Somewhere - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somewhere Reviews

Page 1 of 95
½ November 20, 2017
Somewhere is directed and written by Sofia Coppola, and it stars Stephen Dorff and Elle Fanning in a drama film about a well known actor that is very lonely and not really having an interesting life going on outside his acting career, and his daughter unexpectedly comes to stay with him for a while as her mother went off somewhere. Before watching this film, I didn't really know much about the film except who's in it and who directed this, same with her previous film Marie Antoinette. So I wasn't expecting this film to be character-driven drama, which is the same kind of genre style as Lost in Translation, and I love those kind of genres. So as her fourth film, Somewhere is a really great one that was a surprise to me. Stephen Dorff is very solid in this as you have to see in his face that his character is not happy in what his life is right now, and just like Sofia Coppola's previous films, you can see the characterization from just the actor's expression and actions of what he's supposed to be portrayed as. Even as a very young actress, Elle Fanning is very convincing as a young child that doesn't have to be an emotional one unless when needed, and it was very natural in the way she acted that I didn't realize after watching it that a lot of the dialogue was improvised to get genuine reactions from her, in which I'm glad it went that route. I don't know why people didn't sympathize with the main character as I really felt sorry for him as he's has all the success and ladies that he can, but still doesn't feel happy throughout that shows that having money and tons of girls doesn't give you the happy life that you wanted when becoming successful. I was also surprised to see how some of the cinematography really felt experimental in how it just lingers on the scene for a long time, and I thought it was well done that really shows the loneliness of Stephen Dorff's character. I thought the movie is better paced than Marie Antoinette despite the fact that there's less plot in this than the other film, and the writing by Sofia Coppola was really interesting that brings out conversations between Dorff and Fanning together that felt human, sweet, and it brings out the life from Dorff's character that make it seem like he's having a better time with his daughter than he does with his own self. The only issue that I noticed in this film, is that it does feel similar to Lost in Translation and Marie Antoinette in terms of themes in plot and characterization, but I still feel like it was a different film that I was watching from Sofia Coppola's previous filmography, and it was well done in this also. Somewhere is a very relaxing film that seems like when Sofia Coppola makes movies from her very own materials, they are very special films, in my opinion, that shows her distinct style that stands her out except for A Very Murray Christmas that's really different, and is not quite as great as her other films. When she makes movies from source materials, she puts a lot of effort to make them entertaining as films, even if they're not quite as special, which makes me wonder about what she'll do about The Bling Ring.
November 5, 2017
Glossy and beautiful and affecting. It's genuine.
July 24, 2017
Coppola's film looks beautiful. The cinematography and aesthetic as in all her films looks terrific and the performances from both Dorf and Fanning are equally as good. The chemistry is beautifully caught and really felt throughout. It's the long instances of silence and concentration on character and situations of loneliness and fame that really connect and engage with its audience. The idea of becoming happier and complete with either money and/or girls to fill an empty hole has never been more devastating.
½ April 29, 2017
Movie about an aging Hollywood star. This is similar to Coppola's 'Lost in Translation' but doesn't have Bill Murray so many people don't like it. Me personally I loved it a lot more myself. Not much of a story but entertaining.
January 28, 2017
Sofia Coppola writes and directs this slow-moving drama that feels about four hours long but doesn't even hit the two hour mark. I'm sorry but this film didn't really work for me. I just couldn't connect to the characters or situations, certainly not in the same way that I connected to "Lost in Translation." There are definitely touches of that film in here, where it is kind of slow, slightly comedic, and with a touch of a person getting confused by the happenings around him due to the language barrier. The film took far too long to get going, having to endure a guy driving in circles in a flat shot, sipping a beer for a couple minutes, and watching an entire stripper act TWICE before things actually get going. The film is really about this actor in an existential crisis who must learn to deal with his daughter after having her forced upon him when his ex-wife drops her off and leaves for a bit. I want to like Sofia Coppola, but I feel like her father she is coasting a bit on the success of her early work.
½ November 24, 2016
Me gusta la delicadeza del cine de Sofia Coppola. Por eso tenía pendiente ver "Somewhere" (2010). La peli se basa en el vínculo entre un actor famoso a nivel mundial (farrero, adinerado) y su hija de 11 años. Eso es, y Coppola construye una película linda con muchas situaciones cotidianas de los personajes. Lo que me parece brillante, porque esas pequeñas cosas son las que nos van alejando o acercando emocionalmente.

Para mi, los mejores directores son aquellos que tu ves su película y dices "esto es muy Juan Pérez". Habla mucho de si el cine tiene marca de autor o no. En ese sentido, "Somewhere" cumple. Tiene largas tomas estáticas: las cosas o las personas se mueven, pero no la cámara. Eso es bien Sofia Coppola, por ejemplo. Me gustó mucho que inicialmente tiene poco diálogo, lo que siempre deja la puerta abierta para la interpretación visual del espectador. Eso me encanta, eso es cine cine po, no llenar todo de diálogos.

También las películas de Coppola generalmente tratan temas de dudas existenciales, de no encajar en un lugar o grupo de personas, etc. Especialmente hablan de la soledad y la incomprensión, temas muy recurrentes en su obra y siempre tratados de forma muy sutil. Me tinca que esta peli tiene algo de autobiográfica tb, me fue imposible no imaginar a la Coppola en situaciones como la de la niñita hija del actor, acompañando por aquí y por allá a Francis Ford Coppola.

Lamentablemente, cuando un artista tiene una trayectoria dilatada es como imposible no caer en comparaciones. En ese sentido, creo que Coppola tocó el cielo con "Lost in translation" (2003), mostrando como la amistad puede originarse de un momento a otro con tanta fuerza como la atracción sexual. "Somewhere" es más críptica, los personajes están más perdidos que en sus pelis anteriores, y es más difícil tomarle la mano a la peli. Igual creo que eso refleja muy bien la realidad de algunos, personas a quienes les es muy difícil expresar sus sentimientos. En ese sentido ésta se siente hasta más real que su obra anterior.

Hay que advertirlo: Si no les gustó la delicadeza de "Lost in translation" (foreva en mi top 3 histórico) ni se acerquen a ésta. Yo rescato su búsqueda de comprensión de la psiquis del ser humano.

Está bien "Somewhere", entiendo a donde apunta Coppola... pero creo que lo ha hecho mejor. Ésta podría ser la mejor película de muchos cineastas, pero no de Sofia Coppola. Es que dejó la vara alta con su obra anterior. 3.5 de 5.
½ September 14, 2016
Sofia Coppola's slice of slow cinema is an exercise in garish exhibitionism - capturing the beauty of LA as our melancholy movie star protagonist moves through it via Ferrari. If Coppola had put an emphasis on the themes she's trying to convey rather than the luxurious lifestyle surrounding her characters, this film would have a pulse, maybe even emotional impact. Sure, money and fame doesn't equal happiness, but I have a difficult time feeling sorry for a character who has all of that and more and whose self-realization occurs in the final moments of the film after the cinematography porn and amounts to absolutely nothing. If you're looking for a story, "Somewhere" goes nowhere. Play Grand Theft Auto V instead.
August 2, 2016
If there's every been a movie that has more of nothing happen in it id like to see.
July 15, 2016
Somewhere is an intriguing piece of film that has too major problems; recycled Sofia Coppola movie scenes and boredom.
July 8, 2016
It is a long and boring movie about about a lone and empty "Hollywood star". The movie is as empty as his life! the 1/2 star is given to Elle Fanning.
½ April 2, 2016
Everything that's said is never said.
½ March 25, 2016
Such a peculiar masterpiece about finding yourself and existential ennui. I learn something new about myself every time I watch this trip. Call me, Stephen Dorff. I'll dance all nudie like for you on a pole.
March 15, 2016
Sofia Coppola's elegant taste in telling an insightfully realistic day-in-a-life story of the film industry with artistic merits and beneficially warm father-daughter chemistry of Dorff and Fanning's performances is at the rank of her other masterpiece "Lost in Translation", but slightly less. (A-)

(Full review coming soon)
½ February 6, 2016
Elle Fanning is excellent but she can Not save this movie with no story and a bad script.
January 24, 2016
My least favorite Sofia Coppola film, but it still contains her trademark hypnotic filmmaking magic. Fanning is remarkable.
½ January 12, 2016
A beautiful film about the emptiness of modern life. It's very simple and not too original in its focus on celebrity life, but the direction and feel of the film are unique. Every image, every carefully composed shot has meaning and creates an existential tone poem. The late great Harris Savides, one of the best cinematographers ever, was at the top of his game here. So was Sofia Coppola. And I've never seen a better performance by Stephen Dorff. If you love Antonioni's work or Chantal Akerman's "Jeanne Dielman", which was a huge influence on this film, you might like this, too.
December 13, 2015
Cool Guy. Never got stressed but also not able to tell daughter he loves her
½ December 8, 2015
An interesting and intimate look at a father-daughter relationship as well at the celebrity lifestyle. The film doesn't have to take us anywhere to get us somewhere.
½ December 6, 2015
An interesting and intimate look at a father-daughter relationship as well at the celebrity lifestyle. The film doesn't have to take us anywhere to get us somewhere.
½ November 22, 2015
A film about a movie star who fills his time by entertaining aesthetically pleasing but intellectually challenged females. A visit from his 11 year old daughter seems to put his life into persepective. Quite a slow, sometimes mildly amusing film which didn't really do anything for me but is probably loved in Hollywood.
Page 1 of 95