Hostages: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 26, 2018
Hostages is one of those pilots that doesn't build the momentum necessary to make one want to return to the show, despite the central conflict and great cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 15, 2014
We can enjoy the exhilarating ride you'd expect from exec producer Jerry "Blow 'em up" Bruckheimer. Say what you will about Con Air and Armageddon, but this guy knows how to hold an audience's attention.
January 13, 2014
There will be no episode two account of Hostages from this reviewer. They took an hour of my life and I refuse to enter into a dialogue with my captors.
January 8, 2014
The 14 and 15th final episodes of Hostages aired Monday night, bringing the story of Dr. Sanders and her family's kidnapping to a gripping close, and those who did choose to tune in were rewarded with a great final hour.
October 10, 2013
Real talk: Dylan McDermott can hold us hostage anytime.
October 8, 2013
Suspense-filled from the get-go, Hostages revolves around a family full of secrets.
October 8, 2013
The plot of CBS's new thriller Hostages could easily be mistaken for the first act of a box office flop or the opening chapters of an airport paperback.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 26, 2013
Hostages delivered a gripping pilot that didn't let go until after the credits rolled.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 25, 2013
There are, of course, subplots - Sanders' husband (Tate Donovan) and teenaged kids are each shielding their own secrets, uncovered by Carlisle and his crew - and covered up by them as well. Unfortunately, they're fairly pedestrian.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 24, 2013
This is a show that feels a lot more like Fox's 24 or Showtime's Homeland than your average CBS crime drama.
September 24, 2013
If the writing can bring invention to the thriller parts and smarts to the domestic parts, and invention, Hostages could have an indefinite hold on our imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 24, 2013
Unless this show is intended as a one-and-done season-long miniseries, I can't imagine how it could possibly hold our attention.
September 24, 2013
Nothing stands out. It's a level playing field of minimum competence.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 24, 2013
The saddest thing about Hostages is that Toni Collette is so quietly strong in it, a character I would be excited about in nearly any other circumstances.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 24, 2013
With all the promising plot permutations, the show reminds me (in the best possible way) of The Good Wife, which deftly balances the case of the week, with Peter's political career, Alicia's love triangle and the law firm power struggle.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.4/10
September 24, 2013
Morally murky drama is compelling, tense; some violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 23, 2013
There's room for a slick thriller in everyone's TV diet. Too bad a lot of Hostages seems stuck in the mud.
September 23, 2013
Lean and mean, Hostages is an exquisitely heart-pounding piece of work.
September 23, 2013
By pilot's end, the tension level is more Parenthood than Homeland.
September 23, 2013
The movie-like concept behind Hostages is intriguing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3