The Fault In Our Stars Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 6, 2015
The Fault In Our Stars could indeed become this generation's Love Story -- mildly implausible, but genuinely moving.
January 6, 2015
Funnily enough, the producers of the Twilight series are behind the latest teen adaptation, but The Fault in Our Stars is a more serious take.
January 6, 2015
Do the tears flow? It's hard to stop them but it's a reflex action, triggered by the tragic conjunction of cancer and the young, rather than any sense of kinship with the particular pair you've been watching on screen.
January 6, 2015
It's a carpe diem love story that overcomes its own faults, and earns its tempered hopefulness, by maturely recognizing that love and pain are equal, and often intertwined, parts of life.
January 6, 2015
"The Fault in Our Stars" is unabashed in its efforts to make you well up, but the tears come from a real place.
January 6, 2015
The film has enough charm and humor to keep it appealing to a wide audience, and dumbing things down doesn't feel particularly smart or canny, and proves to be a minor distraction to an otherwise majorly entertaining feature.
January 6, 2015
Far from the shameless emotional pummeling it might have been, this adaptation of John Green's cherished YA cancer drama finds a conduit to earned, understated tears -- a tricky accomplishment given the material.
January 6, 2015
"The Fault in Our Stars" may not show the true messiness of cancer, but it does grapple with death and the ability to survive great loss. Maybe that's enough truth for one movie.
January 6, 2015
Led by the unforgettable work from a young actress who's among the best of her generation, "The Fault in Our Stars" is a lovely work.
August 24, 2014
You should probably not see "The Fault in Our Stars" with anyone you're trying to impress. You'll either end up a puffy, sniffling mess of tears, or you'll finish the movie dry-eyed and convince that person you're a psychopath.
July 18, 2014
While it may not conform to one's real-life expectations it certainly hews tightly to teen-flick conventions.
June 22, 2014
Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H Weber are on hand to lend an alt-indie edge that cuts through the mawkish manipulation ...
June 20, 2014
The film slowly turns into the kind of manipulative, lachrymose melodrama that Hazel herself professes to detest.
June 20, 2014
For every nauseating moment in this cancer-related weepie, there's a lovely, thought-provoking exchange of ideas.
June 19, 2014
It paints itself into a contrived, clich-ridden corner and, to get out of that, paints itself into yet another contrived, clich-ridden corner, until it runs out of corners and becomes the formulaic, sentimental cancer movie you hoped it wouldn't.
June 19, 2014
No matter how emotionally bracing the film gets, there's a sense that punches are being pulled visually.
June 19, 2014
The movie will be the stuff of truth and tragedy for some; for others, crafted schmaltz with an eye on the money.
June 19, 2014
You have to concede the laser-guided accuracy and psychotic vehemence with which it goes for the tear duct. It's like being mugged by a professional whose skills in mixed martial arts you can't help but notice and appreciate ...
June 19, 2014
Try as you might, there's not a single damn thing you can do about The Fault in Our Stars. It's here. It exists. Suck up the saccharine, let it into your heart, and deal with it.
June 17, 2014
Woodley and Dern breathe a ghost into the machine. Willem Dafoe has fun, albeit not too much, in a brief, vital role as a creepy writer. Most crucially, the words that survived from Green's novel did so for a reason.
Page 1 of 5