The Call - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Call Reviews

Page 1 of 162
August 6, 2017
Director, Brad Anderson (The Machinist) directs a claustrophobic tension filled thriller that the keep you on the edge of your seat. Halle Berry and Abigail Breslin star in this film, and the acting from both actresses is great. The movie is fast paced and keeps you engaged from beginning to end. This film is a good watch for all.
August 5, 2017
Excellent! Five stars hands down!
August 4, 2017
The first two acts of this movie are pretty solid, but it kind of falls apart after that.
August 2, 2017
Most films signal if you're supposed to leave your brain at the door in the first ten minutes (like the film Crank I saw recently), but this gave no such vibe. Therefore, when the silliness of the actions of the characters in the second half of the middle act, and the third act ensued, it lost me. Why the xxxx would xxxx do that??? my brain cried. Shame, it was gripping throughout, but left me feeling hollow...
August 1, 2017
Suspenseful, tense, good acting especially from Halle Berry who makes a great come back in this film and overall makes for a great time.
½ July 28, 2017
Very intense, but the characters are boring and the ending sucked.
Super Reviewer
July 11, 2017
Pretty violent, it helped with the poor acting.
June 18, 2017
Great intense movie that I remember had the whole theater on the edge of our seats. Haven't really seen a movie that had you feel involved in the scene till recently. 47 meters down had us on the edge of our seats.
½ June 7, 2017
Mixed bag with surprisingly good performances. It starts as a taut and effective police procedural that honours those at the 911 call centre but the final act devolves into a dopey undeserved and exploitive horror film. Both parts parts work as their own things but together they make one of the most polarizing things I've ever seen.
½ May 6, 2017
Taut thriller that completely falls apart in the 3rd act. Berry and Breslin turn in great performances but the script abandons them in an ending that not only underminds the effective set-up but renders it all but moot.
May 6, 2017
I love this movie!! Everything seemed realistic, I could imagine myself responding the same ways in those circumstances, and the ending was perfect!! Halle Berry was flawless and her passion shows!!
April 29, 2017
awesome movie love Halle Berry!!
April 19, 2017
This is an awesome show. keeps you on the edge of your seat !
March 3, 2017
A flawed yet unique suspenseful thriller that does more right than wrong.
February 7, 2017
It's good movie to watch
December 23, 2016
i reminiscne watching it back in the days. I actually really liked it. One of my favprite hally berry films
December 11, 2016
It was going okay until this unbelievably lame ending!!
½ November 13, 2016
Its got a lot of melodrama, and the shaky camera along with the slow motion plus Loud sounds really doesnt help us with getting into the thriller mood more than the content itself, which sounds at best like a 24 Episode lol
½ October 29, 2016
How does this even have 44% from critics, let alone 65% from users? It was like Lifetime made a feature length, bargain bin, just-different-enough-legally knock off of Criminal Minds that has none of the smart or clever people, and there's so little substance that the second and third acts nearly entirely rely on Abigail Breslin being shirtless for appeal, because the way the plot resolves itself is so overdone it'll make you groan, loudly.
October 26, 2016
Brad Anderson's "The Call" is a thriller with plenty of great performances on display as well as an astonishing amount of stupidity.
Page 1 of 162