Big Little Lies: Season 1 Episode 5 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Big Little Lies: Season 1 Episode 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Gill Crawford
Radio Times
May 31, 2019

If there's a better edited television show out there right now, I'd be very surprised.

Lacy Baugher
The Tracking Board
June 25, 2018

Madeline, Celeste and Jane are all in various stages of emotional crisis -- it does give us the most compelling episode of the season to date.

Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
June 19, 2018

We were pretty wrecked by the end of this one.

Angelica Jade Bastién
Refinery29
August 30, 2017

Once Bitten is an episode analogous to a knife thrust into your back by a good friend.

Gwen Ihnat
AV Club
Top Critic
April 5, 2017

This week we get more intimate with each of our main marriages in turn, and the results are astonishing even as they are volatile, emotional, and raw.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Nicole Sperling
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
April 5, 2017

I thank HBO, writer David E. Kelley, director Jean-Marc Vallée, and this cast for filling these characters with such humanity.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Jean Bentley
IGN Movies
April 5, 2017

Perhaps not the most elegant installment, but an enlightening glimpse into the lives of two women dealing with abuse nonetheless.

Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Nate Waggoner
Observer
Top Critic
April 5, 2017

One thing this show taps into that I think is super-interesting is the idea that intelligent people can often end up in abusive situations- if you have the kind of mind that Celeste has, you can use it to justify anything.

Alex Abad-Santos
Vox
April 5, 2017

And "Once Bitten" is straight up fantastic, reining in some of the show's most self-indulgent tendencies to further a story just as tense and compelling as that of any critically acclaimed drama anchored by a "brooding" (and, yes, melodramatic) man.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
April 5, 2017

The pendulum is swinging for the characters at just the right time.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Hillary Kelly
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
April 5, 2017

The episode belongs to Celeste. It's hard to overstate just how magically Nicole Kidman owns this role.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 1