S.W.A.T. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

S.W.A.T. Reviews

Page 1 of 259
½ April 25, 2016
Fun adaptation of the show. Nothing noteworthy, but it's a decent action flick to pass the time. It essentially plays as a recruitment video.
½ April 10, 2016
Not as good as I was hoping for but still a pretty solid action movie, I did expect more shootouts and the ending could of been better but with a good solid action cast when the action does start it was pretty good, Apart from the story taking some time to kick in properly it's definitely worth a watch.
½ March 11, 2016
Well, LL Cool J is in the movie. That should tell you just about everything you need to know.
February 17, 2016
It's a solid action movie. Very mediocre plot but very quick paced with good characters .
January 10, 2016
Good movie with lots of action! Story takes a great turn but that's about it
½ December 13, 2015
Just a fun movie, very superficial, nonetheless enjoyable.
October 22, 2015
I have no idea why I like this but it's an enjoyable flick to watch on TBS, TNT, or any network television appearance on the weekend
½ October 12, 2015
Sadly the best in the film is LL Cool J. Very poor movie with very poor everything including plot.
½ September 12, 2015
Pretty cool to follow , it has wat it takes for an action movie ! SOMDVD
July 6, 2015
Entertaining enough.
½ June 29, 2015
I really like these actors but not in this trash.
June 18, 2015
I actually really enjoyed it. sue me
April 6, 2015
A guilty pleasure in my book, but it still kicked but. I also like the methods used to extract people and the consequences that could happen if something goes wrong. Every one was in their usual acting element, or played similar characters before. I got to admit looking back this is pretty generic.
½ February 14, 2015
High adrenaline thrill ride. Great cast. I also appreciate there's a kick-ass strong woman on the team. Skill, hard work and dedication win every time.
February 8, 2015
Predictable and unrealistic, action yes...quality, not so much.
½ January 29, 2015
A boring plot with a whole lot of filler in between with very few reasons to actually get excited. Full review later.
January 18, 2015
Too predictable. Some good action at the start and a decent cast so I expected far better.
½ January 13, 2015
An action film done right. The characters are likable and the film doesn't try to be super serious or dark.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
Great action movie with Colin Farrell. Much better then his latest miami vice.
Super Reviewer
December 22, 2014
Kinda based on the American TV show but ultimately kinda not. Characters left out, new ones in, different ethnicity for the one member and turning one regular into the baddie. Kinda makes you wonder why they bother adapting these old shows if they're gonna change most of it. Luckily (amazingly) this film hasn't suffered too badly and is pretty much a stand alone action film, old TV show left by the wayside.

When this was first brought up I instantly thought it would be crapola, just a weak timid action flick that would probably border on comedy. Much to my surprise the film is an out n out serious fast paced cop flick, more serious in terms of realism than say...'Lethal Weapon', but with less of the comedy.

I think we can all guess its a film about a tough highly skilled elite team of cops, and this being a modern flick the testosterone is through the roof!. The clearly unfit Samuel L. Jackson leads a team consisting of Farrell, Rodriguez (again in another crack team of tough nuts), LL Cool J and two other faceless guys. In all honesty I think the team could have been better cast with better character actors from the 80's action genre, why we have to put up with these ex-rap/hip-hop stars with stupid names I don't know.

The plot is sort of obvious but not completely, you'd expect the usual last stand type ordeal with a team but the film shows some imagination. The main bad guy spends most of his time cuffed with cops which is a brave move, the good guys tend to be always trying to gain the upper hand and never really in control and of course there is betrayal, which spices things up. Its not exactly hard to predict but it plays out a little differently than most cookie cutter action films.

What is different is the fact half the film shows this team training, and what is shown looks pretty realistic I gotta say. Lots of skilled combat/hostage training with your cliched yet highly polished Top Gun-esq over the top camaraderie and macho showboating with liberal splashes of gun porn. It all looks slick sexy and makes you wanna run down to the local cop recruitment centre and get shooting. Oh those boys in blue do look handsome in their nice perfectly fitting uniforms and actionman body armour.

The film isn't really very violent, it hints at some strong stuff, you just don't see it. I do tend to think that the film might have been much cooler had it been an all out adult film, bit more gritty and a bit less glossy perhaps. But in general its a solid action flick that you can easily enjoy without ever knowing the old TV show ever existed.
Page 1 of 259