The Vampire Diaries: Season 8 Reviews

April 2, 2020
This season really put the idea of redemption into focus, and it served the narrative to perfection.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 2, 2020
Episodes which have featured the return of deceased characters have been pretty dull, but there was just something about this particular episode that got everything so right.
January 18, 2019
The Vampire Diaries premiered for the eighth and final time. Written by the show's creators, Julie Plec and Kevin Williamson, the episode delivered nostalgia, horror, romance, friendship, brotherly love, and new mysteries.
November 16, 2017
With series finales, TV shows are asked to do something they have never done before: properly end the story. The results are often, -forgive the pun - middling. The Vampire Diaries managed to beat the odds by following a few simple rules.
November 16, 2017
Either way, it's the happy ending they've always wanted. Excuse us, we'll be over in the corner, sobbing.
November 16, 2017
Julie Plec promised an "emotional experience" in "The Vampire Diaries" series finale, and that's exactly what we got.
November 16, 2017
This wasn't a finale that took huge risks; rather, it was one that tried to sincerely give something back to its fans. Thanks, TVD. It's been epic.
November 16, 2017
The way people talk about Buffy today is how they're going to talk about TVD in years to come. It's not over. It's eternal.
November 16, 2017
The Vampire Diaries is and always was far better than it needed to be.
November 16, 2017
For all the fanfare surrounding the return of Nina Dobrev for this finale, it always had to be them seeing the show off.
November 16, 2017
No I didn't cry as I wrote that. (Yes I did.)
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 8, 2017
Through ups and downs, deaths and undeaths, The Vampire Diaries kept it wild, interesting and mostly fun.
January 23, 2017
All told, it should make for an interesting run of final episodes.
October 24, 2016
Knowing how fast The Vampire Diaries blows through plot this might not be the final evil, but at least it's being set up to be a good one. It's just what they need.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 24, 2016
The Season 8 premiere was a pretty wonderful episode, particularly if you enjoy when TVD goes full horror.
October 24, 2016
[It] reminded me of the first season with it's scares, drama and mystery surrounding our new villain leaving us with a ton of questions like what does the siren want?
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10