The World's Fastest Indian - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The World's Fastest Indian Reviews

Page 1 of 102
½ November 13, 2016
Go and show them that Kiwi can fly!
½ September 8, 2016
Very enjoyable. A bit slow, but Anthony Hopkins does nice work here.
August 25, 2016
Great Little Bio Picture...
½ July 29, 2016
Funny movie, emotive, charismatic Anthony rides us from the beggining sorting all the challenges to reach his dreams. I liked it.
July 19, 2016
A well-done movie that was never able to convince of just why it was made.
½ June 24, 2016
Chasing a dream halfway across the world.

One of the inspiring biopic I have ever seen. It is about chasing a dream and it is never too late to do that so. Based on the story of a New Zealand motorcyclist Burt Munro. After spending 25 years to build a faster motorbike in the down under, now a very old Munro travel halfway across the earth to Bonneville speedway in the US to set a record. So what's the remaining of the tale reveals is that does his dream becomes reality or not.

Awesome performance by Anthony Hopkins, but in some parts I was distracted by his fake Kiwi accent. Overall, not bad with his effort, he achieved the goal conveniently. It is one of the best road movie that directed by the 'Species' filmmaker. The 120 minutes was too short, but well covered story with inclusion of messages like anti smoking and alcohol consumption.

It is a decade old film, never too late to watch a fine film like this, but inside I feel regret for the delay. I had no idea about the storyline. I thought it might be about Indians and then thought American Indians, but realised only while watching it that it is about a motorbike called Indian. It is surely a good family movie, especially if there is a motorbike maniac in the house. Highly recommended by me.

9/10
February 20, 2016
Such a change for Anthony Hopkins, that works perfectly. interesting story with a lot of heart.
January 17, 2016
The story of a crazy old man determined to set himself a new land speed record with a outdated Indian motorcycle that he's modified himself using parts molded by hand. A loving ode to reckless self-endangerment that truly excels because of how charming Hopkins is in the role. The story is basically that of a road trip. The plot could be summed up an a couple sentences. The fun comes from the encounters he has along the way and his general air of good-natured eccentricity. Eminently watchable.
October 6, 2015
Not quite sure how much of it is true-to-life, and I'm sure the filmmakers added some extra events to give the film some dramatic heft. But Anthony Hopkins' warm and endearing portrayal of Burt Munro and Donaldson's sure-handed, if not often manipulative, direction make The World's Fastest Indian a compelling and feel-good fact-based drama.
September 13, 2015
Informative and heartwarming.
August 19, 2015
A remarkable performance (again) by Anthony Hopkins, something very different. The true story of a man striving to get to America and test his much modified classic motor bike. The film title doesn't help what is a very engaging story.
½ August 14, 2015
This a solid movie with a very underrated performance from Hopkins.Fun little ride.
June 11, 2015
Anthony does nothing short to deliver in this feel good true story movie. His cooky old man character with one true dream makes anyone leave a theater smiling
January 7, 2015
A great story. Hopkins puts the movie on his back and races to the finish line.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2015
True story movie and those are always nice to see. Motorcycle and speedrecords and i love that kind of stuff so i liked this movie :) great actor Hopkins btw.
December 22, 2014
A little too understated, but heartwarming nonetheless. Hopkins is likeable and sagacious as always.
December 20, 2014
Up there with Cool Runnings on the feel good factor.
August 18, 2014
Such A Lovely Character Whom Is Just So Unassuming.. He Just Wins Your Heart With His Bone-Headed New Zealand Stubborness. It Gets Me Everytime Even Thought I Know The Ending So Well Now.
½ July 10, 2014
The World's Fastest Indian (2005)

Writer/Director Roger Donaldson did a documentary about fellow New Zealander, Burt Munro many years earlier. So, if anyone could do a movie about this interesting character, it's him. I have to warn you, this is a difficult movie to get. It's not on TV, there's not many DVDs here in the States and it's pretty much dropped off the face of the planet. So, if you see this anywhere, be sure to view it if you get the opportunity. You won't regret it.

Burt Munro (Anthony Hopkins) is an elderly Kiwi who tinkers with his 1920s Indian motorcycle, continually modifying it to go ever faster. He melts down metal to mold replacement pistons and uses unusual parts that he finds to make a 50 MPH vintage motorcycle go over 150 MPH. His dream is to travel to America and take it on speed trials at the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah, USA.

When Burt suffers a heart attack, he takes the plunge, mortgaging his property, to make his dream a reality. Burt Munro is an interesting character all by himself, but he meets so many other interesting people along his way, that you never get bored with this film. Also, it's hard to believe that he will accomplish what he sets out for, there is so much going against him. He is just so determined and is able to talk his way into anything. Plus the Kiwi way of making stuff work with what you can find.

The DVD doesn't have closed captioning (only Spanish subtitles), but it does include Donaldson's earlier documentary, so you realize how close Anthony Hopkins was to portraying Burt Monro.
July 1, 2014
Shows a racers mentality, Hopkins is great
Page 1 of 102