Stranger Things: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 14, 2020
The Duffers' meticulous world-building pays off again and again... None of that would work without good characters, and Stranger Things has those in abundance.
January 2, 2020
Trust us, from the moment you press play on this one, you will be hooked in, and you may need to cancel all plans for the immediate future.
September 20, 2019
SHENANIGANS ARE GOING DOWN!
August 5, 2019
While deeply enjoyable, nearly the entire cast of Stranger Things is white. This kind of retro tokenism is not something we should be nostalgic about.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 8, 2019
Outstanding. All killer; no filler episodes!
Full Review | Original Score: A+
April 11, 2019
I was completely absorbed.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
November 16, 2018
They will melt your hearts, especially Millie Bobby Brown as Eleven.
October 19, 2018
Despite being an old way of telling kids stories, it's been so long out of fashion that seeing it again doesn't just tickle our collective nostalgia, it's actually just straight up refreshing.
October 10, 2018
The Duffers clearly understand what makes these properties beloved, delivering a rich original story that takes place in Anytown, USA.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 28, 2018
In all manners of ways then, Stranger Things represents the quintessential film-making design that is known as remix culture.
August 22, 2018
Indeed, by the fifth episode, you can pretty much see how it's all going to end. With this work, the pleasures of mystery solving are nothing compared to the pleasures of bathing in the ambience of 1980s cinema.
August 21, 2018
It's scary when it means to be scary. It's endearing when it's meant to be endearing. And overall, it's a delight to watch.
July 11, 2018
Stranger Things is a love letter for the 80s. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 27, 2018
Winona Ryder delivers one of her best performances to date and the child actors who played the roles of Lucas, Dustin, and Mike were spectacular.
June 23, 2018
We all fell for it, and fast - with even the death of a minor character provoking mass internet rage. #Justice4Barb
June 23, 2018
Created by Matt and Ross Duffer... Stranger Things embraces the 1980s in all the right ways, from the score to the eye-popping costumes to the genuinely frightening scares.
May 22, 2018
With a stellar cast of child actors and several different characters whose hidden secrets we desperately want to see explored, Stranger Things hits every note necessary to motivate a weekend-long Netflix binge.
February 22, 2018
I believe all the hype. Everything that every person said...yes, this show is AWESOME.
January 23, 2018
Stranger Things is exactly what it intended to be, maybe more. It's a legitimate, validated story with quality film-making.
January 17, 2018
Stranger Things succeeds because it's not just getting by on pop-culture references, it's also working to subvert them in smart ways.
Page 1 of 5