13 Reasons Why: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 30, 2020
As the season ends, 13 Reasons Why takes a sharp ambulance turn toward corniness and cheese.
February 13, 2019
13 Reasons Why is a show that wants to make a positive difference. But that strong earnestness seems to have been at the expense of actually investigating how certain themes could aggravate the problems the show seeks to remedy.
January 9, 2019
13 Reasons Why is more than standard entertainment. This is the rare TV series that can not only alter perceptions, it could change someone's life.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
November 3, 2018
At times harrowing, other times laughably like an after-school special, "13 Reasons Why" ends up dulling its important topics.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2018
13 Reasons Why succeeds on the strength of its cast.
September 12, 2018
Its dual portrayals of the more subtle, insidious side of violence against women ends up being more visceral than HBO's goriest spectacles.
September 10, 2018
In some ways, I do feel it glorified the suicide...but for me, what the series does is important, because it continues the conversation about rape and suicide. Was it a perfect portrayal? I don't know.
September 10, 2018
The first episode was so good to me, I jazzed myself up a lot...but this just didn't work for me.
August 26, 2018
It's that attention to detail that makes this show incredibly binge-worthy, because while dealing with heavy subject matter, there's still a bit of a mystery to figure out.
August 15, 2018
13 Reasons Why is unflinching in its portrayals of rape, bullying, abuse, and suicide, and the nuances of being a teenager in the age of technology.
July 9, 2018
The series impacts by the way it deals with issues such as 'bullying' or rape with an original narrative style. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 7, 2018
The series is so enamored with this idea of Hannah as someone who does things to others that it neglects to tell us who she is herself. That's not only a failure to tell a story to its best and fullest extent; it's a missed opportunity on a broader scale.
February 21, 2018
I wouldn't advise letting my teens watch 13 Reasons Why, but I would use its popularity as an opportunity to remind them of this.
January 16, 2018
... few series so addictive provoke at the time of such a degree of necessary debate; but we can not ignore the fact that the latter arises more by the presentation of the problem than by a truly refined treatment of it. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 19, 2017
13 Reasons Why may certainly open up doors to discuss these heavy, important issues, but its message, and subsequent effect on the most vulnerable members of its target audience, is not a safe one.
November 4, 2017
It is dark and deals with some of the dark realities of high school - the more sinister side of bullying and its fallout, slut shaming, suicide and finally and perhaps most horrifyingly, rape and sexual assault.
September 25, 2017
The social dynamics among these teenagers baffles me. I don't understand all the convoluted interactions surrounding those fateful tapes. And Clay, the main character, is perhaps the most annoying of all.
August 15, 2017
13 Reasons Why, nonetheless, falls far short of its admirable ambitions, often to the point of frustrating them.
May 24, 2017
I was riveted by the series from the very beginning. Yet, I could not watch more than two episodes at once.
May 10, 2017
This is teen drama handling a sensitive subject and wrapping it in heartbreaking mystery. This could be Netflix's best creation yet.
Page 1 of 4