Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 6 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 6 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 12, 2019

[It] was perhaps not the show's most exciting hour, yet it was one of the more emotionally affecting and powerful ones.

Katie Walsh
indieWire
Top Critic
March 19, 2019

This episode is heavy on the interpersonal exchanges, scheming and plotting that "Game of Thrones" does so well, this time tinged with even more of an air of desperation and terror, not to mention a heavy dose of psychotic sadism.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 19, 2019

After starting off as little more than a source of boobs and a character wholly created for the show, Ros became a much more powerful player and important part of the whispers. It's a shame she didn't get that respect she deserved.

Jessica Salter
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 19, 2019

From the good versus evil magic to Theon and Edmure paying heavy debts for past crimes to the final scene (clouds parting, sun shining, Littlefinger's heavy-handed sermon), it all just felt a bit plodding.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
March 19, 2019

Last night's "The Climb" gave us both the most humanistic and the most horrific of what the Game of Thrones world has to offer.

Paulo Javier Lazo
We Got This Covered
March 19, 2019

I've probably been too hard on this episode, but it's mostly because I compare it unfavorably to previous episodes in the season.

Erik Kain
Forbes
March 19, 2019

In "The Climb" we have both Littlefinger's ambition and the sheer, icy face of The Wall to contend with. Both are terrifying.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
March 19, 2019

Theon's tormentor obviously has a fairly loose grip on sanity, but his idea of fun and games included one of the most wince-inducing pieces of creative violence we've seen thus far in Game Of Thrones .

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Meredith Borders
Birth.Movies.Death.
March 19, 2019

If anyone had any doubt, Littlefinger and Joffrey are utter monsters.

Allison Keene
Collider
March 19, 2019

More setup and machinations this week on Game of Thrones, with a few really great little scenes slipped in between the big reveals that should start paying dividends immediately.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Rebecca Pahle
The Mary Sue
March 19, 2019

Overall I thought this episode, while good, wasn't quite so great as the two that came before it. But there were some highlights. And one really, really glaring lowlight.

Alison Herman
Flavorwire
March 19, 2019

It may have been relatively tamer, but the episode-ending kiss had substance to it, giving Jon Snow the love scene millions of Kit Harrington fangirls deserve.

David Crow
Den of Geek
January 18, 2019

I am about ready to say that Game of Thrones has reached its prime.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 12, 2018

Certainly the effects, tension and story development carry the hour, with some big moments for Jon Snow and the Lannisters, thought "The Climb" suffers greatly from Game of Thrones' tendency to drift across narratives.

Emily VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 28, 2016

Color me pleasantly surprised that I ended up quite enjoying "The Climb." It does nothing more than get a bunch of pieces in place for the season's final plunge but it also did a lot of necessary character work.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Chris O'Hara
TV Fanatic
March 28, 2016

Regrettably no Dany or her dragons this week, but all in all a very strong episode that dealt with a great many story lines and did well to try to tie them together.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Adam Newland
TV Equals
March 28, 2016

Despite the amount of time Game of Thrones spends with characters on the fringe... tonight's episode hammered home the series' most crucial point: All people are merely pawns for those in power to play with as they like.

Spencer Kornhaber
The Atlantic
Top Critic
March 28, 2016

Last night's installment offered a rare chance for viewers to catch their breath. Having summited the treacherous surface of the season's first half, we can now make like Jon and Ygritte and look back at where we came from.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 28, 2016

In the end, the episode integrates the characters at varying stages of the same figurative climb quite well.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 28, 2016

Streamline this episode, cut away on storylines, try to wrap everything up in a neat thematic bow, and you'd lose that accumulation of detail, that range of emotion, that sense that each new scene can present you with an entirely new look at the world.

Page 1 of 2