanning is remarkable.
½ January 12, 2016
A beautiful film about the emptiness of modern life. It's very simple and not too original in its focus on celebrity life, but the direction and feel of the film are unique. Every image, every carefully composed shot has meaning and creates an existential tone poem. The late great Harris Savides, one of the best cinematographers ever, was at the top of his game here. So was Sofia Coppola. And I've never seen a better performance by Stephen Dorff. If you love Antonioni's work or Chantal Akerman's "Jeanne Dielman", which was a huge influence on this film, you might like this, too.
December 13, 2015
Cool Guy. Never got stressed but also not able to tell daughter he loves her
½ December 8, 2015
An interesting and intimate look at a father-daughter relationship as well at the celebrity lifestyle. The film doesn't have to take us anywhere to get us somewhere.
½ December 6, 2015
An interesting and intimate look at a father-daughter relationship as well at the celebrity lifestyle. The film doesn't have to take us anywhere to get us somewhere.
½ November 22, 2015
A film about a movie star who fills his time by entertaining aesthetically pleasing but intellectually challenged females. A visit from his 11 year old daughter seems to put his life into persepective. Quite a slow, sometimes mildly amusing film which didn't really do anything for me but is probably loved in Hollywood.
November 7, 2015
am vazut primele 30 min
Super Reviewer
½ October 22, 2015
Sofia Coppola is such a sensitive and talented director, and she seems to know well what she is talking about here, taking an interesting look at the meaningless life of an actor among empty pastimes and ephemeral pleasures. A delicate film that observes and shows a lot more than it says.
Super Reviewer
½ October 16, 2015
Some nice visuals and seems to be semi-autobiographical, but off putting and emotionally distant. Given that this is a character piece, I should want to spend time with the characters. I don't.
September 24, 2015
This will be one of those movies that I won't be able to remember its name in a few months or really that I ever watched it. Dorff and the little girl from "Super 8" both play their roles perfectly and I can imagine this is a lot of what celebrity is all about...Ferraris, hot sluts getting naked all the time throwing themselves at you, and traveling the world. It's a pretty good movie but not one you'd really watch more than once.
Page 1 of 95