This is 40 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

This is 40 Reviews

Page 1 of 213
½ July 8, 2017
Most Judd Apatow movies stop being good about the last 1/3 or 1/4. This one never started. It does have a few funny parts, but I was ready for it to be over.
May 21, 2017
Comedy? What's funny about a bunch of obnoxious, intolerant, foul-mouthed people (including children) verbally abusing each other? Remember "The Producers" and "Some Like It Hot"? Now they were comedies!
May 18, 2017
Oh my goodness, Judd what did you do?! This movie had me cringing more than laughing. Deb and Pete were the worst part of Knocked Up and Apatow did a spinoff on them! Why Judd Why! Also, those kids were both brats! Maude and Iris are cool kids but those characters were gosh awful! This is 40 should of been called This is Judd Apatow's Lowest Point. 2 out of 5 stars
½ April 27, 2017
I understand why people would think this is an aimless movie, but I really don't think this kind of story needs a typical 3 act structure, its just this couple living their life.
March 27, 2017
By the end, I really didn't care what happened to any of the characters in this movie. That's 2 hours of my 40s that I'll never get back...
March 24, 2017
Yep yep, it's that rude Apatow humor. Loved it!
March 6, 2017
unpleasant tiresome whiners, boring, way too long, not funny, boring. Every character in it is an arsehole.
½ March 5, 2017
I definitely liked this movie - I thought it was funny and very human. It wasn't an exact counterpart to Knocked Up, but Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd were able to carry it just as well.
February 27, 2017
Hidden gem of a movie! Really Really Funny!
January 28, 2017
The characters in this movie are pathetic and unlikeable. The exact opposite of what makes a light hearted comedy work. This movie does nothing to demand your attention.
January 14, 2017
The movie is funny :D, but don't pay money for see it.
January 14, 2017
This is 40 is directed and written by Judd Apatow, and it stars Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann in a comedy about a couple that turned 40, and they are starting to deal with issues whether it be the age, financial problems, and their own relationship. When seeing Knocked Up of how hilarious that was, I was looking forward to go back to this that's a spinoff to that, and while it's still a funny movie, it's not as funny as when I first saw this. The acting is good, Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann work together pretty great and they give off some funny moments. The way they give off some point of views from sides of the family that's relatable shows that Judd Apatow understands how marriage usually works, whether it be good or horrible. It gets uncomfortable in parts when they start to have an argument, especially in the second half, it gets really uncomfortable to watch and makes you feel like you shouldn't be in this situation, but in a way, makes it feel relatable also because marriage couples have been in that. It's has tons of jokes that are funny, but then there are some jokes that didn't made me groan, but it was just dead on arrival for me and wasn't that funny. There's also the fact that the movie is 133 minutes long, and it feels like it which is irritating because I should've been fine with that as it'll give in to some jokes that I'll enjoy, but then there were some scenes that absolutely went nowhere and brought nothing to this, and the drama starts kicking in the second half where you're not quite enjoying it as much as the first half. Overall, This is 40 is a good movie that is very uneven and is Judd Apatow's weakest film so far, but the acting, comedy, and the perspective things in there got me to say that it's a watchable film at best.
½ November 20, 2016
This Is 40 is not good, not bad and a smidge too long but gives a probably honest portrayal of what it's like to balance a family, marriage, your job, and other aspects of someone's life, which was refreshing.
October 31, 2016
Self indulgent and boring. Waste of a great cast and premise.
½ October 25, 2016
Tackling mid-life crisis home truths, Judd Apatow's directionless comic rant side-queal (rather than sequel) of 2007's Knocked Up, This is 40 puts a giant tasteless mirror in the face of a standard dysfunctional family as serious real-life issues smack them square in the jaw.

Driven by crass, foul-mouthed, bone-dry sitcom staples, this highly observant ferociously sadistic satire drowns in its desperate grab for laughs. Woefully unfunny and boringly labored, the verbose sprawling editing and repetitive scrapbook script literally pauses in the middle of punch-lines as if to savor the flavor of a joke, but for a full 134 minutes. Seriously.

For Pete (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann) life is anything but tranquil, this goes double for the week they celebrate their milestone 40th birthdays. In an affluent suburb with their two daughters, the pubescent 14 year old Sadie (Maude Apatow) and curious 8 year old Charlotte (Iris Apatow), life is coming unglued at white-picket seems.

Constantly in denial about his state of affairs, Pete's alternative indie-record label teeters on bankruptcy; his sponge father (Albert Brooks) guilt's him into lending a small fortune to support his young IVF family; he has a dreadful cupcake dependency and to top it off in the throes of steamy shower passion reveals to Debbie he uses Viagra to turbo charge their interludes.

For her part, Debbie is preoccupied by money disappearing from her clothing boutique and suspicion lies with either the hot flush-with-cash employee (Megan Fox) or the quirky emotional employee (Charlyne Yi); she is attempting to find emotional common ground with her estranged absentee father (John Lithgow); She simply can't quit smoking and her daughters can't function alone for five minutes without interrupting a quickie blow -job.

Actively tolerating each other, the couple decides the only course is to plough headlong into a crisis. Attempting to better their lives they embrace new goals, make healthier choices, lessen dependency on food and electronic crutches, face financial woes and family challenges but if she is a nag and he is evasive, can they find their way back to a marriage based on love or just keep it together out of obligation?

Although entertaining as fringe characters in Knocked up, the carelessly bubbling Pete and his panicky-shrill wife are two-dimensional leads. Consumed by their middle-class issues, vapid characters are bereft of any genuine audience sympathy and I found myself wanting to sneer at their pettiness. Cameos by Lithgow and Melissa McCarthy are far more worthwhile than this film deserved.

The Verdict: Left flat from the movies formless trajectory and overplayed petty marital resentments, the myriad of F-bombs come across as juvenile and unnecessary stripping it of any niceties or subtlety. Some may find this supposedly accurate reflection of our time funny, but according to a number of people in my screening, it was merely sleep inducing.

Published: The Queanbeyan Age
Date of Publication: 25/01/2013
½ September 24, 2016
This is 40 has its fair share of laughs and charming moments with Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann having considerable chemistry but its overlong runtime and occasional aimlessness result in the film lacking the touching poignancy that made Knocked Up great.
September 5, 2016
Unfunny, meandering, unnecessary film that's a complete waste of time
½ August 11, 2016
Although Ti40 isn't Apatow's worst film (looking at you, Funny People), it's the most damning example of him not being able to cut his films down. However, its painfully hilarious relatability is so persistence that its grating negativity and overreaching focus are easily overshadowed. Rudd and Mann are paired perfectly, as they navigate first-world problems without overblowing or trivializing them. A VERY good movie that is both almost great (with some editing) and almost terrible (without the relevance).
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ July 29, 2016
Judd Apatow is back in the directing chair and it's worth the wait, It's funny all the way through, It's not so much laugh out loud funny but it's smart and clever funny, Very well acted by all the cast, It was overlong but not in a bad way it kept me entertained all the way through, It's not as good as Knocked Up but it's still very good.
Page 1 of 213