The Fate of the Furious - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Fate of the Furious Reviews

Page 1 of 114
½ October 16, 2017
Terrible. Terrible franchise.
October 15, 2017
This franchise is starting to wear out a bit, While the film is not as good as the previous 3 films i still think that any fan of the franchise should be pleased with it.
October 15, 2017
This movie needs to die
October 15, 2017
They really should stop making these now !!!!
½ October 14, 2017
If there's one word to describe this movie, it's cheesy. Seriously, Dom Toretto's chased by cars that Charlize Theron hacks into. Also, Jason Statham fights the bad guys while having to protect a baby! I pray to God that this is the last Furious movie that's released!
½ October 12, 2017
Another instalment to the ever growing f&f franchise, i know what you are thinking, when will it ever end. Truth be told f&f 8 is an out and out popcorn flick and not to be taken seriously, once you take into account the lack of realism and corniness about it all, then it does its job, as an entertaining action flick. The story was probably the weakest out of of them all and there were many plot holes in the script. However this is saved by the constant adrenaline fuelled action scenes. A good film not to be taken seriously, but this brings the question, will they be able to keep pulling this off?
½ October 10, 2017
A great concept bogged down by Vin Diesel's ego. Massive props for the NYC zombie car sequence, Statham/Johnson's chemistry, Charlize Theron, and a great cameo by Helen Mirren.

F.Gary Gray is a talented storyteller, but Justin Lin and James Was did much better.
½ October 9, 2017
It's fine. Probably worse than the previous 3 movies though.
½ October 8, 2017
It was kind of silly. I guess I didn't turn it off, but I was on a plane, and I needed to stay awake for a few hours. So, it kept me awak. That was nice. I was not inspired to go back and watch the other 7 bajillion of them, though.
October 7, 2017
gr8 film. loved it so much :)
October 7, 2017
Please stop making crap and expect people to pay money to watch it! Seriously just put all the actors and actress back together and a few cars and expect to be a great movie! Try harder please! This movie is terrible horrible acting and even worse car races
Super Reviewer
½ October 1, 2017
Wow so here we are huh, the eight movie in the franchise, this thing just keeps on goin' doesn't it. Obviously by now the entire population of this little blue planet knows how this shitshow works, its not to be taken seriously...at all. Yet despite that clear cut fact I cannot help but tear the opening sequence of this movie apart, and here we go.

It begins in Havana, Cuba where Toretto and Letty are having their honeymoon. Conveniently Toretto's cousin is also in Cuba and is having some debt issues with some local petrolhead. Luckily this all takes place at an auto show (randomly in the middle of the city) which is filled with hot women that are basically half naked (won't someone think of the children?). The perfect scenario for Toretto to show his stuff...aww yeah. So Toretto challenges this young guy with a super modified car to a race to get his cousin outta trouble. Unfortunately Toretto only has his cousins broken down wreck of a car to use. No worries, Dom fixes it up within five minutes (mainly using 'Cuban NOS'? Any different to regular NOS?) and its ready to roll.

What follows is essentially the backbone of the franchise, how it all started, a gritty illegal street race. They throw this in at the start just to remind you of the franchises roots before it goes all [i]xXx[/i] and [i]Mission: Impossible[/i] on you. Yeah so they have this illegal street race through Havana. All the traffic is stopped merely by two motorbike riders who follow the race and block junctions. Miraculously there are no accidents with other traffic users and absolutely no police presence anywhere. The two cars tear up the city streets with Toretto eventually winning the race in a shit heap that is actually on fire. But no worries because xXx manages to dive out of the car (at top speed) just before it hits a concrete barrier, flies into the air, explodes and lands in the sea. Naturally good old Dom sustains no injuries whatsoever.

As said, this is what we're dealing with now with this franchise, complete disregard for anything actually based within the realms of reality (although this isn't the first time, but its gotten way worse). It also makes it very hard to review such a movie because we all know this. We all know its not supposed to be a serious movie, we all know its throwaway popcorn trash that exists purely to provide Bay-esque visuals. So of course on that front the movie succeeds in every aspect, it does exactly what it says on the tin. The flip side is how far can this be pushed before it just becomes fucking ridiculous. The answer to that is of course about four movies ago.

Essentially this movie is now practically a superhero flick. All the characters are pretty much invincible and I doubt any will ever be killed off. Hell, if Paul Walker hadn't actually died in real life then I'm sure his character would still be alive and well with the others. But this is a major problem with the franchise (alongside so many other problems). You just don't care about the characters because you know they're invincible. There's no way any of the main protagonists will die, no flippin' way. Even when one does get killed in this movie they end up coming back. All this does is equal zero tension, zero thrills and zero risk. Fuck me even the villain is too big to get killed off it seems, future sequels are gonna have impossibly large casts.

And what is the antagonists goal here exactly? The big bad villain (female of course, Charlize Theron) wants to start off a world war I believe it was, why? And in order to do this she needed Toretto's help to get some vital bits and pieces in order to activate a nuclear sub and start a nuclear war. She couldn't do this herself with her henchmen? And in order to keep Toretto under control she kidnaps one of his ex-girlfriends who is pregnant with his child that he knows nothing about. Convenience much??!! I guess you could say she's lucky Toretto is even bothered about this considering its his ex.

There is so much stupidity and deus ex machina in this movie its painful, so very painful. The way characters (Toretto) seem to just have secret rendezvous or help outta nowhere, like magic, only to be explained towards the end of the movie. Yeah because that's really clever. There are numerous car chase sequences that are essentially fights with various vehicles, its like watching [i]Transformers[/i]. Each vehicle also seems to represent its driver so Dwayne Johnson naturally drives a huge, hulking 4x4 jeep thing that probably has really shitty fuel economy and moves like a bus. Its also apparent that in these sequences the hero vehicles don't sustain damage...until its clearly unavoidable (because product placement). The same is often seen with weapons, in other words Dwayne Johnson is always seen with a huge shoulder cannon type thing (what's he compensating for?).

Then of course you have the finale where they all take on a nuclear submarine and we see a sequence which is pretty much straight outta the school of escaping 'Prometheus' style. Toretto survives a massive blast from a heat-seeking missile striking the sub (as do all their vehicles apparently). Roman is even more of an unfunny idiot but unfortunately doesn't get killed here. Other characters from previous movies such as Tej and Frank Petty merely make up the numbers and continuity. Scott Eastwood is in here for no particular reason, I genuinely don't know why he's there. Statham does the same shit as before and some others pop up blah blah blah, who cares. Oh and Toretto names his son (from the ex) Brian after Walker's character, even though in the movie Brian isn't dead sooo...why?

One of the [b]main[/b] problems with this movie (and some others) is the fact that you kinda have to know the previous movies to get everything. Bottom line this is not a good stand alone movie, its not a good movie but even more so because you gotta know the backstories to a degree. Other than that its not much different from the [i]Transformers[/i] franchise for me, just glossy garbage that ticks all the correct boxes. The epitome of modern movies.
½ September 29, 2017
Insanely ridiculous action, but the franchise still has its charm with the characters and a new plot that gives the film a new vibe. Fans of the films will not be disappointed. A-.
½ September 29, 2017
Very good and exciting movie positively filled with big stars!
September 29, 2017
Cars. And bad women bad guys?
Bad guys who aren't bad guys.
And the Rock who sometimes can't act.
And the script. Oh Lawd, the script. I mean ach.
½ September 28, 2017
It belongs to Bollywood, not Hollywood!
September 28, 2017
Another great installment
September 27, 2017
Where was CGI Paul Walker in all of this mess?
½ September 25, 2017
Rating: 67%
Though The Fate of the Furious still has the same amazing cast and over-the-top action, it can't help but feeling that the franchise is coming close to running on fumes.
Page 1 of 114