Episode Info

The historic HBO miniseries Band of Brothers, based on the non-fiction book by Stephen E. Ambrose, and executive produced by Tom Hanks and Steven Spielberg, begins with "Currahee," named for the Airborne battle cry. The first episode shows the men of Easy Company, 506th Regiment, 101st Airborne, as they undergo their grueling paratrooper training. The drama begins in England, on the eve of the D-Day invasion, as two lieutenants, Richard Winters (Damian Lewis) and Lewis Nixon (Ron Livingston of Office Space) briefly reminisce about the horrible two years they spent training under Capt. Herbert Sobel (David Schwimmer of Friends), their mean-spirited commanding officer at Camp Toccoa in Georgia. The story then flashes back, showing Sobel ordering his men to run extra miles, repeatedly revoking weekend passes, and generally doing everything he can, it seems, to break their spirit. The troops bond together in their hatred of Sobel and tough it out, becoming the elite company of the regiment. Meanwhile, the straight-laced teetotaler Winters proves to be a resourceful and popular leader. When the troops are shipped to England in preparation for their assault on France, and begin combat exercises in the field, Sobel repeatedly freezes up. He panics and puts his men in harm's way. Things come to a head when, just before the planned invasion of Normandy, Sobel accuses Winters of disobeying a direct order, and the men of Easy Company desperately look for a way to stop Sobel from leading them into battle.


David Schwimmer
as Herbert M. Sobel
Damian Lewis
as Richard Winters
Kirk Acevedo
as Joseph Toye
Donnie Wahlberg
as C. Carwood Lipton
Frank John Hughes
as William J. Guarnere
Ron Livingston
as Lewis Nixon
Nicholas Aaron
as Robert E. `Popeye' Wynn
Doug Allen
as Alton M. More
Eion Bailey
as David Kenyon Webster
Philip Barantini
as Wayne A. `Skinny' Sisk
George Calil
as James H. `Mo' Alley Jr.
Ben Caplan
as Walter S. `Smokey' Gordon Jr.
Michael Cudlitz
as Denver `Bull' Randleman
Marcos D'Cruze
as Joseph P. Domingus
Dale Dye
as Col. Robert F. Sink
Michael Fassbender
as Burton P. `Pat' Christenson
Rick Gomez
as George Luz
Stephen Graham
as Myron `Mike' Ranney
Scott Grimes
as Donald G. Malarkey
Craig Heaney
as Roy W. Cobb
Nolan Hemmings
as Charles E. `Chuck' Grant
Mark Lawrence
as William H. Dukeman Jr.
Matthew Leitch
as Floyd M. `Tab' Talbert
James Madio
as Frank J. Perconte
Peter McCabe
as Donald B. Hoobler
Ross McCall
as Joseph D. Liebgott
Neal McDonough
as Lynn D. `Buck' Compton
Rene L. Moreno
as Joseph Ramirez
Kieran O'Brien
as Allen E. Vest
Jason O'Mara
as Thomas Meehan
Simon Pegg
as William S. Evans
Dave Power
as Rudolph R. Dittrich
Bart Ruspoli
as Edward J. Tipper
Richard Speight Jr
as Warren H. `Skip' Muck
Shane Taylor
as Eugene G. Roe
Rick Warden
as Harry F. Welsh
Marc Warren
as Albert Blithe
Peter Youngblood Hills
as Darrell C. `Shifty' Powers
Show More Cast