The Midnight Gospel: Season 1 Reviews

December 30, 2020
Filled with insight and otherworldly imagery, it's as close a TV show can get to emulating a good psychedelic trip.
December 10, 2020
I'm very captivated by this concept... I do want to sit down and watch more, but [this show] is for a very specific person.
December 10, 2020
The more it went on, the less I was about the animation. Matter of fact, sometimes it made my stomach hurt... [But] when I was just listening to it, I was really into it. I want to keep listening to it, I just don't necessarily want to keep watching it.
December 10, 2020
For all its bright colours, base vulgarity and hyperactive spectacle, The Midnight Gospel is at once an honest, personal work, with real experiences becoming the show's narrative focus.
December 10, 2020
It's not something you should just put on for fun... When you do feel like you can handle it, though, it's a show that is likely going to take you exactly to the place you didn't necessarily want to be, but need to be, because it'll help you grow.
December 10, 2020
You can only dive so far into the depths of your mind during a 20-minute cartoon, but it's definitely worth the trip.
December 10, 2020
Most audiences are going to demand more structure than The Midnight Gospel has to offer. There is seldom a commitment to the animated storyline, and often the interviews just seem to trail off rather than reaching a satisfying conclusion.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 5, 2020
This colored psychedelic from comedian Duncan Trussell and Adventure Time creator Pendleton Ward might look like a kids' cartoon, but it's actually a kind of intellectual head-trip... The whole effect is quite entrancing.
June 10, 2020
A profound and reflective show disguised as authentic comedy. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 1, 2020
Chaotic adult animation has nudity, violence, profanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 23, 2020
Whether you're a fan of podcasts or adult animation, The Midnight Gospel offers a mind-bending experience to viewers that has not really been seen before.
May 13, 2020
The Midnight Gospel is a wonderfully creative animated podcast which feels all too timely with its insight.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 11, 2020
The topics discussed are wide-ranging and deep -- death, life, spirituality, love -- each approached with eccentricity, enthusiasm, and deep compassion.
May 7, 2020
At a moment when even the best cartoons are trending hyperkinetic, Ward and Trussell deserve credit for going in a meditative opposite direction. The result is a new kind of masterpiece: easy to like, easier to worshi
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 6, 2020
I don't want to sound like Emperor Joseph complaining that Mozart's music has "too many notes," but on the other hand, I don't recommend bingeing all eight episodes at once, like I did. This is a show to be absorbed slowly.
May 1, 2020
There's something beautiful about how The Midnight Gospel finds purpose even within eight different apocalypses, each more extreme than the last, and nowhere is this more true than in the show's very last scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 1, 2020
The Midnight Gospel trips hard, and sometimes you will be wondering what the hell you are watching. But if you stick with it, you are rewarded with a resonating and fulfilling experience, as good as any you could hope to get from a TV show.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
April 29, 2020
If you like the kind of topics podcasts cover, you'll like this. If you like cartoons, you'll like this. The creators are taking the gamble that you really like both.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
April 23, 2020
We often say that a show is 'like nothing else on television' and it's usually an act of critical hyperbole. Trust me. It's true here.
April 22, 2020
The interviews are interspersed with just enough dialogue to intertwine them with the action, and the result is bizarrely immersive, with the animation serving to prop up the conversation just as often as it provides a non-sequitur palate cleanser.