Dollhouse: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 19, 2019
Who knew that Joss Whedon's darkest, sickest show would turn out to be his most optimistic and life-affirming?
September 19, 2019
While we can look back on Dollhouse and think of what might have been, had Fox given the show more time to grow, at least we got solid (albeit rushed) ending, which is more than can be said for a lot of great shows out there.
September 19, 2019
Dollhouse definitely feels stronger now than it did for much of Season One, with a more layered storyline... Dollhouse is still not 100 percent there yet, as far as truly being appointment TV, but the positives are beginning to take root.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 19, 2019
Dollhouse had some amazing potential, the majority of which was never realised.
September 19, 2019
There's something to be said for the heady rush of getting a lot of business done fast; in fact, the task of wrapping up the show in a season has given Dollhouse an urgency that it sorely needed from the beginning.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 19, 2019
The cast is very talented and Whedon is still one of the best TV creators of the last twenty years. But the show needs to settle on a tone. Stop trying to have it both ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 19, 2019
There was the promise of something wonderful, and occasionally, audiences got to see that promise paid off.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 19, 2019
It is to the tremendous credit of Dollhouse and Joss Whedon that it got me to care, greatly, about these challenging, and fascinatingly mutable, characters. Partly that owes to the show's storytelling brio and writing.
September 19, 2019
Shows great promise, and if we could continue to have that sort of content... Dollhouse will definitely make good on all the potential it holds.
September 19, 2019
Well-acted, thought-provoking and frequently devastating in its twists and turns, Dollhouse is a peculiar oddity, an extremely brave piece of fiction that fearlessly tackles uncomfortable concepts and themes and asks challenging questions.
September 19, 2019
Gutted of its initial creative spark, Dollhouse slowly began to feel more and more derivative of Whedon's past works, a fact which exposed his strengths and weaknesses as a storyteller.
September 19, 2019
Wrapped things up in a way I found more effective, even moving, than I expected.
September 19, 2019
Suddenly, though not entirely unexpectedly, Dollhouse has become the best show on TV.
September 19, 2019
And so another richly realized Joss Whedon universe comes to its end, not with a bang but with a whimper. I count myself among the mourners.
September 19, 2019
Dollhouse is back and, for the record, it remains a feisty, smart, dynamic, strange, thoughtful, provocative and, yes, deeply disturbing drama in its second season.
September 19, 2019
The examination of how people get brought into the Dollhouse was immeasurably more powerful a subject than another of Echo's adventures.
September 19, 2019
You should check in, however, to keep up with the cool, unfolding overarching Dollhouse story.
September 19, 2019
We might still be in for a mixed bag for a while... but with a couple more "treatments," Whedon's Dollhouse could truly become the show that fans are begging for.
September 19, 2019
When no one was looking, Dollhouse quickly corrected all the wrongs of its first season and became one of the best shows on television. Too bad that, by this point, no one was watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 27, 2019
Dollhouse is a show with built-in moral questions, a lot of which surround sex and identity and agency, but it seems like it's backing away from a lot of those.
Page 1 of 2