Stand Up Guys - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stand Up Guys Reviews

Page 1 of 43
April 19, 2018
This movie was not only funny and interesting. Both actors Christopher W.and Al Pachino was hilariously funny. I'm disappointed that I haven't watch this movie a lot sooner. The only grip that I have with this movie was of course the ending..... I would love to know the absolute ending. You can only imagine what was the outcome of dog and his bff.
December 20, 2017
This movie has been treated too harshly so far. It has great actors doing a really good job, some very funny moments and lines as well as a pretty good story. This movie made me feel comfortable and happy, maybe in part because of the nature of the characters that are not simple mobs, but men of wit, whom above all know what life is about. Pacino, Walken and Arkin create a great atmosphere with performances that are certainly rare for them in the recent years. It's not only an inner comeback of the characters they play, but their own proof that their "pipes are still working". So, if you're in search of an easy, funny and well-acted gangster movie, I think this is what you're looking for.
Hope you'll share my point!
July 9, 2017
Reading these in adequate reviews only pointed out to me that you need to have accumulated sufficient decades of life to appreciate the nuances that constantly pass unnoticed in this gem of a movie. Sometimes, as here, minimal direction allows for little significant bursts of honest interaction that betray the layers of true human lives.
½ July 5, 2017
Worst movie I have ever seen, the whole time I was watching this film I couldnt wait till it finished. The acting is terrible and there is no main story to the movie. If you have never seen this movie before and you are thinking about watching it I suggest you dont waste your time because you wont get it back.
March 24, 2017
I am the kind of person who likes structured movies where all the cinematic elements come together. "Stand up Guys" is not one of those movies but I enjoyed it even more because of that. There is only one word to describe this movie: FUN.
It is one of those movies that doesn't require much thinking about the plot or what is going on, it simply wants the viewer to enjoy each scene by itself and enjoy the great performances by three amazing actors.
In this movie the plot is not important. The sole purpose here is to watch three of the best actors of a generation have fun at their jobs. The acting by all Pacino, Walken and Arkin is simply so amazing that the plot is just there to have an ending to the movie although I personally did not want it to end.
While I like to analyze and evaluate movies in detail there is simply not more to say to this picture than enjoy! Enjoy every minute because it will be over in a flash.
In conclusion we can say that this movie is simply about the art of acting and having fun and three great actors showing off their talent.
½ February 24, 2017
Garbage al pacino movie.
January 12, 2017
This is probably best enjoyed by people who are as old as the main stars. However, it's still a hell of a good time. Yes, the film's tone is very uneven, going from two guys getting into a funny argument over who's going to give a girl their pants to two guys abusing and berating some bad guys who kind of deserve it. Yes, Alan Arkin doesn't get enough screen time. However, it doesn't try to be as slick as goodfellas or the departed or as funny as a Judd Apatow movie. It's just a fast, fun thrill ride with 3 great older actors. This is by no means a must see movie, but I really recommend it if you want something that doesn't take itself seriously.
January 10, 2017
i like this movie. not great but good.
½ December 11, 2016
underrated movie worth a watch more comedy and heart then action
½ December 2, 2016
You have to be a Pacino and Walken fan to enjoy this movie it does start out slow, and then picks up just stick with it if you are a fan.
½ August 13, 2016
Good actors, not well acted.
½ August 3, 2016
Three of the most accomplished actors of our lifetimes cast in a gangster comedy, so it's going to be fabulous, right? Sadly, no. It's not. Walken sleepwalks his way through his role and he's the best of the bunch. Pacino is over the top and his character is just embarrassing. Alan Arkin, one of the best albeit underrated actors of our generation, is completely wasted here. Base sitcom/fratboy humor and a slow plodding pace. I had to turn it off halfway through in order to preserve my respect for these fine actors. It's too bad they spent what's left of their careers appearing in this load of tripe.
½ April 19, 2016
I really liked this movie. Funny and moving.
Super Reviewer
½ January 28, 2016
A coupla guys who've seen a mob movie or two return to the form one more time in this sort of bucket list for mob guys movie. And what do mob guys want at the end of the road? One more job together again, natcherly. Pacino, Walkin & Arkin are old hands at this, and so raise what might've been a banal and cheesy offering to sort of a cool night at the bowling alley with some oldtimers. Some classy oldtimers. Take a selfie with them.
½ January 5, 2016
Supposedly this is a comedy. A claim that I would dispute from the off, to be honest I'm not entirely sure what it is, it certainly isn't a comedy and it's certainly not an action comedy (despite what the trailer would have you believe). It's sort of a "not really anything". And that's the problem, if the people making the film have no idea what they are making, how are we supposed to know?

It is a slow, plodding and almost painfully dull film. My wife fell asleep, how I didn't is still a mystery. The film consists of actors sat around talking for the most part. When they are not talking they are either involved in embarrassing scenes (e.g. the sight of the once great Al Pacino spending a third of the film with a "comedy" erection because he has downed a handful of Viagra), or quite ridiculous plot lines inserted as the writer was obviously several pages short of a full script (I mean seriously, what are the chances of stealing a car, only to find a woman tied up in the trunk who has just been abducted, hence giving your characters something to do for the next twenty minutes as they seek some sort of vigilante justice)

Al Pacino's character manages to make almost impossible deductions which would make Derren Brown proud. Which begs the question, if he is so bloody clever how come he ended up in prison in the first place? The isn't really an ending to the film so you don't even get the pay off of finding out what happens in the end, and the whole thing is just a waste of time. I could go on, but there is no point, the only thing you need to know is:-

It's shit, not just normal shit but proper shit, Star Wars Holiday Special level of shit.
December 13, 2015
Nice comforting comedy for old gits
November 12, 2015
ignore the bad reviews. Walken and Pacino are definitely worth watching
½ September 10, 2015
It hasn't got the best direction or most plausible plot - and Pacino is enjoying himself a little too much - but this is still laugh-out-loud funny in places, and Walken and Arkin are terrific. It's a sort of Last of the Summer Wine for gangsters.
½ September 10, 2015
watched and im gonna harsh to Rotton Tomatoes critics .. because this movie is a gem .. one of the best jobs chris walken has done in a very long time.. and he does it all with just his stares and soft responses to everything that goes on .. alan arkin is awesome as always and pacino is just as good as anything else he's done . i like his character.. somewhere between carlito's way and scent of a woman .. with a real nice ending .. sorry dudes this film u took urselves way too seriously .. its just a fun fun fun flick with a nice touch for the ending.. .... have a drink and move on..
½ August 30, 2015
This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen, I have never seen such a misguided film in my life, what a complete waste of time. Al Paciano gives the most pathetic performance of his career, this movie felt like it wanted to be Cheech and Chong meets The Godfather, completely unwatchable.
Page 1 of 43