Trainspotting - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trainspotting Reviews

Page 1 of 852
November 30, 2016
Madly in love with Renton.
½ November 25, 2016
Danny Boyle's stylish and dark masterpiece is carried by McGregor's heartbreaking and heartfelt performance as Renton.
November 17, 2016
One of my personal favourites. Magical realism in a junkies playground, brilliant.
November 15, 2016
Trainspotting is a frantic, bizarre, hilarious and horrifying look into the life of drug addicts. The pacing of this film grabs ahold of you at the very beginning and doesn't let go. The story pulls you along, whether you want to follow or not. Plus, through the course of the movie, you end up simultaneously loving and hating the main characters - which is an impressive feat. In short, choose to watch Trainspotting.
November 14, 2016
After watching it for the 8th time I realized that Trainspotting is not just a dark comedy and an anti drug movie, but an odyssey throughout the life of a bunch of stupid characters developing their lives and now I realize that is one of my favorite movies(not like it wasn't before, but now I love it even more).
November 7, 2016
A great film about the addiction to drugs and the horrors it implies, a versatile script that at times is a pure drama and at times a comedy, like life itself, the direction by Danny Boyle is impeccable, and the characters of Renton, Spud, Sick Boy, Begbie and Tommy are pure gold all thanks to the amazing performances by the actors, the interpretation and weight they give to the scenes overall.
November 7, 2016
Trainspotting balances being horribly dark and wonderfully funny, all the while delivering a compelling story with great characters and a unique style that propels the movie at a speeding pace.
½ November 3, 2016
A look into the unforgiving lifestyle of heroine addiction. Trainspotting is an excellent film with a phenomenal soundtrack and unforgettable story as Ewan McGregor and the rest of the cast created some of the best junkie characters in indie cinema.
½ November 3, 2016
Arguably one of the best heroin movies ever made. I've often said that films about drugs need to either emphasize brutality or pitch black humor, and Trainspotting does both exceedingly well and in just the right amounts. It's clear why the film became such a smash hit in the U.K., as its use of pop songs and young characters certainly connects with the youth, even when the drug content is most harrowing. It's also Danny Boyle's most efficient effort to date too, as while his directing style has translated well to films with bigger budgets, here it feels more immediate. If the proposed sequel (Porno) ever becomes a reality, here's hoping that it strikes the same ingenious balance of comedy and drama.
½ October 24, 2016
With Danny Boyle's sensitive direction, a zippy soundtrack and a frightfully realistic depiction of heroin addiction and its effects, Trainspotting is a 90s classic in every best sense of the word.
½ October 18, 2016
Not an easy watch by any means, but by god, is it entertaining. It's electric, it's intense, and it's brutal, but it's an unflinching look at the crazy, stupid world of drugs.
October 17, 2016
Excellent writing, characters, & story :-)
October 8, 2016
trainspotting is a amazing film from danny boyle but if your looking for a experience like slumdog or 127 hours then your should probably pick a different movie. this is nothing like his other films but it is his best film. if you like flith or this is england then you will love this
½ October 5, 2016
A interesting adaption of a novel that shocked readers
½ September 23, 2016
Heavily influential, but never feels like it goes anywhere. Guy Ritchie would put this sort of style to much more clever usage not long after.
September 5, 2016
Trainspotting is a sometimes-complex dark comedy with a talented cast and an honest portrayal of the abuse of illicit substances.
August 30, 2016
Crazy good take on drug culture. Cringeworthy at times.
August 29, 2016
one of the best films of the 90s
Super Reviewer
August 29, 2016
**Classic Alert**

I went back and watched (for the first time) Trainspotting on a whim because of all the publicity the second movie is getting. I had to see what the hubub was all about. Trainspotting is as close to what some might say is a realistic portrayal of hard drug use with a few fantastical elements thrown in by director Danny Boyle and writer John Hodge to heighten the experience (no pun intended).

Boyle has some solid credits to his name since he came on the scene with this in 1996. It helps that he has a fantastic cast or Ewan McGregor, Robert Carlyle and the rest to fully encompass their roles as these drugged-out 20-somethings. Some of the scenes are, quite frankly, brutal and terrifying. There's a sense of foreboding going into a few of them and seeing the scenarios play out exactly as you think they would. At other times, there's an underlying sense of uneasy humor running through it.

At only 90 minutes, this feels like an extended episode more than a feature-length movie to me. Everything is happening so quick, and the ground we cover in the 90 minutes feels like a sprint over miles of story. It will be interesting to revisit these characters further down the road when the second film comes out, and perhaps maybe things have changed for the better when we do. Or, you know, they'll still be exactly who they are on drugs.
Page 1 of 852