Outlander: Season 4 Episode 12 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Outlander: Season 4 Episode 12 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Leona Laurie
Geek Girl Authority
January 22, 2019

Am I the only one who thinks Roger hasn't actually learned anything and is a shockingly selfish person?

Kimberly Roots
TV Line
January 22, 2019

Aw, Lord John! What Bree says earlier in the episode is true: You are impossible not to like.

Kayti Burt
Den of Geek
January 22, 2019

While the episode gives us tons of insight into Father Alexandre's perspective, we are, again, mostly kept from a nuanced perspective of the non-white character.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Andrea Reiher
Variety
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

Putting them all in a scene together provided a lot of dramatic fodder.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
January 22, 2019

Can you believe that scene?

Full Review | Original Score: 3.75/5
Carly Lane
Syfy Wire
January 22, 2019

If this season doesn't convince Starz to order that spin-off show based on the Lord John books, I don't know what will.

Keri Lumm
Paste Magazine
January 22, 2019

It's weird, because they're all watching him get tortured with zero horror, but when he's quickly killed, they act shocked. It was a very odd sequence.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.0
Alicia Gilstorf
Tell-Tale TV
January 22, 2019

All three of the storylines in "Providence" are executed perfectly and set out to do exactly what they are meant to.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Genevieve Valentine
New York Times
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

It's so busy that we get only one glimpse of Jamie, Claire and Ian. There just isn't time for more, given everything else.

Maggie Fremont
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

IT IS ALL SO AWFUL. Did I mention the whole thing is set to "Adagio for Strings?" But ... why?

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Maureen Lee Lenker
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

Rankin has always turned heads (and captured hearts) as Roger, but this is his finest piece of acting yet.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Rachel Montpelier
Culturess
January 22, 2019

The show isn't really reckoning with how creepy Roger's behavior is.

Kayla Kumari Upadhyaya
AV Club
Top Critic
January 22, 2019

There hasn't been nearly enough Fergus this season, but this episode allows for some fun character development for both Fergus and Marsali and their relationship.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 1