Stand Up Guys - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stand Up Guys Reviews

Page 1 of 42
½ April 19, 2016
I really liked this movie. Funny and moving.
Super Reviewer
½ January 28, 2016
A coupla guys who've seen a mob movie or two return to the form one more time in this sort of bucket list for mob guys movie. And what do mob guys want at the end of the road? One more job together again, natcherly. Pacino, Walkin & Arkin are old hands at this, and so raise what might've been a banal and cheesy offering to sort of a cool night at the bowling alley with some oldtimers. Some classy oldtimers. Take a selfie with them.
½ January 5, 2016
Supposedly this is a comedy. A claim that I would dispute from the off, to be honest I'm not entirely sure what it is, it certainly isn't a comedy and it's certainly not an action comedy (despite what the trailer would have you believe). It's sort of a "not really anything". And that's the problem, if the people making the film have no idea what they are making, how are we supposed to know?

It is a slow, plodding and almost painfully dull film. My wife fell asleep, how I didn't is still a mystery. The film consists of actors sat around talking for the most part. When they are not talking they are either involved in embarrassing scenes (e.g. the sight of the once great Al Pacino spending a third of the film with a "comedy" erection because he has downed a handful of Viagra), or quite ridiculous plot lines inserted as the writer was obviously several pages short of a full script (I mean seriously, what are the chances of stealing a car, only to find a woman tied up in the trunk who has just been abducted, hence giving your characters something to do for the next twenty minutes as they seek some sort of vigilante justice)

Al Pacino's character manages to make almost impossible deductions which would make Derren Brown proud. Which begs the question, if he is so bloody clever how come he ended up in prison in the first place? The isn't really an ending to the film so you don't even get the pay off of finding out what happens in the end, and the whole thing is just a waste of time. I could go on, but there is no point, the only thing you need to know is:-

It's shit, not just normal shit but proper shit, Star Wars Holiday Special level of shit.
December 13, 2015
Nice comforting comedy for old gits
November 12, 2015
ignore the bad reviews. Walken and Pacino are definitely worth watching
½ September 10, 2015
It hasn't got the best direction or most plausible plot - and Pacino is enjoying himself a little too much - but this is still laugh-out-loud funny in places, and Walken and Arkin are terrific. It's a sort of Last of the Summer Wine for gangsters.
½ September 10, 2015
watched and im gonna harsh to Rotton Tomatoes critics .. because this movie is a gem .. one of the best jobs chris walken has done in a very long time.. and he does it all with just his stares and soft responses to everything that goes on .. alan arkin is awesome as always and pacino is just as good as anything else he's done . i like his character.. somewhere between carlito's way and scent of a woman .. with a real nice ending .. sorry dudes this film u took urselves way too seriously .. its just a fun fun fun flick with a nice touch for the ending.. .... have a drink and move on..
½ August 30, 2015
This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen, I have never seen such a misguided film in my life, what a complete waste of time. Al Paciano gives the most pathetic performance of his career, this movie felt like it wanted to be Cheech and Chong meets The Godfather, completely unwatchable.
½ June 24, 2015
Mount Everest just moved into my pants.

Val gets out of jail after twenty-eight years and is picked up by his good friend, Doc, who was on his last mission with him when he got caught. Doc gives Val an overview of his surroundings and resources and Val has visions of living his life to the fullest; maybe doing one more job, and making something of his life outside the joint. Doc is hesitant but not completely resistant.

"Tomorrow became today."
"It usually does."

Fisher Stevens, director of Just a Kiss, delivers Stand Up Guys. The storyline for this movie is actually really good and unfolds better than I anticipated. Pacino's acting as the main character is a little too much at times, but Walken as Doc is wonderful and the character is very well written. Alan Arkin, Julianna Margulies, and Craig Sheffer also gave solid supporting performances.

"I hope the commode is to your liking."

This was a movie I came across on Netflix and thought it may be worth a viewing. It was just okay at the beginning with some entertaining interactions, but the story unfolds pretty well. This actually reminded me of a better version of the recent Equalizer film.

"Your jab still looks pretty good."

Grade: B-/B (7.25)
June 7, 2015
Wastes a stellar cast
May 14, 2015
Rotten Tomatoes really blew this one. Stand Up Guys has three iconic "old timers" Pacino, Walken and Arkin, giving charismatic performances in a well directed flick about friendship, honor and love. The storyline was clever, the acting of course superb and the pacing just right.
April 25, 2015
although it starts out dull stand up guys picks up the pace farther into the movie especially once alan Arlin shows up, overall this movie is sweet and enjoyable playing off its great chemistry between Pacino and walken
April 18, 2015
Very funny. They all play the doddering old men very well, and the love between them is very special. Hard core gangsters of the old school style - where you follow the code and treat women well and don't do the dirty on each other. Christopher Walken seems to have been old forever. They all made me, strangely, find old men wierdly attractive.
½ April 15, 2015
If any pair of actors can still entertain me by "Walken" around town and talking, it's definitely these two! Alan Arkin even shows up for a little while to make this trio great to watch.
½ April 12, 2015
I really liked it! It started out slow and I wasn't sure where it was going, but in the end it was quite funny and really touching. Loved the chemistry between Pacino and Walken, and that's kind of all it matters. Stand Up Guys is a solid entertainment. Sometimes all it matters is the casting.
½ March 18, 2015
A really good movie. The chemistry between the three leads is incredible and each one pulls off making a decently rounded character. Al Pacino and Christopher Walken are hilarious and really do bring the heartwarming moments in this movie into it well. Worth the watch if you like mob movies or buddy comedies.
March 8, 2015
Frankly, if you put Al Pacino, Christopher Walken and Alan Arkin in your movie, you don't really need to worry about the script: we'd happily watch them do just about anything on-screen. And here they sieze every hint of humour, drama and action to keep us entertained and make us care about their characters. Indeed, they maintain their dignity by refusing to give in to the screenplay's lazy old-age jokes and convoluted plot.
March 1, 2015
Saw 15 minutes of this movie and I knew exactly where it was going
March 1, 2015
Saw 15 minutes of this movie and I knew exactly where it was going
½ February 9, 2015
Would have been a terrible movie with anybody but Walken and Pacino. This movie is reflective of most of the movies that they have starred in and feels like a send off of their respective screen characters. This movie didn't have nearly as good a script as you would expect it to, but the actors are good enough to draw me into the story and desire how it will end until the final bullets fly. The ending was perfect for this movie, couldn't have been done better.
Page 1 of 42