Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 6 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 6 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 11, 2019

It's not just that grimness and fear that propels the show, it's an uncommon depth of writing and strength of character that makes it so remarkable an achievement.

Tom Chivers
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 20, 2019

After a slightly slow episode five... series two took off explosively again in episode six.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 20, 2019

Much as we saw in the first season, mercy is a complicated thing in Game of Thrones. It's not always the best move, but it's also not always the wrong one.

Matt Joseph
We Got This Covered
March 20, 2019

So, lots of plot development this week and it's all really meaty. I love the direction that the show is going in and we're really starting to feel the race for the Iron Throne take off.

Laremy Legel
ComingSoon.net
March 20, 2019

All in all, a very satisfying episode. A new character, plus plenty of solid action and pacing make for an enjoyable watch.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Rowan Kaiser
indieWire
Top Critic
March 20, 2019

The show gets better as its characters start to reach the point of no return. Theon Greyjoy has passed that point, and the other characters are approaching it.

Morgan Jeffery
Digital Spy
March 20, 2019

In 'The Old Gods and the New', there's plenty of action and relationships are starting to flourish. After so much set-up, pay-off is finally coming thick and fast.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 20, 2019

The Old Gods and the New wound up feeling less choppy than some of this season's previous hours.

SFX Staff
SFX Magazine
March 20, 2019

King's Landing was the location of this week's most satisfying moment as Joffrey finally gets what he deserves.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
March 20, 2019

Game of Thrones, even in the quietest episode, is still full of killing, but this week's episode featured more killing, and more graphic killing, than any episode of the entire series thus far.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 11, 2018

Hooray for war! Sweet, off-camera war!

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

The chaos and animal savagery that has always lurked just below Westeros's scrim of courtliness and gentility has finally broken through the surface and is bleeding out everywhere.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 24, 2016

As surprising as it sounds, Theon is actually somewhat more likeable on the show than he is in the books... Alfie Allen portrays Theon as almost having a conscience, which makes him slightly more sympathetic than Theon on paper.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

This week -- after a trip across the map that contains no new territory -- we plunge into media res so fast my head is spinning... Welcome back, Theon!

Tobias J. McGuffin
TV Equals
March 23, 2016

This one may have strayed the furthest afield of any Game of Thrones episode yet. But oh, as far as compelling television goes, it was meaty.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

The moment where characters start to lose control is an exciting point in every story. And on tonight's Game of Thrones, some of our favorites battled to hold onto power in the face of naked rebellion.

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
March 22, 2016

Theon's betrayal is the most gripping storyline in "The Old Gods and the New." But for a more fully realized backstabber, Baelish appears to yet another encampment.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

There will be those who disagree but I still feel sorry for Theon. One of the most interesting things about Game of Thrones is that it isn't simply a story of upright good guys and black-hearted villains.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

I don't know what it costs HBO to shoot those north scenes in Iceland, but it is worth every penny. Wow, are those sequences gorgeous.

David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

This show has been as compelling as ever right out of the gate and has never flagged. With this many plot elements spinning around, there's just always much more to look forward to every week.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 2