Undercover Brother - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Undercover Brother Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
Stereotype-based satire; not for young kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Nick Rogers
November 10, 2010
"Undercover Brother" fares better as a blaxploitation spoof than as silly-spy shtick. Scathing but not scatological, "Brother's" withering insights are equal opportunity: Here, white guilt is as satirically punishable an offense as propping up prejudice.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 24, 2008
funny at parts
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
February 8, 2008
Much funnier and craftier than it had any right to be.
Michael Dequina
January 12, 2004
Every little piece of this project fell magically, hilariously in place, even if some of its gags don't quite hit the target.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
November 7, 2003
The problem is, that half the time I laughed myself silly, while the other half, I was egregiously offended.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
August 1, 2003
...zips along at a frenetic pace, but the lack of plot does eventually catch up with the rest of the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 2, 2003
Not for one moment does it get serious or stop for a straight action sequence, and yet it develops into something genuinely exciting, just through the enthusiastic velocity of its streams of jokes and images.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
John R. McEwen
Film Quips Online
February 8, 2003
If you like the Austin Powers franchise, chances are you'll like this, regardless of your race. If you don't, we'll, I'd have to say you're just a jive turkey.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
January 29, 2003
One of the best comedies of its kind.
| Original Score: 3/4
Marcus D. Russell
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
Malcom D. Lee is a consummate professional and has made a wise choice in how to approach this material, for a strong case could be made to use this as the initial tool in our school systems to begin serious discussions about race and class.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
October 15, 2002
More often than not, the movie's irreverent, ramshackle charms hit the mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mark Palermo
The Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
August 22, 2002
The movie's contradictions of intent (opposing black stereotypes at the same that it's reveling in them) hinder it from making any real comic statement.
Full Review
July 25, 2002
(The film) uses the well-traveled conventions of racial stereotyping to make a grand little spy/action comedy.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/5
Catherine Cantieri
July 22, 2002
UB equally spoofs and celebrates the more outre aspects of 'black culture' and the dorkier aspects of 'white culture,' even as it points out how inseparable the two are.
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
July 20, 2002
Has the right mindset, but not always the right material.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Mark Caro
Chicago Tribune
July 20, 2002
It's breezily entertaining and culturally specific without resorting to gross-out jokes or cruelty.
| Original Score: 3/4
Marshall Fine
Journal News (Westchester, NY)
July 15, 2002
Everytime you think Undercover Brother has run out of steam, it finds a new way to surprise and amuse.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
July 12, 2002
I know we're not supposed to take it seriously, but I can't shake the thought that Undercover Brother missed an opportunity to strongly present some profound social commentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
June 23, 2002
There is nothing undercover about this comedy. It's Solid. Can you diggit?
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 7