The Spectacular Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Spectacular Now Reviews

Page 1 of 74
January 20, 2017
Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley are spectacular in this love story.
½ January 18, 2017
It seems that no matter how magnificent love in films are, they never truly tell the truth. However, this film must have because I felt as annoyed at the star-crossed lovers as I do with the people at my high school. Still, average film, some completely unreliable scenes, but that occurs in most films, it's what makes them so entertaining. I found the storyline repetitive and needed a little bit extra to really sell it to me.
½ January 9, 2017
A coming of age film focusing on a young man struggling with self identity and alcohol, The Spectacular Now does a good job focusing in on situations that a number of viewers could relate to in some way. Miles Teller portrays high school senior Sutter Keely, a young man in the midst of a new relationship with Aimee Finecky (Shailene Woodley) as he tries to reconnect with his father, graduate from school and do well at his job. Between the personable acting of Teller and the sweet, life like style and dialouge of Woodley's character, The Spectacular Now might not have one thing that separates itself as one of the best teen drama films, but it doesn't fall short by any means and keeps from depicting predictable cliche moments viewers have come to expect.
December 19, 2016
A stupid boy one has no empathy for (because he's an idiot) and little to no chemistry between the actors. Stunned at the positive reviews for this.
December 16, 2016
Spectacular Now is a very good movie with a great story and great performances.
December 2, 2016
MC pissed me off for like 70% of the movie
November 30, 2016
A bitter teen movie struggling at times
½ November 23, 2016
A wonderful film that deals with issues teen movies usually ignore: drinking, the fear of adulthood, moving away from home. One of the most realistic teen movies that I've seen.
November 21, 2016
Not much different than most intelligent romantic comedies, but solid overall and great performances.
½ November 15, 2016
The critics' reviews are way too high. But it was good; an honest portrayal of teenage life rather than the typical superficial high school movies.
November 10, 2016
I'm a Woodley fan , simple stories written and told well is what gives meaning. This story is very simple but well orchestrated and if you didn't see it when it came out, now is the time.
½ November 5, 2016
Primarily a depressing, coming-of-age film about alcoholism, codependency, and responsibility. Two damaged souls launch their individual healing with each other just before high school graduation. Ultimately, it seems they should move on as only friends...but will they?
½ October 15, 2016
The Spectacular Now is a near perfect YA romance film with a wonderfully realized script, James Ponsoldt's sensitive direction and fantastic performances from Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley.
September 15, 2016
The Spectacular Now is romantic comedy coming-of-age that is far from being cliché.
½ September 9, 2016
High school boy who is content to drift through life with minimal effort (and buzzed most of the time) undeservedly earns the love of a girl and painfully learns the truth about his father.
½ August 15, 2016
At least once a year we're given a film about teenagers. If they're not wizards, vampires, werewolves, star-crossed lovers or smart-mouthed too-cool-for-schoolers, they're fodder for some misunderstood slasher. Rarely are we given a film that portrays adolescent angst with refreshing honesty. Thankfully, we have such a film in THE SPECTACULAR NOW.

Sutter Keely is a popular high school senior. He's charmingly cocky, self-assured and he gets along great with everyone. He loves his part-time job at a men's clothing store and he has a nice car. He also loves his alcohol and he's never very far away from his next supersized, whiskey-laced soft drink. Life is great for Sutter and he has no plans to change anything. One day, after his girlfriend dumps him, he gets drunk and wakes up on the lawn of his classmate, Aimee Finecky. She's different from all the other girls he knows. She's a bit of a science fiction nerd but she's sweet. She dreams of a bright future for herself and whomever she should marry. Sutter, on the other hand, lives only in the now. He has no dreams. Yet, somehow, they're drawn together.

Like most teenagers, Sutter and Aimee both have parental issues. Both want to stand up to their mothers but neither has the confidence to do so. For Aimee, she wants to go to an out-of-state university but her mother wants her to stay home. For Sutter, he wants to reconnect with his estranged father but his mother wants to keep them apart. When they make a pact with each other to challenge their parents' decisions, they set the wheels in motion that will change their lives forever.

Sutter tracks down his father, and he and Amy go off to visit him. What they find is not what they expect. Like Sutter, his dad lives only for the moment. As he says to Sutter, "live fast, die hard, and leave a beautiful memory". Sutter's eyes are opened for the first time and, although he sees the path he is on, he feels he is not worthy enough to have a life that is any different. Amy, on the other hand, sees Sutter differently. In fact, everyone from his teacher to his sister, boss, best friend, ex-girlfriend (Brie Larson, DON JON) and even his ex's new boyfriend, see Sutter differently. They see that if he can ever love himself as much as they love him, he will be awesome.

If we were not Sutter growing up, we certainly knew kids who were. That's what makes this film so appealingly heartbreaking. He is confident on the outside but is a ball of insecurity on the inside. Aimee, on the other hand, is just the opposite but she is just as authentic. Not surprisingly, THE SPECTACULAR NOW won a special award at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival for its principal actors, Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, who both shine in the film. The National Board of Review named THE SPECTACULAR NOW as one of 2013's Top Ten Independent Films and the Phoenix Film Critics' Society called it the Most Overlooked Film of the Year.

The film isn't scheduled to come to Hong Kong (no surprise) but if you can find it either in DVD format or online (legally, of course), get it and watch it with your teenage kids. Please note, though, that there is one scene of sex and nudity.
August 10, 2016
This isn't a high school love story. It is very mature and about two people healing each other through their wounds. Very deep and touching, with a realness that shows how young naive kids can be both mature and naive at the same time at the crux of a developmental era in their lives.
August 5, 2016
This one dove deep beneath the surface to the scary dark. Yet its nothing less than beautiful, this one of its kind film (obviously, i fell in love with Aimee).
½ July 31, 2016
From the director-writer team of "500 Days of Summer"...better in some ways. I miss dialogue like this...felt like a documentary, the banter was so real. A decidedly non-romantic romance...creeps in with the feels.
July 27, 2016
The Spectacular Now is a very good adaption of the book with great performances by Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley and true story about the teenagers now a days, with a sensitive romance and comedy this movie shines to the top.
Page 1 of 74