The Other Side of the Wind Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 7, 2019
Sure to be wildly overpraised and cursorily dismissed, The Other Side of the Wind is often awful and frequently great, occasionally at the same time. The main thing is that it gives Welles the last word.
November 30, 2018
Overall, Wind magnificently displays Welles' filmmaking brilliance while baring the aging auteur's frailties and frustrations.
November 9, 2018
Welles and his collaborators have made an almost weightless film of ellipses and shards; as the camera ricochets at surprising angles and scenes slide into one another, the project recalls the energy and dynamism of Jean-Luc Godard.
November 2, 2018
Having seen it, my overwhelming feeling is not exaltation but sadness. I look at this maddening pastiche and think of all the great movies he might have made.
November 2, 2018
It's not a rose-dud.
November 1, 2018
A cracked, corrosive, savagely compromised vision it unmistakably is. A mock documentary avant la lettre, Other Side of the Wind has a jagged syntax that would have felt startling in the '70s and, decades later, has lost little of its restless vitality.
August 7, 2019
What we're seeing isn't so much an Orson Welles film about the unknowability of the artist as it is that very unknowability made manifest. We were never going to see what Welles had originally intended; perhaps this best-case-scenario is rightfully obtuse
June 26, 2019
A fascinating artifact. Nothing more.
June 3, 2019
A daring, reckless, uncompromising film that has risen like a phoenix from the ashes to take its place in the pantheon of great things.
April 13, 2019
Whether or not the film is beautifully atrocious or just atrocious is going to be divisive, but ultimately, The Other Side of the Wind portrays a director contemplating his legacy, and in Welles's case, it cements it.
March 4, 2019
'The Other Side of the Wind' is an overdose of content and subtext, but it is the price that had to be paid to resuscitate a project that was dead and buried for a number of reasons and that we should receive with open arms. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 13, 2019
A salvaged, chaotic cinematic curiosity - for avid film buffs.
February 8, 2019
Such a noisy style leaves a garbled message, but the feeling that finally resonates is tragedy.
December 18, 2018
Where Hannaford crashes and burns, Welles succeeds with brilliance, adding to the sense of tragedy surrounding the film. It should have come out in its time.
December 11, 2018
Welles' chaotic final film has lots of drinking, some sex.
November 30, 2018
That this hapless, incoherent mess brings down the curtain on a fabled filmmaker's career when it was expected to cap it is lamentable, but not entirely unpredictable.
November 26, 2018
More loved [now] than when he was alive, in death Orson Welles is no longer alone. [Full review in Spanish]
November 23, 2018
An astonishment even wilder and more rewardingly confounding than its fabled reputation. I watched this movie twice the day it premiered and haven't shut up about it since.
November 21, 2018
It's a remarkable film, one that requires multiple viewings to be fully appreciated and understood for its satire.
November 16, 2018
A historical oddity and a legend that has been preserved so that people can finally see it. I do not recommend it as an entry into the famous director's work by any means, but for completists, it's required watching.
Page 1 of 5