The Wire: Season 1 Reviews

October 22, 2019
The Wire's first season is methodical and deliberate to an almost perverse degree. Like the Avon Barksdale investigation, it's built piece-by-piece.
October 21, 2019
The Wire is well written and powerfully performed, but it is also infused with a contagious hopelessness.
October 21, 2019
This smart, profound series becomes increasingly engrossing -- it's Homicide and NYPD Blue taken to a darker, more complicated level.
October 21, 2019
The series is beautifully detailed, rich in humour, and filled with full, rounded characters.
October 19, 2019
If I were from there, I'd really be offended. As it is, I'm not from Baltimore, so I'm put off only by [creator David Simon's] new show, which demonstrates, if nothing else, that even the vaunted HBO can cough up a dud once in a while.
October 18, 2019
This police show rather boldly seeks drama in dullness. That's not to suggest that the show is boring but this is a series that's all about the fine print, finding its most emotional moments in depicting the battles of bureaucrats.
November 5, 2018
A drama with a depth and complexity which few novels, never mind TV series, have achieved.
June 13, 2018
The Wire is far more than the inner-city crime-and-punishment drama HBO initially sold it as.
February 7, 2018
With each passing week, "The Wire" blossomed, quietly becoming one of the smartest, most engrossing series on television.
February 1, 2018
Brutal and absorbing anthropology.
January 31, 2018
Despite solid acting and several interesting twists and turns, viewers may be understandably reluctant to return each week to the scene of these ugly crimes.
June 6, 2014
The story's details make for startling drama, but the framework surrounds a rich cast of characters who give The Wire its heart and mind.
May 15, 2014
The Wire may just leave you with a slightly better understanding of people we spend most of our lives ignoring or avoiding. And that's reason enough to follow where [David] Simon leads.
May 15, 2014
Cheers to these cable cops for exercising their right to make some noise.
May 15, 2014
The Wire' doesn't have the pulsating, addictive urgency (or the obvious good guys and bad guys) of '24.
May 15, 2014
Joining Six Feet Under, Sex and the City, Curb Your Enthusiasm and The Sopranos on this pedestal is The Wire, a scorching look at the drug trade in a Baltimore housing project through the eyes of mid-level dealers and police.
May 15, 2014
There's much that resonates here more powerfully than in your tidy beat-down and lock-'em-up broadcast story line.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 15, 2014
The Wire's fifth episode is, well, funkin' amazing.
Full Review | Original Score: A+