Heroes Reborn: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 18, 2018
It's still early - the characters are still developing, secrets are still being dug up, and powers are still getting.. actually... forget this.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
June 15, 2018
The addition of topical vernacular like "truther" to a tired superhero narrative, does not a "rebirth" make.
December 12, 2017
I wish that Jack Coleman and his character had been better served by the material. I wish that he'd gotten more time, or at least more scenes that packed a punch. I wish he'd at least gotten to wear his glasses in the end.
June 14, 2017
it was hard to maintain interest in this juvenilia that should never have graduated from comic book concept to the small screen.
November 18, 2015
It's an example of how not to engineer a reboot, replicating many of its original's flaws and few of its charms.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 28, 2015
We like it anyway, but all viewers may not.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2015
I liked the episode. The writers could have mainstreamed things a bit. I have some concerns about sheer volume of characters introduced in just the first two hours of the show, but I'm entertained enough to stick it out for now.
September 28, 2015
"Brand New World" tries to make sense of things but falls apart doing such.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
September 25, 2015
Heroes Reborn appears to have left behind many of the most central, important rules of storytelling. That's fine if you have a larger artistic purpose, but it seems safe to say Heroes Reborn has the exact opposite of that.
September 25, 2015
The series allows fans of Heroes another chance to venture into the world of Evos -- one that is enjoyable for the most part, even after only two episodes -- but doesn't offer much to capture the hearts of new viewers.
September 25, 2015
Absence makes the heart grow fonder, and while "Brave New World" and "Odessa" show hints of several of the same issues that plagued Heroes, it's hard not to get swept up in the energy and potential of Heroes Reborn.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 25, 2015
I went in with low expectations because of the final few seasons of Heroes, but I'm happy to report that the show found its footing pretty much instantly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 24, 2015
Within the first two episodes of Heroes Reborn - which air back-to-back for its Thursday-night premiere - it becomes clear that this is still very much the same show that played four seasons and outstayed its welcome by three.
September 24, 2015
Often confusing, requires some Heroes expertise, but some striking special effects.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 24, 2015
I'd recommend jumping on-board. We have more options in 2015. It's just as easy to jump back off.
September 24, 2015
Heroes Reborn reintroduces a world clogged with new characters and conspiracies to unravel, but it's so hell-bent on being convoluted that those mysteries quickly lose their appeal.
September 24, 2015
If you didn't watch Heroes, there's no point in trying this series. If you loved Heroes, this is a stinging disappointment. It is sad that NBC is repeating itself, and doing it so badly.
September 24, 2015
The three episodes that were provided for review keep the various plotlines moving efficiently. One gets the feeling that the lines will eventually converge, which is not always the case in these large-ensemble dramas.
September 24, 2015
Ambitious is one thing, a big hot mess is quite another.
September 24, 2015
On balance, Heroes Reborn shows great promise. The challenge will be how the writers and producers pull all the disparate threads into a cohesive storyline. But, for now, color us hooked.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Page 1 of 3