Videodrome - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Videodrome Reviews

Page 1 of 135
November 22, 2016
This is a really fun, often icky body horror film with some really interesting ideas and great practical effects. I liked how Cronenberg went from a structurally conventional sci-fi horror film (Scanners) to an unconventional, provocative, and totally original body horror movie. I liked the ideas discussed in the film, I liked how unique and different it was from any horror film I've ever seen, and even when the violence got splattery, it didn't take me out of the film. It's not for everybody, but the fans of Cronenberg would cherish this audacious piece of work. I liked it a lot!
½ October 24, 2016
Very original flick, crazy how this is from 1983 and yet still seems relative today. Woods and Harry have really strong showings. Long live the new flesh.
October 15, 2016
Great Art and Social Commentary withstands the test of time. Long Live the New Flesh!
September 13, 2016
It has more than a fair share of exploitation, but thats the very idea this unnerving techno-reality mystery seeks to explore.
½ September 8, 2016
(1.5 stars)
Definitely one of the weirdest films ever been created. A man watches a videotape. Man goes crazy. Any proper attempt on my part to explain the premise would be futile. Possibly hidden behind the surreal, complex and down-right bizarre are insightful comments on television brainwashing. 'Videodrome' also acts as further proof that practical effects remains genuinely scarier than computer technology. Therefore to say it was a bad film due to my lack of understanding would be short-sighted; nevertheless, the level of confusion I experienced undeniably had a severe impact on its entertainment value.
August 16, 2016
David Cronenberg's "Videodrome" is great! It mixes body horror with crazy tech stuff and surrealism, and the mixture is really entertaining and weird. Cronenberg nows how to use special effects that are creepy and strange, and he isn't afraid to just had flat out weird ideas. Highly recommend this crazy movie from the 80s, it is both weird and horrifying and fun.
July 24, 2016
1931's Frankenstein Is One Of My Favorite Films.
July 19, 2016
Videodrome doesn't have the same well-written characters that The Fly (1986) did but it still has the power to draw us in due to its disturbing visuals and great themes.

After a television executive searches for an intense new program for his TV network, he discovers a vhs tape called "Videodrome" which causes him to undergo a series of bizarre hallucinations.

Sometimes, this movie becomes too disgusting to watch (which is a good thing) and for good reasons too because the visuals are very disturbing and well-done. The movie tends to surprise us with its visuals too when we're least expecting it which makes its scenes work even better.

This also has great acting from James Woods. All of the other actors were great too but James Woods was really the only one who I felt stood out in the movie. However, his great performance was enough to carry the movie.

This movie has a chilling message which becomes more powerful today seeing as how technology keeps on advancing which leads to explicit and graphic entertainment rise.

This is still a great movie but I feel that The Fly is a better movie than this. The reason I think so is because The Fly contained well-written characters. I couldn't really connect with Max Renn as I did with Seth Brundle. However, this shouldn't bother you too much if you don't mind lack of character development. However, this is why I feel that The Fly is a little better.

In conclusion, this is a disturbing movie which contains a deep message. It gives audiences some disturbing things to think about. This is an amazing movie and all. I just think that The Fly is better because of its character development. However, you should still see this one too.
½ July 2, 2016
35%
Saw this on 2/7/16
Videodrome starts well, it could have been many things: a social allegory or a potent observation of violence in society, but instead David Crorenberg had to go way up into his asshole with the totally unnecessary body horror cliches. Drome feels like the most senseless body horror film from Crorenberg.
June 27, 2016
Such a stupid movie!!! What a waist of time!
Film C.
Super Reviewer
June 26, 2016
I love the practical FX, I still don't know how David Cronenberg made it but I have to say, good acting, best animation sequences.
June 21, 2016
Well. Looks like I'm not into kinky torture sex.

Case closed.

Some random notes I took until half way through:
Rick Baker!
Gnarly detail
Sleazy shows
Something tough and will breakthrough
Stimulation for our own sake
The retina of the mind's eye
Torture AND porn!
James woods knows love making
Nikki is into some kinky s
½ June 6, 2016
Videodrome is such a disappointing movie with a solid first half and such a terrific and original premise, but the execution is awful with too much gory and plain repulsive sequences, unlikable characters and an unfortunate emphasis on gore instead of good storytelling. It had a great potential, but it was wasted with those poor choices and it ended up being a very frustrating movie.
Super Reviewer
½ June 3, 2016
"I don't get it..."
"Don't worry about it."

"So it's been a hallucination since the beginning?"
"Don't worry about it."

"I'm totally lost, can you explain it?"
"Don't worry about it."
June 3, 2016
One of Cronenberg's best hands down. A film with many layers and a brilliant social commentary on technology and desensitization. Decades ahead of it's time and one movie I never get sick of watching.
½ May 13, 2016
This movie is f**ked up but quite mesmerizing.
May 12, 2016
This is a transitional film for Cronenberg. It's the last film he made that bears the marks of his early style, and it points to the direction he will eventually (but not immediately) go in. While I have great admiration for the ambition it displays, it doesn't completely succeed for me, and is one of my least favorite of his early films. Only "Scanners" really works even less for me. What he's doing here is very similar to what he does later in a film like "Naked Lunch", or even "Spider" I guess, where an unreliable narrator affects the film in ways that makes everything depicted questionable. My issue with "Videodrome" is that the reality of the film breaks down to the point that I don't think anyone can really say what's really happening in the last 20-40 minutes of the film. Is that a serious problem? No, and I still think it's a remarkable film, but I think Cronenberg demonstrates less control over this film and it's subject matter than he does over earlier and subsequent films.
½ April 28, 2016
I've noticed that during the late 70's and early 80's, Cronenberg directed and wrote a bunch of horror cult films, but this one really brings us to a whole new level of weirdness. It's a completly strange and pretty though-provocing movie, but it's good. The acting is good and the special effects are just so campy and classic and there's some nice blood effects in there too. And James Wood is perfect for the role. Recommended !!
April 15, 2016
Long live the new flesh...
April 10, 2016
First of all, I may be a little bias when writing this, as this is one of my favorite films OF ALL TIME.
If I had to describe Videodrome, I'd say it was a cryptic, surrealistic nightmare based in biotechnology, social commentary (which is actually more relevant now!), and oh so much psychosexuality. The movie is stacked full with bizarre sequences and conversations, and even though you might not get it at first, you can't help but be entertained by the sheer weirdness of it all. Despite the crazy practical effects and gruesome images, Videodrome has alot to offer in the way of story and message. It warns of possible violation of our own individuality and perception of the world through the media we consume and its format. It also brings up really interesting philosophical ideas on how we see reality and what defines the phrase "real life".
From the first viewing, the imagery will stick with you and make you want to watch it again, in which case the story and ideas will start to soak in more completely and soon you'll find yourself assimilated into the collective of fans of Videodrome...or at least that was my situation.

LONG LIVE THE NEW FLESH!!!
Page 1 of 135