Gotham: Season 1 Episode 16 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gotham: Season 1 Episode 16 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Alyse Wax
Superhero Hype
August 22, 2018

I am not happy with getting a definitive backstory on Joker, and I hate the fact that it seems like the producers are boiling all the Joker's problems down to mommy issues. That is such a lazy backstory.

Rob Bricken
io9.com
July 19, 2018

It's compelling like a car wreck is compelling, and even as I marveled at how terrible the episode was, I literally had a smile on my face as I sat and watched the insanity unfold.

Mike Cecchini
Den of Geek
July 18, 2018

The problem is that, as usual, Gotham has too much to do, and it's the usual dreck-y subplots that bring things down and take the focus off the case at hand.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
July 17, 2018

That was Cameron Monaghan putting on a minute's worth of (an admittedly effective) Joker impression... This three-scene role was literally, and figuratively a "Shameless" ploy, and Gotham is now actively insulting your intelligence with its nonsense.

Joseph McCabe
Nerdist
July 17, 2018

If this is Gotham's Joker, I can't imagine tiring of that laugh anytime soon.

Michael Calia
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
July 17, 2018

The moment Jerome, with a psychotic grin and an unhinged cackle, reveals his guilt during an interrogation is chilling, and you can see why it looks like Jerome will eventually become the greatest of Batman's nemeses.

Simon Abrams
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
July 16, 2018

Tonight's Gotham is all about the ladies, which is surprising considering how poorly this show's ladies are written.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dave Golder
Total Film
April 14, 2015

There are two moments in this episode that send shivers down your spine. Two moments that shock and throw you off-guard. Two moments that make sure this will always rate as one of the best episodes of Gotham's first season.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Matt Webb Mitovich
TV Line
February 24, 2015

The titular storyline... was interesting to me on a personal level, since the Red Hood/Joker origin story is one I most vividly remember reading in the comics as a young'un. Here, they stayed true to the bank robber aspect.

Vinnie Mancuso
Observer
Top Critic
February 24, 2015

If you're going to deviate, Gotham, can you at least, I don't know, put some effort into it?

Anthony Ocasio
ScreenRant
February 18, 2015

Monaghan is able to provide an earnest, sometimes terrifying twist to character traits and tv tropes which have being recycled infinitely. So when it comes to the Joker, it's no surprise that Monaghan can shine when the time comes.

Sean McKenna
TV Fanatic
February 17, 2015

I really fear that Gotham will continue to echo the campy and over-the-top [Joel] Schumacher films but, with a performance like [Cameron] Monaghan's, I like to think there's still that glimmer of hope for the series. And that's no joke.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.4/5
Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
February 17, 2015

Ultimately, I think Gotham is an unwieldy structure built on a shaky foundation.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
February 17, 2015

This week, the Gotham creative team is bringing in a potential future Joker, and I absolutely had to see how they'd screw that up. In regards to that prediction, the show didn't disappoint.

MaryAnn Sleasman
TV.com
February 17, 2015

I don't think we've yet had an episode of Gotham that highlighted the show's ensemble as well as "The Blind Fortune Teller" did. Plus, the hour earned bonus points for introducing us to this universe's version of Haly's Circus and the Flying Graysons.

Mark Trammell
TV Equals
February 17, 2015

This was Gotham at its best, tweaking the conventions of the genre, while also adhering to others in clever ways. The handling of the Joker so far is great, and I look forward to how they continue the story in the future.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
February 17, 2015

Look, this show isn't strong enough for me to hold any acute objections to it tackling The Joker.

Full Review | Original Score: 7.3/10
Aaron Neuwirth
The Young Folks
February 17, 2015

This episode may feature a circus, but actually feeling like one, in terms of content, was not the best approach, as it stepped on its own toes constantly, in an effort to make each storyline resonate.

Darren Orf
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
February 17, 2015

This week Gotham seems comfortable filling up its runtime with little moments that serve little purpose.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
February 17, 2015

Is it any wonder that the most Batman-esque episode of Gotham so far is also its best?

Page 1 of 2