Doctor Who: Season 11 Episode 3 Reviews

Caroline Siede
AV Club
Top Critic
October 22, 2018

"Rosa" is a powerful celebration of a woman who couldn't choose the era she lived in, but who-like all of us-could decide what to do with the time she was given.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Devan Coggan
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
October 22, 2018

"Rosa," co-written by Malorie Blackman and Chris Chibnall, is a rare episode that fully explores the horrifying realities of the past and the ethical implications of time travel.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Ross Ruediger
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
October 22, 2018

"Rosa" is a reminder that our science fiction can and should be about the things that matter, and that few other shows have the ability to do what Doctor Who has the power to accomplish.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Debbie Lawrie
Film Inquiry
April 2, 2019

The episode is in-keeping with Doctor Who's new trend for opening up discussions surrounding gender, disability, and now race, with hopefully many more progressive themes in the upcoming installments of Series 11.

David Hogan
hoganreviews.co.uk
January 27, 2019

More good than bad, that's for sure, and while I wouldn't want all of my Doctor Who this blatantly educational, it was fine for a rare example.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ciaran Kerr
Film Bunker
January 15, 2019

As a show, Doctor Who can vary in intent, execution, and subject matter from episode to episode, and for a brief aside into serious territory, 'Rosa' was engaging and interesting.

Matt Brennan
Paste Magazine
January 8, 2019

On the 100th anniversary of the armistice that ended the First World War, as nationalism and its dire consequences are once again in the forefront of our thoughts, it's hard to fathom a more fitting episode.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Emily Asher-Perrin
Tor.com
January 8, 2019

The episode is a reflection on how small actions do change the course of history.

Jef Rouner
Houston Press
December 10, 2018

"Rosa" is an episode about witnessing. The Tradis crew and the audience by proxy are not allowed to look away from this terrible chapter of human history.

Rachel Leishman
The Mary Sue
November 9, 2018

This is going to be remembered as one of the greatest episodes from the show, and after 37 seasons, that's quite the feat. This is a new era of Doctor Who, and we're here for it.

Heather Hogan
Autostraddle
November 9, 2018

Right around the time I realized the Doctor and her companions weren't going to take over Rosa Parks' story, but guard the timeline so she could simply carry on as the hero she always was, I started to cry.

Hannah Sole
Pajiba
October 25, 2018

I really shouldn't have worried; sharing the writing credit with Chibnall for this episode was Malorie Blackman, author of Noughts and Crosses. Rosa's story was in safe hands, my friends.

Lauren Busser
Tell-Tale TV
October 24, 2018

Similar to Blink, Rosa does not rely heavily on special effects. Instead, it's very much about the characters and their reactions to what they encounter.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
James Whitbrook
io9.com
October 23, 2018

Tension is framed through the lens of not just Parks' own struggles, but also through Yaz and Ryan's sudden and harsh confrontation that traveling back in time as a person of color is not as magical as it might first sound

Riley Silverman
Nerdist
October 22, 2018

Where "Rosa" has the most impact... is that it absolutely flat-out refuses to allow its white leads to feel like heroes.

Lacy Baugher
Culturess
October 22, 2018

Doctor Who takes Thirteen and her companions on their first proper trip to the past in "Rosa," an episode that occasionally toes the line between stirring and saccharine, but nevertheless feels like a triumph in the end.

Stephen Bush
New Statesman
October 22, 2018

The result is a series that, for all the presence of a woman in the role, feels closer to the show's original purpose than it has for a long time.

Courtney Enlow
Syfy Wire
October 22, 2018

[Malorie Blackman's] history-making presence is likely the saving grace of the episode.

Christian Bone
We Got This Covered
October 22, 2018

If season 11 was missing anything before now, it was a bit of heft and a strong sense of drama. That was completely fixed in this episode, though, which probably served up one of the most powerful hours Doctor Who has ever given us.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Diana Keng
TV Fanatic
October 22, 2018

I appreciate that they've all bought in on this adventure and really love that Graham will ask the questions that I'm asking as I watch.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.7/5