The Grudge Reviews

Page 1 of 7
August 14, 2020
Pesce's film lacks anything discernibly Shimizu-esque. Individual moments of tension materialise, only to be undercut by noisy jump scares or needlessly flashy visuals.
August 7, 2020
Wanders a bit too far from the franchise's established beats for its own good, but there's still some good stuff here for horror fans.
July 12, 2020
Unfortunately, the 2020 version of The Grudge is an example of a remake that should not have attempted a comeback.
July 8, 2020
I wish I could tell you that this latest iteration of The Grudge is a good version of this story, but I don't want to lie to you.
June 24, 2020
It's a throwback to an era not far removed but mostly swept under the rug. The Grudge is a vicious update to a genre staple, it's not groundbreaking, but it's a got enough shock, awe and chills to keep you entertained.
April 22, 2020
Too many storylines and no one to solve them. It's unbelievably complex and feels too much like a wasted opportunity. [Full review in Spanish].
March 26, 2020
Each thread could have functioned as a standalone film about the terrible consequences of presuming safety in a world menaced by invisible dangers.
March 23, 2020
The jump scares are spot on and the level of gore produced by the makeup artists is truly horrifying.
March 22, 2020
The dramatic payoff to the buy-in of all this bleak seriousness never really amounts to anything and it makes the viewing kind of a chore.
March 11, 2020
...we're suffering from a dearth of true boogeymen, the figures that loom in our shared pop-cultural nightmares. It's the faces that stay with us.
March 11, 2020
An instant front runner for worst movie of the year.
March 9, 2020
Perhaps all this one needed to be was better than the 2004 film. And indeed it very much is.
February 18, 2020
'The Grudge (2020)' is a complete misfire in every aspect possible. While it features some fantastic actors, the cast did their best with what little they were given...
February 16, 2020
Here's the first 'January junk' offering.
February 16, 2020
As a fascination, I'd say it's worth seeing, but as a piece of spooky entertainment, you could do much better.
February 13, 2020
Everything's been seen before and better. [Full review in Spanish]
February 13, 2020
The most disappointing aspect of The Grudge is that it wastes its talented cast. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 12, 2020
Satisfactorily spine-chilling and macabre while not quite terrifying
February 6, 2020
I didn't like the time jumps. Just tell us the story in a linear fashion.
February 6, 2020
The first hour does meander while an ominous mood is established. Then the final act suddenly gets all bashy and crashy, with too many jump scares positioned too close together.
Page 1 of 7