Reviews

Aug 27, 2021
The latest film in the popular X-Men franchise falls short of its immediate predecessor, "Days of Future Past," but fans still get the satisfaction of seeing the younger versions of their favorite characters.
Aug 18, 2021
Glowering under buckets of gloppy blue makeup, Isaac doesn't seem to be playing a godlike figure capable of destroying the world as much as the sort of grumpy uncle who always complains at barbecues that there's not enough mayonnaise in the cole slaw.
Apr 12, 2021
Its faults reek of laziness and negligence. There is so much untapped potential.
Feb 10, 2021
It wasn't terrible, and I don't think it entirely deserves its dismal 47 percent rating on Rotten Tomatoes. But it should serve as a wake-up call regarding the franchise's future direction.
Feb 3, 2021
Transcends the law of diminishing rewards by upping the action.
Dec 5, 2020
The special effects are fast, frequent, and generally overwhelming; they look stunning, for the most part, but their sheen wears off when 99% of the imagery is CG.
Sep 27, 2020
I can't help but think it's a film that would disappoint Apocalypse. We all know what happens when Apocalypse gets disappointed.
May 1, 2020
All of the characters in this movie had really good personality.
May 1, 2020
I really think they do a good job of making it silly and schlocky and serious and fun and action-packed.
Feb 13, 2020
Singer directed the pretty okay X-Men: Days of Future Past in 2014. Now he's returned with X-Men: Apocalypse, and it almost seems like he's trying to destroy the genre that he helped create.
Jan 23, 2020
...the parts that director Bryan Singer gets right-be they heart-wrenching flashbacks or mind-blowing visuals-are what really saves the day.
Jan 14, 2020
Feels like a warmed-over version of what worked better 16 years ago.
Nov 15, 2019
The end result is a fun though chronologically and visually chaotic instalment, which fails to match the brilliance of Singer's previous features.
Oct 27, 2019
It's definitely the weakest of the latest trilogy of "X-Men" movies (2011's "First Class" and 2014's "Days of Future Past"). Unless you're Michael Fassbender or James McAvoy, big talent is pretty squandered in the film.
Oct 21, 2019
It's a blockbuster that's also a head scratcher.
Sep 4, 2019
This is an entry in the mutant saga that grows better with successive viewings and even manages to sneak some under the radar performances that stand out. If you remember disliking this movie, I highly suggest you give it another go.
Aug 26, 2019
This outing just had no heart, no zing -- the story both dull and derivative.
Aug 23, 2019
There are no flashbacks that show their origin or clarify their motivations, there is no evolution, Apocalypse is a flat and boring villain, with bad dialogue and a Power Rangers' characterization. [Full Review in Spanish]
Jul 17, 2019
...that quirky ambition is all but vacant, leaving an underwhelming run of the mill actioner audiences might have settled for in 2003. There are too many films in this hyper specific subgenre being released every year to rest on laurels like this.
Jul 9, 2019
There are some issues, even forgiving a loose plot that doesn't do much character work. I mean, I've read the comics, and I still don't understand what Apocalypse's powers are. He can...dissolve stuff? Make people get swallowed into walls? Who knows?